Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:15:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 700Ghash increase right after difficulty change  (Read 1941 times)
thelasttrueone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


dorm room mining


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:23:13 PM
 #1

Anyone else notice that the network strength went up by 700Ghash as soon as the difficulty increased? Seems like someone wanted to make sure the network stayed weak enough for their crazy hashing power to still pull in bitcoins.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Gryph
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49

Village Idiot


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:27:31 PM
 #2

Yeah, i saw that too. I wonder if its a glitch.

I sold all my coins at $50.
Do not take any advice from me.
thelasttrueone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


dorm room mining


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:28:50 PM
 #3

Based on the speed that the first block was generated it was not. Looks like we may have a botnet/supercomputer on our hands.
davout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


1davout


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2011, 09:29:56 PM
 #4

Wouldn't really make any sense it if was true.

If the global hashrate is computed against an average of *past* block intervals and *current* difficulty it can't be accurate right after a difficulty bump.

Dayofswords
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:30:52 PM
 #5

how would I have noticed exactly?

Did I miss some realtime thing out there?

142u3uafy7bvxJXArDF9mo9e6LEFSef5Hr
davout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


1davout


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2011, 09:31:42 PM
 #6

Based on the speed that the first block was generated it was not. Looks like we may have a botnet/supercomputer on our hands.
One block isn't statistically significant, plus I wouldn't see where the interest would be.

thelasttrueone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


dorm room mining


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:32:19 PM
 #7

Well that's a relief. Some sites do display real time network strength but I guess they aren't exact?
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:37:02 PM
 #8

I bet the site calculates TH/s available based on how quickly the blocks are discovered vs the difficulty level.  I think the pools/miners just got lucky and found a few blocks in a much shorter period of time than was expected for the new difficulty level, and since that's the only statistics available for the website to calculate TH/s on, it calculated them quite high.

Wait an hour or four, then you should get more accurate numbers of current network strength.
gusta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:41:43 PM
 #9


Wait an hour or four, then you should get more accurate numbers of current network strength.

I hope you're right Smiley
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:53:26 PM
 #10

This happens after every difficulty increase because the sites estimate based on a sliding window of blocks and utilize the current difficulty even though the most of the blocks in the window were at a lower difficulty.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 11:17:14 PM
 #11

This happens after every difficulty increase because the sites estimate based on a sliding window of blocks and utilize the current difficulty even though the most of the blocks in the window were at a lower difficulty.

I'm not so sure this is our average increase...

The first 20 blocks now (we are at ~1994 left til the next increase as I write this...) have been solved in the past 80 minutes... that's an average of 4 minutes per block, over 20 blocks, even at the current (and highest ever) difficulty of 157426...

Something is most definitely up imho.
dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 11:21:10 PM
 #12

this happens every time the difficulty changes.

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 10, 2011, 12:43:36 AM
 #13

Well that's a relief. Some sites do display real time network strength but I guess they aren't exact?
Not possible. The only way to get the network's "speed" is to divide the amount of blocks found by the work needed to find those blocks. There isn't anything in the bitcoin protocol that reports current MH/s to your peers.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 10, 2011, 01:13:59 AM
 #14

this happens every time the difficulty changes.

I sure hope you're right Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!