Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:10:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mine in multiple pools to reduce variance  (Read 17450 times)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 12:32:18 PM
 #21

cgminer supports an arbitrary quota based load balancing system now.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481177456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177456
Reply with quote  #2

1481177456
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481177456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177456
Reply with quote  #2

1481177456
Report to moderator
1481177456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177456
Reply with quote  #2

1481177456
Report to moderator
1481177456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177456
Reply with quote  #2

1481177456
Report to moderator
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 12:34:09 PM
 #22

As miners miners decide they can't take the variance the variance on the smaller pools
Duplicate duplicate?

Well, well. Could be, could be.  Wink

So now is a good time to remind miners that "load balancing" - mining on multiple pools, even small ones - will significantly reduce your variance.

Are there software tools to facilitate this? To use the smaller pools effectively they need a smaller proportion of the miner's hashrate.

Load balancing is available in CGMiner. I'm not sure about how easy it is, and I don't know if BFGMiner also has this option.

Anyway eventually a switch to Multi-PPS will be needed.

I hasn't thought of it in these terms before, but Multi-PPS would allow miners to use smaller pools since they'd be using a variance free reward method, and so help reduce the centralisation of hashing.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
November 17, 2013, 02:34:04 PM
 #23

Load balancing is available in CGMiner. I'm not sure about how easy it is

It's very easy. It's as simple as adjusting your config file to add multiple pools, and then it automatically balances them. Or just listing multiple pools in your command line, if you do it that way.


Here's an example config thread. I've been doing it this way for many many months now.
Quote
"pools" : [
   {
      "name" : "pool1",
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool1.url:3333",
      "user" : "pool1user",
      "pass" : "pool1pass",
      "pool-priority" : "0"
   },
   {
      "name" : "pool2",
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool2.url:3333",
      "user" : "pool2user",
      "pass" : "pool2pass",
      "pool-priority" : "1"
   },
   {
      "name" : "pool3",
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool3.url:3333",
      "user" : "pool3user",
      "pass" : "pool3pass",
      "pool-priority" : "2"
   }
],

EDIT: Dur, of course you have to add ""balance" : true," into your config file as well. Otherwise the additional pools just act as backups.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
dmbf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 09:49:10 PM
 #24

Hi

I've been experimenting with --balance and --load-balance and posted my observations and some questions in my newbie thread here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=358711.msg3836730#msg3836730

I don't want to crosspost my questions again here but if anyone reading this thread is able to answer some of them, I'd appreciate it.
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 02:51:07 PM
 #25

Load balancing is available in CGMiner. I'm not sure about how easy it is

It's very easy. It's as simple as adjusting your config file to add multiple pools, and then it automatically balances them. Or just listing multiple pools in your command line, if you do it that way.


Here's an example config thread. I've been doing it this way for many many months now.
Quote
"pools" : [
   {
      "name" : "pool1",
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool1.url:3333",
      "user" : "pool1user",
      "pass" : "pool1pass",
      "pool-priority" : "0"
   },
   {
      "name" : "pool2",
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool2.url:3333",
      "user" : "pool2user",
      "pass" : "pool2pass",
      "pool-priority" : "1"
   },
   {
      "name" : "pool3",
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool3.url:3333",
      "user" : "pool3user",
      "pass" : "pool3pass",
      "pool-priority" : "2"
   }
],

EDIT: Dur, of course you have to add ""balance" : true," into your config file as well. Otherwise the additional pools just act as backups.
How about this thread in case of balance pools (like you post with 3 pools 33% balance share) and backup? For example, correct me if i am wrong: In your thread all 3 pools shall work in balance with 33.33% each. What will happen, if 1 pool is not reachable? Will the other 2 pools automatic share 50% / 50%, because Pool 1 0% - Pool 2 50% - Pool 3 50%?

If so, that would be great!

But right now the thread look like, the pools are setup like backup pools?
Code:
"pool-priority" : "0", "pool-priority" : "1", "pool-priority" : "2"

Is that correct?
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!