Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 10:36:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What is the difference using ASIC Block Erupter vs AMD GPU's?  (Read 862 times)
jackandjill
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
September 16, 2014, 08:07:41 AM
 #1

i still see that people are using AMD GPU's to mine but where as the obvious alternative will be to use Block Erupter kind of solutions to achieve higher hash rate ( i mean like crazy higher hash rate), so why is that people are still using GPU's rather than dedicated ASIC's? Any reason why?

Also I just bought Gigabyte 280x OC version for mining, u can consider the rest of the right to be a very good gaming machine, so using this GPU what kind of hash rate I can look at?
I tend to ask this question because I already have Win 8 , GTX 670 and I got 156Mh/s then this video shows as only 4.6Mh/s with 6 x 280x? is it a typo (I mean 4Gh/s)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WfqfEpanpig
Also I am planning to install this OS
http://guiminer.net/bamt
Is it good?


Tks for you inputs
Happy mining.


P.S
If this is in the wrong section please move it to the correct one, tks and sorry!
1513118188
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118188

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118188
Reply with quote  #2

1513118188
Report to moderator
1513118188
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118188

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118188
Reply with quote  #2

1513118188
Report to moderator
1513118188
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118188

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118188
Reply with quote  #2

1513118188
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513118188
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118188

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118188
Reply with quote  #2

1513118188
Report to moderator
1513118188
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118188

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118188
Reply with quote  #2

1513118188
Report to moderator
1513118188
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118188

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118188
Reply with quote  #2

1513118188
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
September 16, 2014, 10:20:35 AM
 #2

you have a lot to learn

there are many kinds of coins.

scrypt
sha256
scrypt-A-nf

are but 3 kinds

they use different speed measurments

gpus are too slow for Sha256-------------Bitcoin is best>>>>> asics are used here the bitmaintech antminer s-3 is about 450 gh decent machine this is about 900 of your gpu cards


gpus are too slow for scrypt---------------Litecoin is best but sunject to change machines with asic chips are best to use .  a 5mh machine is a good starter that is about 10 of your cards

gpus are still used for scrypt-a-nf --------Darkcoin is best here but subject to change  if you want to mine with your card look into darkcoins

it is a waste of money to use that card to mine scrypt or sha256  .  If you want scrypt or sha256 pm me I have links for machine to buy and have a few myself.



Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
OrientA
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
September 16, 2014, 12:13:05 PM
 #3

If your electricity is over $0.1/kWh, do not start mining with GPU.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!