Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 03:48:30 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU warrenty for bitcoinminers  (Read 988 times)
SunnyIgor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
September 17, 2014, 07:41:52 PM
 #1

I have a power supply (seasonic 1250x) with melted pci-e connectors.
I used it for running 2 antminer s1 overclocked.
It has been send to seasonic for RMA and now i get the question in what kind of system it has been used...
I used the paperclip trick for the psu.

Can i just say i used it for this, without losing my warrenty?
1511020110
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511020110

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511020110
Reply with quote  #2

1511020110
Report to moderator
1511020110
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511020110

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511020110
Reply with quote  #2

1511020110
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511020110
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511020110

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511020110
Reply with quote  #2

1511020110
Report to moderator
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

FUN > ROI


View Profile
September 17, 2014, 08:11:40 PM
 #2

T H A N K Y O U for purchasing the Seasonic Platinum Series power supply, the most technologically advanced PC power supply available today.
(emphasis mine)

WARNING! IMPORTANT SAFETY INFORMATION
[...]
The power supply unit is for integration into a computer system and is not intended for external or outdoor usage.
[...]
Warranty & Disclaimer
[...]
The product was properly used according to the manufacturer's intended purposes.
(emphasis mine)

Your guess as to whether externally powering two overclocked Bitcoin miners is one of the manufacturer's intended purposes for their PC power supply.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
September 17, 2014, 09:10:50 PM
 #3

I have a power supply (seasonic 1250x) with melted pci-e connectors.
I used it for running 2 antminer s1 overclocked.
It has been send to seasonic for RMA and now i get the question in what kind of system it has been used...
I used the paperclip trick for the psu.

Can i just say i used it for this, without losing my warrenty?


well overclocked s-1's pulled about 415 watts or 207-210 per pcie cord.   let me try to figure if those cables are rated above 200 watts.

I always tell everyone get evga 1300 psu's a 10 year warranty and they include a fancy dancy plug to turn the psu on.


 http://www.seasonicusa.com/images/BrochureManuals/New_X_Manual.pdf


based on this page from the manual    if you tell them you mined with a paperclip you are not covered


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Count_Frackula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2014, 10:16:04 PM
 #4

Next time, just buy some normal switches or do what I did.  

I bought a few of these guys and combined them with some wire splicers to cross the green to the ground.  Works like a charm.  


Rent my SHA-256 rigs on Mining Rig Rentals.
SunnyIgor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 10:57:35 AM
 #5

ok guys thanks for the help,

so almost everyone who uses atx powersupply's on any kind of miner is voiding his warrenty?
or can some brands be used for this?
and what would be the way to go, some kind of offical switch?
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1602



View Profile
September 18, 2014, 11:29:56 AM
 #6

ok guys thanks for the help,

so almost everyone who uses atx powersupply's on any kind of miner is voiding his warrenty?
or can some brands be used for this?
and what would be the way to go, some kind of offical switch?

This has happened to me before with Seasonic and rather than open a can of worms by trying to explain what a mining rig is, I simply told them that the PSU was powering a high-end home made gaming rig with 2 monster nVidia GPUs. It was replaced with some comment to make sure to not use PCI-e splitters.

Hmmm ... actually I've had 3 Seasonics melted out on me and never any other brands. I only bothered to RMA one of them.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 04:27:36 PM
 #7

ok guys thanks for the help,

so almost everyone who uses atx powersupply's on any kind of miner is voiding his warrenty?
or can some brands be used for this?
and what would be the way to go, some kind of offical switch?


the evga 1300 watt miner supplies a switch

the manual
http://www.evga.com/support/manuals/files/120-G2-1300.pdf

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Count_Frackula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile WWW
September 18, 2014, 09:55:14 PM
 #8

ok guys thanks for the help,

so almost everyone who uses atx powersupply's on any kind of miner is voiding his warrenty?
or can some brands be used for this?
and what would be the way to go, some kind of offical switch?


the evga 1300 watt miner supplies a switch

the manual
http://www.evga.com/support/manuals/files/120-G2-1300.pdf
The PDF isn't loading for me right now, so I can't quite confirm this, but I've never seen a PSU that comes with the kind of switch you need.  Any good PSU will come with a switch next to the power connector, however, as means of a secondary power-off.  The PSU still won't come on unless you cross the green to the ground somehow.  There are, however, quite a lot of options for doing this (aside from paperclips). 

I don't think it matters if you are or are not technically voiding your warranty.  Unless you volunteer the information, they have no way of verifying.  Like was said already, just say you were using it on some high-end video cards.  Also, based off this thread, don't use that brand.

Rent my SHA-256 rigs on Mining Rig Rentals.
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
September 18, 2014, 10:22:40 PM
 #9

You gotta lie to get the warranty done.............  Roll Eyes

Use these from Cablez   Cool




"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 823


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 11:26:44 PM
 #10

ok guys thanks for the help,

so almost everyone who uses atx powersupply's on any kind of miner is voiding his warrenty?
or can some brands be used for this?
and what would be the way to go, some kind of offical switch?


It seems to be an issue with Seasonic PSUs rather than the method of powering them on, especially considering Soros Shorts' post which is as follows:


This has happened to me before with Seasonic and rather than open a can of worms by trying to explain what a mining rig is, I simply told them that the PSU was powering a high-end home made gaming rig with 2 monster nVidia GPUs. It was replaced with some comment to make sure to not use PCI-e splitters.

Hmmm ... actually I've had 3 Seasonics melted out on me and never any other brands. I only bothered to RMA one of them.

I (and countless others) have used the paper clip method (well, I actually use an 18AWG thermostat wire just because I have it but it basically does the same chit) and have yet to experience an issue that affects the PSU itself:



Even Corsair employs/endorses the paper clip method:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FWXgQSokF4

Count_Frackula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2014, 07:46:53 PM
 #11

Interestingly enough, I just got a new EVGA 1200 P2 yesterday and found out that it came with a jumper clip in the box.  I was pretty surprised by it, and double-checked my last box of it - no jumper.  It looks like they've added this to their packaging recently.

Rent my SHA-256 rigs on Mining Rig Rentals.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!