Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:09:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: is this "OK" to mine with??  (Read 1651 times)
millo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 08:11:39 PM
 #1

Hi getting a new computer to mine with what you think, thanks


VIBOX ZETA-FS AMD FX QUAD CORE ATI HD 6450 500GB 4GB RAM
Satoshi is no god. He did not come down from the mountain with 10 golden rules engraved in stone for no one to question.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481170167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170167
Reply with quote  #2

1481170167
Report to moderator
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 08:15:37 PM
 #2

An ATI card, a powerful one. Like 5870/5970/6970/6990/7970
(more than one maybe)

Or a FPGA (more than one maybe)
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 08:21:34 PM
 #3

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

The 6450 is listed at a pathetic 27 MH/s

That's just as bad as most NVIDIA cards Sad

lunchb0x
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 08:28:14 PM
 #4

If it is just for mining, I would suggest getting a much cheaper cpu (sempron maybe?), the smallest cheapest hard drive you can get (even a flash drive could work), buying less ram (you don't really need more than 2 GB), and spending much more on the gpu (because that is what will be doing all the work).

buying a used HD 5000 series off of ebay is probably the best way to go, preferably one of the higher numbers, e.g. 5770, 5850, 5870, or 5970.

You wont donate, so why do I bother?

1KVorVNG5nSjstYvYxcqDEauhLGhGPmbF3
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 08:59:35 PM
 #5

Hi getting a new computer to mine with what you think, thanks

VIBOX ZETA-FS AMD FX QUAD CORE ATI HD 6450 500GB 4GB RAM
Short answer: No.

The HD6450 will hash at 27Mhps. At the current difficulty of 1508589 it will mine 0.02BTC, or $0.09, per day (that's 9 CENTS per day).

That computer will use ~150W while operating. At an average cost of $0.11/kWh, the electricity cost will be (150W x 24h / 1000 * $0.11/kWh) $0.40 per day. That's 40 CENTS per day.

If you mine with this PC, you will be LOSING 31 CENTS (mining income 9 cents, minus electricity cost of 40 cents) per day. You would be further ahead of you leave it turned off!  Undecided

To BREAK EVEN, you would need a card that can hash at least 120Mhps. A 5770 does 200Mhps; a 5830 does 300Mhps; a 5870 does 400Mhps.

Check out this online BTC calculator to run different scenarios: http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
Gladamas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Bitcoin today is what the internet was in 1998.


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 10:08:22 PM
 #6

Hi getting a new computer to mine with what you think, thanks


VIBOX ZETA-FS AMD FX QUAD CORE ATI HD 6450 500GB 4GB RAM

Yeah, a 6450 will not work. Try getting a 5830, 5850, or 5870 reference model design, so you can overclock it.

1GLADMZ5tL4HkS6BAWPfJLeZJCDHAd9Fr3 - LQ6Zx8v7fHVBiDX5Lmhbp6oEDB7dUFjANu
GPG 0xF219D5BB3C467E12 - Litecoin Forum
jack-o-lantern
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 10:31:58 PM
 #7

It seems like many people are recommending AMD based GPU's; is it still recommended if you're using Linux? As far as I know, the support for AMD is mediocre compared with Nvidia.
Gladamas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Bitcoin today is what the internet was in 1998.


View Profile
April 30, 2012, 10:33:59 PM
 #8

It seems like many people are recommending AMD based GPU's; is it still recommended if you're using Linux? As far as I know, the support for AMD is mediocre compared with Nvidia.

Yes, AMD is still recommended because AMD cards can mine 2-4x faster than a similarly-priced NVIDIA card.

Plus many miner programs are built for AMD and not NVIDIA cards.

1GLADMZ5tL4HkS6BAWPfJLeZJCDHAd9Fr3 - LQ6Zx8v7fHVBiDX5Lmhbp6oEDB7dUFjANu
GPG 0xF219D5BB3C467E12 - Litecoin Forum
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 10:39:24 PM
 #9

It seems like many people are recommending AMD based GPU's; is it still recommended if you're using Linux? As far as I know, the support for AMD is mediocre compared with Nvidia.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Euqsesalta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 01:13:41 AM
 #10

Short answer: No.

If you mine with this PC, you will be LOSING 31 CENTS (mining income 9 cents, minus electricity cost of 40 cents) per day. You would be further ahead of you leave it turned off!  Undecided

Check out this online BTC calculator to run different scenarios: http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php
This is only true if you personally pay for your electricity.

Is it "OK"? Sure, go for it, you won't break anything.
Is it optimal? Not even close.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 01:23:08 AM
 #11

Short answer: No.

If you mine with this PC, you will be LOSING 31 CENTS (mining income 9 cents, minus electricity cost of 40 cents) per day. You would be further ahead of you leave it turned off!  Undecided

Check out this online BTC calculator to run different scenarios: http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php
This is only true if you personally pay for your electricity.

Is it "OK"? Sure, go for it, you won't break anything.
Is it optimal? Not even close.
I'd say 27 MH/s is FAR from "OK"

Euqsesalta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 01:23:53 AM
 #12

I'd say 27 MH/s is FAR from "OK"
What's wrong with 27 MH/s?

Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 01:29:42 AM
 #13

I'd say 27 MH/s is FAR from "OK"
What's wrong with 27 MH/s?
It won't even pay for the electricity needed.  Even if you aren't paying for the electricity, someone is.

Euqsesalta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 01:32:04 AM
 #14

I'd say 27 MH/s is FAR from "OK"
What's wrong with 27 MH/s?
It won't even pay for the electricity needed.  Even if you aren't paying for the electricity, someone is.

It doesn't matter whether or not it will pay for the electricity needed - that isn't what I'm saying.

I'm not going to argue morality and whether or not you should waste resources for your own personal gain, etc. etc. - what I'm saying is, it's perfectly acceptable to mine with the OP's card at 27 MH/s if the OP is trying to acquire BTC at any rate at all, without regard for his or his parents or his neighbor's or whomever's electricity bill.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 01:36:05 AM
 #15

I'd say 27 MH/s is FAR from "OK"
What's wrong with 27 MH/s?
It won't even pay for the electricity needed.  Even if you aren't paying for the electricity, someone is.

It doesn't matter whether or not it will pay for the electricity needed - that isn't what I'm saying.
I think it does matter - that is what I'm saying.

Euqsesalta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 01:37:32 AM
 #16

I think it does matter - that is what I'm saying.
Why does it matter? I fail to understand your contention.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 01:56:29 AM
 #17

I think it does matter - that is what I'm saying.
Why does it matter? I fail to understand your contention.
With paid electricity, you lose money.  That doesn't qualify as an "OK" miner IMO.

With free electricity, it is a really slow miner that is likely not worth the time it takes to configure the mining software. So, still not an "OK" miner.

What, in your opinion, would not be an "OK" miner?

I do agree with you that mining won't "hurt" this computer. Although high load on a low-end (or even high-end) card is going to cut into the card's life.

Euqsesalta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 02:35:02 AM
 #18

With paid electricity, you lose money.  That doesn't qualify as an "OK" miner IMO.
We've covered this - it doesn't matter, we're assuming electricity that is not paid for by the OP.

With free electricity, it is a really slow miner that is likely not worth the time it takes to configure the mining software. So, still not an "OK" miner.
Grabbing a driver for the card and guiminer takes all of 15 minutes. This is irrelevant.

What, in your opinion, would not be an "OK" miner?
An Intel card that cannot mine - perhaps you could argue that a >3MH/s miner isn't "OK" - anything else is fair game.
I do agree with you that mining won't "hurt" this computer. Although high load on a low-end (or even high-end) card is going to cut into the card's life.
I guess - not more so than any other use would, though.

To cut this short, it's perfectly fine to mine with a shitty card - "not okay" means that you cannot, in my eyes.
Gladamas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Bitcoin today is what the internet was in 1998.


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 03:13:44 AM
 #19

With paid electricity, you lose money.  That doesn't qualify as an "OK" miner IMO.
We've covered this - it doesn't matter, we're assuming electricity that is not paid for by the OP.

With free electricity, it is a really slow miner that is likely not worth the time it takes to configure the mining software. So, still not an "OK" miner.
Grabbing a driver for the card and guiminer takes all of 15 minutes. This is irrelevant.

What, in your opinion, would not be an "OK" miner?
An Intel card that cannot mine - perhaps you could argue that a >3MH/s miner isn't "OK" - anything else is fair game.
I do agree with you that mining won't "hurt" this computer. Although high load on a low-end (or even high-end) card is going to cut into the card's life.
I guess - not more so than any other use would, though.

To cut this short, it's perfectly fine to mine with a shitty card - "not okay" means that you cannot, in my eyes.

I have to agree. However I still think that you can't make much money from mining at 27 MHash/s.

1GLADMZ5tL4HkS6BAWPfJLeZJCDHAd9Fr3 - LQ6Zx8v7fHVBiDX5Lmhbp6oEDB7dUFjANu
GPG 0xF219D5BB3C467E12 - Litecoin Forum
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 03:28:55 AM
 #20

Why are you assming electricity doesn't matter? The OP doesn't mention electricity. Not sure where you think he says it is free.

He said he got this to mine with. This is the worst mining system I think I've seen that still has a graphics card.

He also doesnt mention the power supply which is very important for a dedicated miner.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!