Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 05:44:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cloning Litecoin for my own coin - blockchain errors  (Read 2001 times)
mrflibblehat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 07:17:56 PM
 #1

Hi All,

Just a quick one.

I have created a litecoin clone (just to learn more than anything, its not going to be released to public)

I have created a new psztimestamp, nnonce, merklehash and genesis block and all works fine....

however when I load the new coin I get an error stating "failed to read block" when I try with -reindex it still says "failed to read block"

I have also noticed the blockchain is 298 weeks behind (same as litecoins) How can this be when ive changed the nnonce, merklehash, genesisblock and epoch time?

Any help would be much appreciated.

1511199874
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511199874

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511199874
Reply with quote  #2

1511199874
Report to moderator
1511199874
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511199874

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511199874
Reply with quote  #2

1511199874
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511199874
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511199874

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511199874
Reply with quote  #2

1511199874
Report to moderator
Willisius
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364

I'm really quite sane!


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 11:06:07 PM
 #2

Did you successfully mine the genesis block? And running the wallet causes the failure? Is there any relevant debug log info you can post?

Anyway, what might help given only what you've said so far: Make sure you changed this to just have the hash of your genesis block: https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/blob/master-0.8/src/checkpoints.cpp#L36
cloudboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 689


View Profile
September 24, 2014, 12:00:41 AM
 #3

Delete the checkpoints in checkpoints.cpp

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!