Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2018, 09:01:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin-QT - Bitcoin 0.9.1 failed to load 9/23 - install 0.9.2.1?  (Read 1227 times)
Brahman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 24, 2014, 09:16:20 PM
 #1

Bitcoin 0.9.1 normaly starts each time Vista Ultimate is opened (over the last several months).

On 9/23/2014 Bitcoin load (opening) started - "verify files" -  then just when the wallet window would normally appear the application closed and Windows displayed the message -"The application has stopped running - Debug or close"

This repeats with,-
No other applications running
After all security scans etc..

I discovered new updates are available - (I did not receive a notification?)

Should I install the Bitcoin Core version? - would this recover my Wallet data and coins?

How do I keep my Wallet data (including coins) and blockchain if I install Bitcoin 0.9.2.1?

Thanks

Update 9/26/2014
Still not able to load Bitcoin
Tried many things including,-
Uninstall Bitcoin, Download clean copy from Bitcoin.org
Install Bitcoin Core 0.9.2.1
Starts to load,-
Verifying files
Scan
Load addresses
Then-
Wallet screen - off color with Vist Ultimate message " Bitcoin - qt.exe stopped running - Debug or Close

Choose Debug
Visual Studio Just in time Debugger - window
A unhandled win32 exception  --  (4684)

Yes debug Bitcoin_qt.exe
Copied from the VS debug window -
“Unhandled exception at 0x012b63c4 in bitcoin-qt.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation writing location 0x00224b70.”

Reviewed the Call stack

Conclusions
Not able to load and open any version of Bitcoin

Did note ( may not be relevent)

9/23-24  Trend Micro Titanium - blocked Bitcoin file Au_exe.
Added to exception file

Bitcoin still does not load and open  -repeated many attempts





1529874070
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529874070

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529874070
Reply with quote  #2

1529874070
Report to moderator
1529874070
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529874070

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529874070
Reply with quote  #2

1529874070
Report to moderator
1529874070
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529874070

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529874070
Reply with quote  #2

1529874070
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529874070
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529874070

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529874070
Reply with quote  #2

1529874070
Report to moderator
1529874070
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529874070

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529874070
Reply with quote  #2

1529874070
Report to moderator
1529874070
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529874070

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529874070
Reply with quote  #2

1529874070
Report to moderator
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 621
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 25, 2014, 03:32:03 PM
 #2

You should always use the newest version of the Bitcoin Core application.
Before you upgrade make a backup of wallet.dat if you did not already do so (very recommended).

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
dariuss
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 25, 2014, 03:55:39 PM
 #3

Remember when you do upload your dat file, it needs to say wallet.dat not "whatevername.dat"
BeginToMine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100

It is never too late to start


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 11:16:04 AM
 #4

Should be some error in system maybe ?

I am not advertising anything Smiley
Sonny
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 04:17:47 PM
 #5

Haven't experienced your problem myself, and I have no idea what caused it to happen.

How do I keep my Wallet data (including coins) and blockchain if I install Bitcoin 0.9.2.1?

AFAIK, your blockchain data and wallet.dat file shouldn't be affected by the upgrade.
But for safety, you should always keep a backup of your wallet.dat file just in case your HDD fails one day.
Don't forget to create a new backup when all of the keys in your keypool (it has 100 keys by default) are used up.
Brahman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 27, 2014, 12:14:49 PM
 #6

Could you comment on the edits I submitted?
What is the appropriae way to use the forum to  continue the dicussion to get a solution?

Brahman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 29, 2014, 11:43:09 PM
 #7


Notice
The problem was caused by my Trend Micro Titanium 2014 - (anti virus softare) was blocking Bitcoin software.
Solution
Install Titanium 2015
Install Bitcoin Core 0.9.3

Problem solved.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!