Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:11:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: software for 7970 and 7950  (Read 3226 times)
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 10:02:27 PM
 #1

I'm currently mining with guiminer/opencl.

7970 is 1125mhz on core and gives about 640mhash.
My 7950 at 1030mhz core gives about 495mhash.

Q: would diablominer or other software give more then that?

They are only 96% core load for some odd reason, I'm using catalyst 12.3 I know that 12.2 is recommended might try that later.
1481191887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481191887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481191887
Reply with quote  #2

1481191887
Report to moderator
1481191887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481191887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481191887
Reply with quote  #2

1481191887
Report to moderator
1481191887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481191887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481191887
Reply with quote  #2

1481191887
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481191887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481191887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481191887
Reply with quote  #2

1481191887
Report to moderator
1481191887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481191887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481191887
Reply with quote  #2

1481191887
Report to moderator
1481191887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481191887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481191887
Reply with quote  #2

1481191887
Report to moderator
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
May 07, 2012, 03:50:50 AM
 #2

With CGMiner, try diablo's kernel.  Most if not all of my 7xxx cards are pegged at 99% usage.  I'm using CCC 12.3 as well.  12.4 really messed up mining for me.
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
May 08, 2012, 06:32:21 AM
 #3

cgminer, 12.2 pre beta driver (reccomended by cgminer author)

-I 9 -k poclbm --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1100-1180 --auto-gpu --gpu-vddc 0.88 --gpu-memdiff -150
gets me 702Mhash/card on 7970

poclbm currently gets me best performance

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 08, 2012, 11:50:26 PM
 #4

With CGMiner, try diablo's kernel.  Most if not all of my 7xxx cards are pegged at 99% usage.  I'm using CCC 12.3 as well.  12.4 really messed up mining for me.

Thanks, cgminer is alot better compared to guiminer.


cgminer, 12.2 pre beta driver (reccomended by cgminer author)

-I 9 -k poclbm --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1100-1180 --auto-gpu --gpu-vddc 0.88 --gpu-memdiff -150
gets me 702Mhash/card on 7970

poclbm currently gets me best performance

How do I know which kernel is running?
I guess that means that youre 7970 gpu core is between 1100-1180mhz and the memory is 150mhz less so 950-1030mhz?

I'm now 1125/1050 on the 7970 and it gives 660mhash, the 7950 is 1100/1250 and 575mhash.

I would like to overclock more the core but it is capped at 1125 for 7970 and 1100 for 7950 how do I unlock that in cgminer or windows 7 because I have watercooling?
lightlord
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


★Bitvest.io★ Play Plinko or Invest!


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2012, 02:31:22 PM
 #5

cgminer, 12.2 pre beta driver (reccomended by cgminer author)

-I 9 -k poclbm --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1100-1180 --auto-gpu --gpu-vddc 0.88 --gpu-memdiff -150
gets me 702Mhash/card on 7970

poclbm currently gets me best performance

Just tried your settings, thanks. Card dropped from 83 degrees to 74 degrees, and now my clock from 1125 to 1180.
A higher clock and much lower temperatures.

Getting Currently: "697.8 mhash"

Its insane how much this card can undervolt and overclock at the same time

Stock: 1000>1180
Voltage: 1.17>0.88 Volts(25% under volt)

All the previous cards I had never OC and Undervolted this much.



.
.BITVEST DICE.
HAS BEEN RELEASED!


▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████▀▀██████████
█████████░░░░█████████
██████████▄▄██████████
███████▀▀████▀▀███████
██████░░░░██░░░░██████
███████▄▄████▄▄███████
████▀▀████▀▀████▀▀████
███░░░░██░░░░██░░░░███
████▄▄████▄▄████▄▄████
██████████████████████

▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀▀████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████
█████░░▄███▄░░░░██████
█████▄▄███▀░░░░▄██████
█████████░░░░░░███████
████████░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░███████
███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████

██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
███████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███████████▀▀▄▄█░░░░░█
█████████▀░░█████░░░░█
███████▀░░░░░████▀░░░▀
██████░░░░░░░░▀▄▄█████
█████░▄░░░░░▄██████▀▀█
████░████▄░███████░░░░
███░█████░█████████░░█
███░░░▀█░██████████░░█
███░░░░░░████▀▀██▀░░░░
███░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░

██░▄▄▄▄░████▄▄██▄░░░░
████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██
█████████████░█▀▀▀█░███
██████████▀▀░█▀░░░▀█░▀▀
███████▀░▄▄█░█░░░░░█░█▄
████▀░▄▄████░▀█░░░█▀░██
███░▄████▀▀░▄░▀█░█▀░▄░▀
█▀░███▀▀▀░░███░▀█▀░███░
▀░███▀░░░░░████▄░▄████░
░███▀░░░░░░░█████████░░
░███░░░░░░░░░███████░░░
███▀░██░░░░░░▀░▄▄▄░▀░░░
███░██████▄▄░▄█████▄░▄▄

██░████████░███████░█
▄████████████████████▄
████████▀▀░░░▀▀███████
███▀▀░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀▀▀██
██░▀▀▄▄░░░▀▀▀░░░▄▄▀▀██
██░▄▄░░▀▀▄▄░▄▄▀▀░░░░██
██░▀▀░░░░░░█░░░░░██░██
██░░░▄▄░░░░█░██░░░░░██
██░░░▀▀░░░░█░░░░░░░░██
██░░░░░▄▄░░█░░░░░██░██
██▄░░░░▀▀░░█░██░░░░░██
█████▄▄░░░░█░░░░▄▄████
█████████▄▄█▄▄████████

▀████████████████████▀




Rainbot
Daily Quests
Faucet
Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 13, 2012, 11:52:05 AM
 #6


Voltage: 1.17>0.88 Volts(25% under volt)

All the previous cards I had never OC and Undervolted this much.


Ckolivas himself admits that cgminer cannot set the voltage on 7970s:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=77238.msg860395#msg860395

Of course at 1180 you're not undervolting: you're at stock voltage. Which is pretty fine indeed Smiley
--
Bye

--
Bye
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 15, 2012, 01:37:26 PM
 #7

re: undervolting 7970

The best way is to set voltage in AB.  Then run cgminer with that setting.  cgminer will report 1.17 as this is what ADL provides, BUT
if you open GPU-Z you'll see that the voltage is closer to your setting than to 1.17.  It might not be exactly what you set in AB and cgminer config file,
but it will be close (and it will be lower).  Verify this with killawatt reading.

For example, now I run 925/775/0.937 settings in AB and cgminer config file.  But the actual GPU-Z sensor page says the cards are running at 0.89V
I used this method to run with 1025/685/0.993 @ 740W at the wall (3x7970).
Now, with 925/775/0.937 settings the whole system consumes 480-490W.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!