Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:10:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon 7970 Bitcoin Problem  (Read 1372 times)
Lompang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 09, 2012, 10:29:07 PM
 #1

Hey guys fairly new to Bitcoin, but I have a Radeon 7970 to use offhand when I'm not gaming. Although when I try to bitcoin for more than 10 minutes even underclocked the monitor goes blank then the system hangs and you have to force a restart by pressing the power button. Why does this happen? I don't believe it's my PSU, because it was able to handle a 5970 mining. Could it be drivers or such? I'm using the latest drivers right now.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481235013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235013
Reply with quote  #2

1481235013
Report to moderator
1481235013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235013
Reply with quote  #2

1481235013
Report to moderator
David_Benz
Donator
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

you got hacked bitch!


View Profile
May 09, 2012, 11:07:11 PM
 #2

Hey guys fairly new to Bitcoin, but I have a Radeon 7970 to use offhand when I'm not gaming. Although when I try to bitcoin for more than 10 minutes even underclocked the monitor goes blank then the system hangs and you have to force a restart by pressing the power button. Why does this happen? I don't believe it's my PSU, because it was able to handle a 5970 mining. Could it be drivers or such? I'm using the latest drivers right now.

Completely remove all previous drivers (and use driver sweeper also) then reinstall the latest drivers for your 7970.

I bet you are having some driver conflict.

I am the Bitcoinica Hacker.
gomisensei
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 11:25:06 PM
 #3

Pretty sure a 5970 mining will use a lot less power than a 7970... It could be a power issue if it isn't a driver issue.  What's the rating on your PSU? 
nikanon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 11:45:02 PM
 #4

try running a stress test (furmark). before you say it's a hardware problem...reformat/reinstall windows
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:40:13 AM
 #5

Sounds like the driver is hanging and the OS can't recover.  Have you watched the temperature of the system and the card as it approaches detonation?  What miner are you using?  Something like cgminer would show hardware errors during mining.  I've seen phoenix do that as well.

Hey guys fairly new to Bitcoin, but I have a Radeon 7970 to use offhand when I'm not gaming. Although when I try to bitcoin for more than 10 minutes even underclocked the monitor goes blank then the system hangs and you have to force a restart by pressing the power button. Why does this happen? I don't believe it's my PSU, because it was able to handle a 5970 mining. Could it be drivers or such? I'm using the latest drivers right now.

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
silverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:52:10 AM
 #6

Pretty sure a 5970 mining will use a lot less power than a 7970...

Pretty sure your wrong. Wink
Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 08:22:01 AM
 #7

Pretty sure a 5970 mining will use a lot less power than a 7970...

Nope.
Remember: the HD 5970 is a dual card.
--
Bye.

--
Bye
Lompang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 01:42:55 PM
 #8

Using a 850 watt with 2 12 volt rails. I'm mining with diablo/gui and it still crashes. My OS does crash first, but I did reinstall drivers with driversweeper and it still does it. What's funny is that the card works fine playing games for 8+ hours straight.
Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 04:02:15 PM
 #9

Using a 850 watt with 2 12 volt rails.

If your PS is at least decent, it cannot be the cause. I use an extremely good 850W PS (Corsair TX 850V2, actually made by Seasonic) for a system with two overclocked 7970, 24/7. I can also overclock my i5 2500K to 4.6GHz@1,46V (about 170W itself alone)... plenty of fans...  and there's room for more stuff.

Quote
I'm mining with diablo/gui and it still crashes. My OS does crash first, but I did reinstall drivers with driversweeper and it still does it. What's funny is that the card works fine playing games for 8+ hours straight.

Well I don't use Windows, but... tried with Furmark? IIRC, in Windows nothing is as heavy as Furmark. If Furmark is stable, mining must be stable: if it's not, IMHO your problem is surely software related.
--
Bye.

--
Bye
Lompang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:34:46 PM
 #10

Furmark easily stable. I'm using a Seasonic too so it should work fine. What basically happens is after 10 minutes on the screen goes black, OS shuts down, but the PC doesn't and just sits there still running. Myself my I7 is OC'd to 4.5 GHz.
Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 12, 2012, 08:24:10 PM
 #11

Furmark easily stable. I'm using a Seasonic too so it should work fine. What basically happens is after 10 minutes on the screen goes black, OS shuts down, but the PC doesn't and just sits there still running. Myself my I7 is OC'd to 4.5 GHz.

What happens is really strange.

I'm sorry, but I can't figure it out. Sad
--
Bye

--
Bye
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!