Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 07:55:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Different address on Android and PC?  (Read 1107 times)
iohutom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
October 01, 2014, 10:05:22 AM
 #1

Hi All,

I just tried to use electrum today and installed the PC version.
Then I went to install the android version, and restore the wallet with the same seed as the PC version, but the address generated was different from the address on the PC version?
Is it supposed to be this way for security reasons or am I doing it wrong somehow?

Thanks.
1508442947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508442947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508442947
Reply with quote  #2

1508442947
Report to moderator
1508442947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508442947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508442947
Reply with quote  #2

1508442947
Report to moderator
1508442947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508442947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508442947
Reply with quote  #2

1508442947
Report to moderator
The network tries to produce one block per 10 minutes. It does this by automatically adjusting how difficult it is to produce blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508442947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508442947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508442947
Reply with quote  #2

1508442947
Report to moderator
jbrnt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
October 01, 2014, 10:14:27 AM
 #2

I think you mistyped the seed on the android version. Try again until you get the same addresses. Don't send any coins there until you do. I don't want to scare you or anything, I remember reading something about a bug on the Android version, where a mistyped seed gives you a default set of addresses same as everyone else.
iohutom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
October 01, 2014, 10:27:25 AM
 #3

I scanned the QR code of the seed... how could it be wrong... I'll try again.
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526



View Profile WWW
October 03, 2014, 02:36:54 AM
 #4

The android wallet is buggy and hasn't been updated in a long time. The QR code scanning feature doesn't work so you will have to manually enter the seed.

IMO this wallet should be removed from the electrum site or people will face monetary losses because of it.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!