Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:45:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CGMINER & FPGA still requires OPENCL.DLL?  (Read 6314 times)
Scared
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 07:04:47 PM
 #1

It appears that CGMINER requires opencl.dll to be installed. This is an issue for FPGA only mining. I'm running in a virtualized environment that does not support opencl.dll. Is there a way to run CGMINER without GPU mining functionality/opencl.dll dependency?

Thanks

[EDIT]

Figured it out
  Needed to install AMD SDK Even though i'm not using the GPU because the exe was linked to opencl.
  Also needed to use -G to disabled GPU mining.
1480970714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970714
Reply with quote  #2

1480970714
Report to moderator
1480970714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970714
Reply with quote  #2

1480970714
Report to moderator
1480970714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970714
Reply with quote  #2

1480970714
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480970714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970714
Reply with quote  #2

1480970714
Report to moderator
1480970714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970714
Reply with quote  #2

1480970714
Report to moderator
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 07:14:48 PM
 #2

It appears that CGMINER requires opencl.dll to be installed. This is an issue for FPGA only mining. I'm running in a virtualized environment that does not support opencl.dll. Is there a way to run CGMINER without GPU mining functionality/opencl.dll dependency?

Thanks

No. cl*() calls are linked.  You would need to change the code to load opencl.dll dynamically.
Maybe bfgminer is doing it, if not, it probably should.


Compile/Configure option maybe? Check if there is one to disable opencl

EDIT: try building it with --disable-opencl --enable-bitforce or --disable-opencl --enable-icarus
I just tried.  It works!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!