Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:21:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Switching to mBTC by default?  (Read 1666 times)
ploum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 06:55:46 AM
 #1

I don't have any trading experience but I was wondering if the fact that a BTC has so much value could impact the value itself.

Would someone pay 100$ for "one bitcoin"? How you could you use it for payment then. Every price would be 0.01BTC or similar.

I thought that, by the time BTC hit 10$ (or 100$), we could agree to switch to mBTC everywhere (clients, merchants, traders). That way, you would buy 10 mBTC for one $. It's physically the same but, psychologically, not at all.

The advantage of switching to mBTC is that the old BTC values are still valid. It will also give us more space to the unfounded criticism that "there are only 21 million of btc". Now, it would be "21 billion of mBTC", which looks more realistic.

So, what do you think?

Blog posts about Bitcoin - 1KdRBbhjo72CqKTrFsQed6s9NMrvwvrUkq
1481185276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185276
Reply with quote  #2

1481185276
Report to moderator
1481185276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185276
Reply with quote  #2

1481185276
Report to moderator
1481185276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185276
Reply with quote  #2

1481185276
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481185276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185276
Reply with quote  #2

1481185276
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 13, 2011, 07:05:23 AM
 #2

I thought that, by the time BTC hit 10$ (or 100$), we could agree to switch to mBTC everywhere (clients, merchants, traders).

This was from November:

Quote
When 1 Bitcoin is worth somewhere around $100 (in 2010 dollars), I think it'll be time for the client to switch to millicoins (e.g. .001 BTC), so if I'm buying a paperback book it costs 50 milliBTC  instead of  .05 BTC.
  - http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1833.msg22646#msg22646


Anth0n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144



View Profile
May 13, 2011, 07:06:31 AM
 #3

The market will take care of this when the issue arises!
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 07:30:21 AM
 #4

The market will take care of this when the issue arises!

For sure. If it's true that you can sell bitcoins for more $$ if you call them millibitcoins then smart people (there are some around here iirc) will buy from people who call them bitcoins and sell to people for more by calling them millibitcoins.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
Alex Beckenham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 07:40:03 AM
 #5

we could agree to switch to mBTC everywhere (clients, merchants, traders).

This was from November:
Quote
...it'll be time for the client to switch to millicoins (e.g. .001 BTC)

Yes it doesn't need to be switched everywhere, it's just a matter of choosing whatever client software suits you.

Some people will continue to enter '0.05' into their bitcoin client program, while others will decide to run SuperClientmBTC (tm) which takes mBTC as input instead.

Both send the same amount behind the scenes.

eMansipater
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 08:47:33 AM
 #6

The market will take care of this when the issue arises!
"The market" isn't someone else.  It's us.  The issue is naturally arising, and we can all come up with different ideas for what to do.  Hopefully the best ones will rise to the top, and enough people can realise that and make the transition in their vocabulary, so that everyone else isn't confused to bits.  No pun intended.

If you found my post helpful, feel free to send a small tip to 1QGukeKbBQbXHtV6LgkQa977LJ3YHXXW8B
Visit the BitCoin Q&A Site to ask questions or share knowledge.
0.009 BTC too confusing?  Use mBTC instead!  Details at www.em-bit.org or visit the project thread to help make Bitcoin prices more human-friendly.
carlerha
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:41:11 AM
 #7

I believe a solution like this would be nice:



the option of whether to display the combo box or not and its default value can be changed in settings, that way it'll be up to each
user and his/her preference how to handle all the zeros.




And something like this upon hitting "send":



This way, the user gets a chance to review the numbers.

ryepdx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 09:56:24 AM
 #8

I believe a solution like this would be nice:
...

Not a bad idea...
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 13, 2011, 04:05:15 PM
 #9

Don't think we need nBTC yet (our 8 decimal places get us to 0.00 µBTC) but otherwise I think it works.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
CydeWeys
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 04:12:09 PM
 #10

I definitely think that switching to mBTC (and even just renaming them to BTC some time down the line, so that 1 BTC = 10^5 base units instead of 10^8 base units) is a good idea.  It takes a lot of the psychological impact away.  For the record I was also strongly in favor of Berkshire-Hathaway's recent 50-for-1 split.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 04:19:06 PM
 #11

calerha, I think that is brilliant
kwukduck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1565


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 04:39:01 PM
 #12

Yep, looking good, would be a nice feature for scaling prices.

14b8PdeWLqK3yi3PrNHMmCvSmvDEKEBh3E
2_Thumbs_Up
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 05:49:53 PM
 #13

It's slightly dangerous to be able to change the unit in the send pop-up though. You really want to minimize the risk of over-paying something by a factor of 1000. I say it's probably better if this is in the options menu.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!