Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:24:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Xorg 99% CPU Help  (Read 1834 times)
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1021



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 05:43:05 PM
 #1

I have a couple of machines that will mine for a day or so then the cgminer screen will lock up.

I ssh into the machine and cgminer was killed and Xorg is using 99% of the cpu.

I have seen this happen on multiple machines.

All running 11.04 Ubuntu from USB stick.  Cgminer.

Anyone had a similar problem and found a solution?

in win 1200w power supply
890fxa-gd70
sempron 145e
2gb ram dimm
5X5870's
11.04
AMD 2.4 SDK

mouse is not plugged in, screensaver off.

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
1481207094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207094
Reply with quote  #2

1481207094
Report to moderator
1481207094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207094
Reply with quote  #2

1481207094
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1021



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 05:49:17 PM
 #2

I should add that all my miners have run rock solid for 2 months straight before I saw this Xorg problem and it only started after I downclocked my 5870's to 800/150/.959

I am putting them up to 825/300/1.000 and will see if that fixes the problem.

It must be it since that is the only change I made besides switching them all to 220V which would make no difference.


1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
wknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 889


Bitcoin calls me an Orphan


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 05:53:44 PM
 #3

When your at Xorg 99% that means a GPU Hung.. If you downclock and undervolt it will take a bit of work to find the sweet spot.

Mining Both Bitcoin and Litecoin.
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1021



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 05:58:25 PM
 #4

Is there a way to tell which GPU hung?  I looked through DMESG and couldn't tell which one it was.

I would rather just change the settings on 1 GPU then change all 5.

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
wknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 889


Bitcoin calls me an Orphan


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 07:53:57 PM
 #5

You could do a screen -r and you will see cgminer running.. usually you will see the gpu that has no hashes submitted or speed. It will look dead or be dead. Maybe even sick.

Mining Both Bitcoin and Litecoin.
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1021



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 08:03:11 PM
 #6

Yeah I had one machine that GPU 1 and 3 reported SICK so I was able to just raise those clocks a little.

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
wknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 889


Bitcoin calls me an Orphan


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 08:05:12 PM
 #7

Yup thats all it takes Smiley But the only way to get rid of that 99% most of the time is a coldreboot

Mining Both Bitcoin and Litecoin.
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1021



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 08:49:02 PM
 #8

Yeah i tried killing the pid.  doesn't work. 

So I get to restart and re-write my /etc/network/interfaces file everytime.

Is there any way to get my USB stick to write that file?  sudo sync doesn't write it to the usb stick.

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!