Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 02:57:27 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: my upgrade issue to 6.2  (Read 2072 times)
Andrew Bitcoiner (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396
Merit: 250


Send correspondance to GPG key A372E7C6


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2012, 12:54:13 AM
 #1

I upgraded a bitcoind .5.0 version with 6.2 today and have an issue.

./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 60200,
    "protocolversion" : 60001,
    "walletversion" : 10500,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 13899,
    "connections" : 15,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 1.00000000,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1335916188,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}

I should have a balance in the balance portion and when I look at difficulty that doesn't look like right to me.

When I do ./bitcoind getbalance ""
2.4

I get a smallish number in here when I had a high digit number in the wallet originally.  

Anyone have any suggestions on how to go about fixing this?

I also checked on running the old bitcoind it gives me

************************
EXCEPTION: 22DbRunRecoveryException      
DbEnv::open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery      
bitcoin in AppInit()      

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'DbRunRecoveryException'
  what():  DbEnv::open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery

MAKE MONEY! ADVERTISE FOR BITCOINS http://www.bitcoinadvertising.com
Bitcoin News Site http://coinbits.com
Bitcoin Blackjack http://bitjack21.com
Bitcoin, Darknet, IT consulting http://cryptophene.com
1714921047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714921047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714921047
Reply with quote  #2

1714921047
Report to moderator
1714921047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714921047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714921047
Reply with quote  #2

1714921047
Report to moderator
1714921047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714921047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714921047
Reply with quote  #2

1714921047
Report to moderator
Bitcoin addresses contain a checksum, so it is very unlikely that mistyping an address will cause you to lose money.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 15, 2012, 12:56:41 AM
 #2

difficulty will rise with blockchain download... i'm assuming (since it's showing difficulty of 1) that you need to get the full chain again from scratch.

edit: i see it's on block 13899... presumably at that time, the difficulty was still 1.
terrytibbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 501



View Profile
May 15, 2012, 12:59:09 AM
 #3

   "blocks" : 13899,
There's your "problem", smartass.
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 4158
Merit: 8382



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2012, 01:24:11 AM
 #4

Quote
   "blocks" : 13899,
 

Did you delete your blockchain when you upgraded? You shouldn't have lost your current height.
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 4158
Merit: 8382



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2012, 04:15:23 AM
 #5

is it normal to stay on a block fot this long?  I flushed firewall rules just in case too.

No, it should sync the early blocks very fast. Sometimes the sync will get interrupted because a peer disconnected but it should continue at the next block.

It sounds to me like you somehow managed to get your database corrupted during the upgrade— though I'm not sure how.

Look in the debug log file and see if you see anything about failing validation?   

After making an additional backup of your wallet you could try shutting down cleanly, deleting everything in the appdata directory, then copying back in the wallet and restarting.
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 4158
Merit: 8382



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2012, 04:22:29 AM
 #6

Program version 4.8 doesn't match environment version 4.7
Unacceptable log file .bitcoin/database/log.0000000917: unsupported log version 16
Invalid log file: log.0000000917: Invalid argument
PANIC: Invalid argument
unable to join the environment

will try the backup and clear the directory

This sounds like you didn't shut down cleanly before the upgrade. Thats mandatory.  Bad things happen if you don't.
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313
Merit: 258


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2012, 08:46:52 AM
 #7

looks like a damaged db.

to play it safe back up everything in .bitcoind directory, in practice it is my understanding that you only need to backup the wallet, but backing up everything is safe.

then start bitcoind in a fresh clean directory with the wallet and the config file, this will recreate the database and will download a fresh block chain, it will take several hours. But it will fix your problem.

That sometime happens when the server crashes and bitcoind is running.
memvola
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 15, 2012, 08:55:40 AM
 #8

Probably unrelated, but my addr.dat got corrupted between clean shutdowns during this upgrade. Deleting the file fixed the problem.
DILLIGAF
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 16, 2012, 02:52:30 AM
 #9

So as of today I am only at


{
    "version" : 60200,
    "protocolversion" : 60001,
    "walletversion" : 10500,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 176120,
    "connections" : 9,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 1577913.48567673,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1335918322,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}

is it always this slow?  Over 24 hours of updating now.

It can be that slow that said I see you have the same as me no balance shown when there should be one and it tells me I have a -1000+ balance not possible as far as I know.

Code:

miner2@miner2:~$ bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 60200,
    "protocolversion" : 60001,
    "walletversion" : 10500,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 151260,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 1203461.92637997,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1309626024,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}

miner2@miner2:~$ bitcoind getbalance ""
-1092.30289594
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 4158
Merit: 8382



View Profile WWW
May 16, 2012, 03:16:35 AM
 #10

is it always this slow?  Over 24 hours of updating now.

It depends a lot on the peers you happen to get. 0.7.0 will probably improve the sync speed in the face of lousy peers.  If your peers are fast and reliable you can pull the full chain in an hour or two.

It can be that slow that said I see you have the same as me no balance shown when there should be one and it tells me I have a -1000+ balance not possible as far as I know.

You won't see your transaction show as confirmed until you catch up to the point in the chain where they were created.
Andrew Bitcoiner (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396
Merit: 250


Send correspondance to GPG key A372E7C6


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2012, 03:23:20 AM
 #11

is it always this slow?  Over 24 hours of updating now.

It depends a lot on the peers you happen to get. 0.7.0 will probably improve the sync speed in the face of lousy peers.  If your peers are fast and reliable you can pull the full chain in an hour or two.

It can be that slow that said I see you have the same as me no balance shown when there should be one and it tells me I have a -1000+ balance not possible as far as I know.

You won't see your transaction show as confirmed until you catch up to the point in the chain where they were created.


Thanks gmaxwell, I know I should probably RTFM but would you happen to know a list of trusted peers to connect to?  This is going to take another 2 days at this rate.

MAKE MONEY! ADVERTISE FOR BITCOINS http://www.bitcoinadvertising.com
Bitcoin News Site http://coinbits.com
Bitcoin Blackjack http://bitjack21.com
Bitcoin, Darknet, IT consulting http://cryptophene.com
DILLIGAF
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 16, 2012, 06:40:46 AM
 #12

It can be that slow that said I see you have the same as me no balance shown when there should be one and it tells me I have a -1000+ balance not possible as far as I know.

You won't see your transaction show as confirmed until you catch up to the point in the chain where they were created.


No shit at that point in time the blockchain was at October 31 last year the addresses in that wallet having been in use since June 6  of last year according to the blockchain explorer which tells you when the address I checked first appeared on the network so there would have been a balance somewhere along the line there. It does now however show a balance so whatever funky foolishness this upgrade is pulling in the transaction database seems to be righting itself as it goes along.



Thanks gmaxwell, I know I should probably RTFM but would you happen to know a list of trusted peers to connect to?  This is going to take another 2 days at this rate.

Try killing off then restarting the daemon to try and get some new peers, I've done that a couple of times so far and right now am at block ~179000 from starting with the upgrade a couple of hours before I first posted, another 1300 or so blocks and it will be done.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!