Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:29:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU  (Read 691 times)
atomicswan27
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53



View Profile
CPU
May 16, 2012, 02:00:48 AM
 #1

I am going to be building a new mining rig, but i don't know if i should spend a lot of money on a cpu. What CPU do you use?
Thanks for any help,
Sasha

Tip me for my hard work: 1Q9nyaePYxXhPx3mQFR5SJXobpedmzictG
1480847399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847399
Reply with quote  #2

1480847399
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480847399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847399
Reply with quote  #2

1480847399
Report to moderator
1480847399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847399
Reply with quote  #2

1480847399
Report to moderator
1480847399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847399
Reply with quote  #2

1480847399
Report to moderator
nyan.kitty1024
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 02:15:51 AM
 #2

The CPU for a mining rig largely doesn't matter. You'll be getting(by far, most likely) most of your hash rate from the GPU's. If you have to choose between a GPU and upgrading the CPU, choose the GPU.

1E1iYCQtHCAD2S2h3xJ3Qugzo4dZ3wm1Lf
Mickster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 07:54:51 PM
 #3

Does CPU matter. I am going to be building a mining rig, but i don't know if i should spend a lot of money on a cpu. What CPU do you use?
Thanks for any help,
Sasha

Almost any CPU should work. Just make sure it's compatible with your motherboard!
swissmate
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
May 16, 2012, 09:23:24 PM
 #4

AMD Sempron, just costs like 30 Euros

Bitcoin adress:1HtrosDCEM3zMJ1RbsK9g4vpe3DTotBhVh


Need any translation?
lafiamafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
May 17, 2012, 11:33:01 AM
 #5

As long as your CPU isn't absolute shit-tier you'll be fine, but it does help to have more cores when you're running three cards off of one mobo.

Sharecoin: SPyMuGW9JSWDfy5B6NKA9Btrc748EdXPqu
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 02:11:59 PM
 #6

I ran my farm of 4 -5 cards per rig with semprons each, no exception.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

Morblias
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 03:43:05 PM
 #7

I got a Sempron 145 for my rig. They work great and are cheap.

Tips / Donations accepted: 1Morb18DsDHNEv6TeQXBdba872ZSpiK9fY
David_Benz
Donator
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

you got hacked bitch!


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 09:48:56 PM
 #8

DO

NOT

CPU

MINE

I am the Bitcoinica Hacker.
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
May 17, 2012, 09:53:22 PM
 #9

DO

NOT

CPU

MINE

Unless its Litecoin and an i7.

Busy ATM.
KIDC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 01:25:04 AM
 #10

Hi atomicswan27,

If you're using Litecoin then you're going to probably want a high-performance CPU with a low latency cache design and good overclockability, like an Intel i5 or i7. Intel's i5-2500k is a great choice and is what I use (not for mining though). If you're looking at going AMD then you may want to go for a Bulldozer based chip, as I believe it has extra integer processing power, and integer factorization is what bitcoin and litecoin both use for mining. I'm not very well versed in AMD's current lineup or tech so you may want to ask somebody else about that.

If you're mining regular bitcoins then CPU mining will be a huge waste of time a money. You'll want to run GPUs (video cards) or FPGAs hosted on a computer.

I myself run two full towers as dedicated 24/7 miners each with one GPU. The processors I use for both are Celeron 430 - http://ark.intel.com/products/29735/Intel-Celeron-Processor-430-%28512K-Cache-1_80-GHz-800-MHz-FSB%29. They are only 35W TDP and so are low heat output and could even be run fanless if you have a large enough heatsink. You can get them on ebay for very cheap (that's where I got mine): http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-Celeron-430-SL9XN-Single-Core-Desktop-CPU-Processor-1-80GHZ-512-800-06-/150818847996?pt=CPUs&hash=item231d80fcfc

If you're running AMD board(s) - as others have said the Sempron 140 or 145 is a great choice and is what I use in another box that serves as a simple fileserver.

Hope that helps Smiley

"He who controls the past commands the future. He who commands the future, conquers the past."
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!