Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 04:39:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: FPGA Devices  (Read 654 times)
atomicswan27
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53



View Profile
May 16, 2012, 02:42:38 AM
 #1

Tell me what you know about FPGA devices. The best ones out there produce about 850 mh/s but they cost close to $1000. What are your thoughts on them. Check out the stats about FPGA on the bottom of this page:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Would you use them? Why? Are they worth it?
Any feedback would be nice

Tip me for my hard work: 1Q9nyaePYxXhPx3mQFR5SJXobpedmzictG
1481387953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481387953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481387953
Reply with quote  #2

1481387953
Report to moderator
1481387953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481387953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481387953
Reply with quote  #2

1481387953
Report to moderator
1481387953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481387953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481387953
Reply with quote  #2

1481387953
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481387953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481387953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481387953
Reply with quote  #2

1481387953
Report to moderator
1481387953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481387953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481387953
Reply with quote  #2

1481387953
Report to moderator
1481387953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481387953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481387953
Reply with quote  #2

1481387953
Report to moderator
cwerdna
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 02:59:03 AM
 #2

Generally FPGA = generally significantly lower power consumption than high end/OCd GPU per MHash

Probably little resale value in FPGA compared to GPU - you can always sell an old GPU to gamers. Only miners/specialists interested in fpga.

Do your research on fpga - its a growing area and at least one apparently promising supplier seems as a minimum to be contentious at least.
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946



View Profile
May 16, 2012, 07:42:20 AM
 #3

Uh,all you got to do is read,I'll get you started:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?board=76.0

 Grin Roll Eyes Cool

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
Nancarrow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 10:50:46 AM
 #4

Tell me what you know about FPGA devices. The best ones out there produce about 850 mh/s but they cost close to $1000. What are your thoughts on them. Check out the stats about FPGA on the bottom of this page:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Would you use them? Why? Are they worth it?
Any feedback would be nice
-Sasha

As others have said, they have a very high startup cost compared to GPUs, and little to no resale value, unlike GPUs. However their power requirements are *very* low compared to GPUs. This makes them a good idea for people who are confident that Bitcoins are going to hang around for quite a while.
o.
The scuttlebutt is basically that the mining community is gradually switching from GPUs to FPGAs, and it may not be a good idea to start building any new rigs with GPUs. Having said that, I've got too many GPUs and am waiting for another rig to put them on. I'm sticking with GPUs to the bitter end, but I may well be succumbing to the 'sunk costs' fallacy. Time will tell.

ETA: just realised you posted the other noob mining thread I responded to. To tie back into that: if you're going to build GPU mining rigs, BAMT is great. If you're going to build FPGA rigs, BAMT currently has nothing to offer on that score AFAIK. Not sure if the author's looking into it or not.

If I've said anything amusing and/or informative and you're feeling generous:
1GNJq39NYtf7cn2QFZZuP5vmC1mTs63rEW
hakock
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2012, 06:02:45 PM
 #5

I use linuxcoin from a stick and bitminter to mine with GPU and shortly with a BitForce Single.
All running very well.
I just ordered a Mini Rig from BFLabs, too.
I think it's FPGA is the only way to make mining worth it. At least if you have to pay for electricity...

The first EU Bitcoin Bank: https://banking.fidor.de/registrierung?ibid=661436

My Favorit BTC exchange: https://www.bitcoin.de/de/r/d6e3n7
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 07:16:36 PM
 #6

Tell me what you know about FPGA devices. The best ones out there produce about 850 mh/s but they cost close to $1000. What are your thoughts on them. Check out the stats about FPGA on the bottom of this page:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Would you use them? Why? Are they worth it?
Any feedback would be nice
-Sasha
Plenty of info available at this very site.

"The best ones out there"

Depends on what you call "best". Seems to me the best ones out there cost over $15,000 USD.

Basically,
- Go with GPUs if you don't care about cost of electricity, heat, cubic meters or noise.

- Go with FPGAs if you want something which might still be able to mine at better than what the electricity costs over the long haul. Oh, and also to reduce those other three issues. (Solar powered is even possible if you want to really get operating cost stingy.)

FPGA caveat: Not yet a mature market / set of suppliers. (Flip side of this is that unit costs might increase after all the design, components procurement and manufacturing issues get shaken out.)
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 11:02:06 AM
 #7

I can't post there yet so I'll post here. Smiley
The topic is: "864 mh/s firmware release - Butterfly Labs"

This is somewhat concerning:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=80497.msg893196#msg893196
"This happens if during the firmware upload something goes wrong ( power failure, device disconnect, etc).
Once this happens, the unit must be re-flashed."

There was no substantial follow-up to this.
Does it mean that:
1) Just "re-flash" again with the software locally,
or
2) Unit must be sent back to Butterfly for a 'factory re-flash'?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!