Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2017, 04:23:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting Connection  (Read 1045 times)
jsttn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 03:09:00 AM
 #1

Hi all,

Sorry for asking a ton of questions on the forum but I'm really excited about my miner! I want to put my miner downstairs in my basement however there's no wired internet connection down there. I would have to buy another modem and pay the additional monthly fee (which I'm not doing...). So is there a way I can either make my wifi into a wired connection (some kind of reverse wireless router) or maybe add wireless to my miner?

Thanks!
1503203027
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503203027

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503203027
Reply with quote  #2

1503203027
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503203027
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503203027

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503203027
Reply with quote  #2

1503203027
Report to moderator
1503203027
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503203027

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503203027
Reply with quote  #2

1503203027
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


1ngldh


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 03:28:52 AM
 #2

Hi all,

Sorry for asking a ton of questions on the forum but I'm really excited about my miner! I want to put my miner downstairs in my basement however there's no wired internet connection down there. I would have to buy another modem and pay the additional monthly fee (which I'm not doing...). So is there a way I can either make my wifi into a wired connection (some kind of reverse wireless router) or maybe add wireless to my miner?

Thanks!
http://www.amazon.com/SANOXY-USB2-0-Wireless-802-11-Adapter/dp/B004I8B8Z6

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
jsttn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 03:32:09 AM
 #3

Hi all,

Sorry for asking a ton of questions on the forum but I'm really excited about my miner! I want to put my miner downstairs in my basement however there's no wired internet connection down there. I would have to buy another modem and pay the additional monthly fee (which I'm not doing...). So is there a way I can either make my wifi into a wired connection (some kind of reverse wireless router) or maybe add wireless to my miner?

Thanks!
http://www.amazon.com/SANOXY-USB2-0-Wireless-802-11-Adapter/dp/B004I8B8Z6

Thanks. Would this work with BAMT?
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


1ngldh


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 03:38:30 AM
 #4

Hi all,

Sorry for asking a ton of questions on the forum but I'm really excited about my miner! I want to put my miner downstairs in my basement however there's no wired internet connection down there. I would have to buy another modem and pay the additional monthly fee (which I'm not doing...). So is there a way I can either make my wifi into a wired connection (some kind of reverse wireless router) or maybe add wireless to my miner?

Thanks!
http://www.amazon.com/SANOXY-USB2-0-Wireless-802-11-Adapter/dp/B004I8B8Z6

Thanks. Would this work with BAMT?
Not sure... wireless might be more of a PITA with BAMT than with other OSes.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 03:41:50 AM
 #5

just find a wireless access point or router which can be put into bridge mode.


Internet ------ Router w/ wifi ................ Router in Bridge mode ---- all your miners.

..... = wifi link
---- = ethernet

As far as BAMT is concerned it is connected via wired ethernet.  No drivers to install, nothing to configure (on the BAMT rigs).
amencon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 411


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 01:49:14 PM
 #6

That's the setup I use and have had no issues with it at all.  If needed I can give you the make/model of the receiving/repeating router with Ethernet ports but it's nothing specialized and can be picked up at any decent electronics store (think I got mine at Fry's).
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
May 16, 2012, 11:33:33 PM
 #7

If your WiFi connection to the basement is stable, you're fine with the proposed wireless bridge.

My miners are also in the basement, but with two concrete floors in between -- resulting in poor or no WLAN connectivity and bad mining performance. I am using a powerline network adapter kit from Devolo (dLan 200 AVmini). One endpoint is connected directly with my cable modem (or ISP router) in my apartment, the other to a network switch in the basement where the various miners are attached to.

Works flawlessly for me. You'll need to check that the current circuit in your basement and your apartment are at the same line.

I personally won't use WiFi for mining - even though I work in the industrial wireless industry (and therefore know why).

amencon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 411


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 01:46:36 AM
 #8

For anyone interested, what I'm using:

http://support.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/13017

At the time I didn't want to wait so I grabbed whatever was available at the store I was in so there is probably better and cheaper similar repeater to be found online.
swissmate
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 11:39:30 AM
 #9

this thread gave me some nice ideas


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 09:46:36 PM
 #10

Quote
I would have to buy another modem and pay the additional monthly fee (which I'm not doing...)
Huh
What additional monthly fee?

Just buy a wireless bridge and done.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!