Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:26:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rate my Rig  (Read 1169 times)
REF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:17:28 PM
 #1

Case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129042 - $60
4x Fans http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103052 - $15
HDD http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148395 - $45
1200W PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817171055 - $240
12GB RAM http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231356 - $115
i5 3.3GHz/Mobo http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.638774 - $380
Radeon 6990 http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=55285&sku=P450-6990 - $735

This is what im getting initially, then i plan on setting up dual 6990 cards in it in about a month.

Also was wondering if im using to strong of a power supply.

1481415993
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415993

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415993
Reply with quote  #2

1481415993
Report to moderator
1481415993
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415993

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415993
Reply with quote  #2

1481415993
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481415993
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415993

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415993
Reply with quote  #2

1481415993
Report to moderator
Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 09:26:46 PM
 #2

The PSU is ok, you can never have enough power there Smiley I would consider a dual PSU setup maybe to get the price down.
The RAM and CPU are completely out of range, you don't need that much, go with the cheapest thing you can find. My Rig with a 5970 and a 5850 uses 1% CPU and 100MB RAM...
Also the HD can be replaced by a memory stick if you're trained with Linux ^^

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
REF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:33:00 PM
 #3

I would set up a dual psu, but im not sure how to, have any advice on how i could, or where i can find how to do so?

Im using 2 sticks of that RAM for my main PC, thats why i purchased so much.
clonedone
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:39:55 PM
 #4

The PSU is ok, you can never have enough power there Smiley I would consider a dual PSU setup maybe to get the price down.
The RAM and CPU are completely out of range, you don't need that much, go with the cheapest thing you can find. My Rig with a 5970 and a 5850 uses 1% CPU and 100MB RAM...
Also the HD can be replaced by a memory stick if you're trained with Linux ^^
1 percent cpu? what miner are you using? im using phoenix with two 6990s @ agression 10 and i get 100 percent

alexdrans
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:40:33 PM
 #5

I would set up a dual psu, but im not sure how to, have any advice on how i could, or where i can find how to do so?

Im using 2 sticks of that RAM for my main PC, thats why i purchased so much.

It's still a huge overkill. A Sempron 140 and 2GB of RAM is enough for a dedicated mining rig.

As for the dual-PSU, it's just like using one psu, except you using two of them... Two power cables, and twice as many connectors inside.

Spend the money you will save on more mining power!
REF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:47:26 PM
 #6

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139005 so 2 of these PSU would work for me?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231180 Im going to get this RAM instead then itll save me $100 dollars i dont mind if its overkill ill have an extra stick if i need it for something else.
Dirt Rider
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:49:30 PM
 #7

You might have issues with the 6990 fitting in that case, it is a really long card.  The following Cooler Master case has a center drive cage that can (and must be) removed to allow 2 6990's to fit: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119233&cm_re=coolermaster_haf-_-11-119-233-_-Product

I just fried this "cheap" 1100W PSU http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3756958 attempting to get it to drive 2 6990's, so you probably made a good choice with the 1200W CoolerMaster.

Make sure you turn around the front case fan(s) because LOTS of hot air will be pooring out the "front" of each 6990 (they vent out both the front and the back of the card).  If you're going to run 2 6990's you might want to consider a full-tower case, otherwise the 2nd card is only about 1 CM away from the bottom mount PSU, a full tower would obviously allow more air-flow.

There's my random thoughts for what their worth (probably not much lol)

SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:50:31 PM
 #8

The PSU is ok, you can never have enough power there Smiley I would consider a dual PSU setup maybe to get the price down.
The RAM and CPU are completely out of range, you don't need that much, go with the cheapest thing you can find. My Rig with a 5970 and a 5850 uses 1% CPU and 100MB RAM...
Also the HD can be replaced by a memory stick if you're trained with Linux ^^
1 percent cpu? what miner are you using? im using phoenix with two 6990s @ agression 10 and i get 100 percent
With dual video cards, you'll have at least one core of your processor maxed out.  With single cards, you'll get 1-2% usage.

Ram is overkill.  Spend $13 on 1GB.
CPU is overkill.  Spend $40 on a single core sempron.
HDD is overkill.  Spend $36 on a 250GB Seagate.

Unless you want a decent computer besides just for mining, then go ahead and spend the extra money on those things.  But you can always buy that stuff later.  Any money saved now means you are closer to that 2nd 6990 that much sooner.
REF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:57:32 PM
 #9

when ever i stop mining i plan on using the parts for another PC thats why i dont mind some of them being overkill.

I took your advice and went for a bigger tower i really wont want anything to over heat. this is what i picked out http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119160

thanks for the help so far
Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 09:58:26 PM
 #10

1 percent cpu? what miner are you using? im using phoenix with two 6990s @ agression 10 and i get 100 percent
With dual video cards, you'll have at least one core of your processor maxed out.  With single cards, you'll get 1-2% usage.
That's probably because you didn't turn off crossfire :-)
The CPU is only used to queue new work to the GPUs (not much of work) and check found difficulty 1 blocks (even less). Just make sure you disable crossfire on all cards and you should be fine :-)

And yes: I use phoenix for the 5970 and DiabloMiner for the 5850 (because it tends to lock up when running with phoenix, and I prefer stable runtime over high but unstable hashrate).

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!