Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:57:38 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoind ubuntu troubleshooting, getting started  (Read 2894 times)
altoid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 10:14:08 PM
 #1

Hi all,

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer me.  I am trying to run bitcoind on ubuntu 10.10.  I've got the tarball from bitcoin.org extracted.  when I run ./bitcoind from the directory it is in, it tells me to define rpcpassword in my .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf.  I create the file and put in rpcpassword=password.  Then when I run ./bitcoind, nothing happens.  The command prompt disappears like it is working on something, but stays that way for minutes upon minutes. I left it for half an hour with no change.  I was able to ctrl+c to get back to the command prompt, though.

One thing I noticed was that a bunch of files were created in my .bitcoin folder including wallet.dat and a database folder.

I've been chewing on this for hours and can't seem to crack it.  The most frustrating part is that I've installed it before in the same way on other machines with no problem.
1480942658
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942658

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942658
Reply with quote  #2

1480942658
Report to moderator
1480942658
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942658

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942658
Reply with quote  #2

1480942658
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480942658
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942658

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942658
Reply with quote  #2

1480942658
Report to moderator
1480942658
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942658

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942658
Reply with quote  #2

1480942658
Report to moderator
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 751


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 10:50:22 PM
 #2

Its working just fine.  bitcoind doesn't fork, so if you were expecting it to just open and go to the next line, you have to specify -daemon.  To access bitcoind, you need to use some kind of rpc client such as Spesmilo, js-ui, or cli access via calling another bitcoind with an rpc command thereafter.

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
altoid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 11:42:30 PM
 #3

I've never had to do what you are describing before.  Usually, it says:

bitcoin server starting

and then gives me the command prompt again
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 11:44:11 PM
 #4

I believe that up to 0.3.19 -daemon was the default behaviour for bitcoind.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
altoid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 11:49:17 PM
 #5

OMG adding -daemon did the trick!  When did THAT change.  I swear, learning to program/server admin is going to make me go grey way too fast!
altoid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 11:59:54 PM
 #6

so is there a line you can add to bitcoin.conf so you don't have to put -daemon in every time?
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 751


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 12:09:12 AM
 #7

so is there a line you can add to bitcoin.conf so you don't have to put -daemon in every time?
daemon should work

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
altoid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 02:06:53 AM
 #8

I tried putting daemon on its own line in bitcoin.conf and I got:

EXCEPTION: N5boost16exception_detail10clone_implINS0_19error_info_injectorINS_15program_op tions14invalid_syntaxEEEEE
unrecognized line in 'daemon'
bitcoin in AppInit()

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'boost::exception_detail::clone_impl<boost::exception_detail::error_info_injector<boost::program_options::invalid_syntax> >'
  what():  unrecognized line in 'daemon'
Aborted

oh well...
Vasili Sviridov
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2011, 06:55:19 AM
 #9

try daemon=true

1JHYtsmsGq2McwGHmWayVjVtHds8rp1R5
altoid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 10:04:38 PM
 #10

try daemon=true
That didn't work either.  Oh well, I don't restart bitcoind much and putting -daemon isn't a big deal.
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 12:58:41 AM
 #11

daemon=1
... is the right syntax for the conf file.

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!