Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2017, 08:17:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: FirstBits + VanityGen  (Read 961 times)
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 12:27:28 AM
 #1

Hi, and sorry that I couldn't figure out where to post this.

Can someone please clear up this problem I'm seeing?
Lets say someone uses firstbits, to come up with something like 1Fwi3gx. From what I see in the VanityGen thread, it would not take long to generate another address with that prefix. What's stopping someone from doing so, in order to receive coins meant for someone else?

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
1484727469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484727469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484727469
Reply with quote  #2

1484727469
Report to moderator
1484727469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484727469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484727469
Reply with quote  #2

1484727469
Report to moderator
1484727469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484727469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484727469
Reply with quote  #2

1484727469
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1484727469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484727469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484727469
Reply with quote  #2

1484727469
Report to moderator
1484727469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484727469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484727469
Reply with quote  #2

1484727469
Report to moderator
1484727469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484727469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484727469
Reply with quote  #2

1484727469
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 12:36:59 AM
 #2

just because you have another address w/ the same prefix it won't have the same firstbit.

The first address starting w/ "1Fwi3gx" might have first bit of "1Fwi3" your 2nd place address might have a first bit of "1Fwi3d".
Nobody looking up "1Fwi3" will ever get anything but the correct address.

If that didn't make sense then just try it yourself and see.  Make 4 addresses have the same prefix.  Send a couple cents to each one and then check their first bits.
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 12:39:58 AM
 #3

Hi, and sorry that I couldn't figure out where to post this.

Can someone please clear up this problem I'm seeing?
Lets say someone uses firstbits, to come up with something like 1Fwi3gx. From what I see in the VanityGen thread, it would not take long to generate another address with that prefix. What's stopping someone from doing so, in order to receive coins meant for someone else?

The oldest address in the blockchain that starts with those firstbits is the one that'll be used.

Busy ATM.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 02:57:44 PM
 #4

Hi, and sorry that I couldn't figure out where to post this.

Can someone please clear up this problem I'm seeing?
Lets say someone uses firstbits, to come up with something like 1Fwi3gx. From what I see in the VanityGen thread, it would not take long to generate another address with that prefix. What's stopping someone from doing so, in order to receive coins meant for someone else?

The oldest address in the blockchain that starts with those firstbits is the one that'll be used.
Yeah, if you use a good firstbits looker-upper. Firstbits.com is major fail when it comes to this, and is often inaccurate. Use blockchain.info.

EDIT: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=75665.msg936807#msg936807

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Phinnaeus Gage
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344


Bitcoin: An Idea Worth Spending


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:14:04 PM
 #5

Hi, and sorry that I couldn't figure out where to post this.

Can someone please clear up this problem I'm seeing?
Lets say someone uses firstbits, to come up with something like 1Fwi3gx. From what I see in the VanityGen thread, it would not take long to generate another address with that prefix. What's stopping someone from doing so, in order to receive coins meant for someone else?

The oldest address in the blockchain that starts with those firstbits is the one that'll be used.
Yeah, if you use a good firstbits looker-upper. Firstbits.com is major fail when it comes to this, and is often inaccurate. Use blockchain.info.

EDIT: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=75665.msg936807#msg936807

There is a simple solution, I believe, to this problem, one of which I will pen shortly.

~Bruno~
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2012, 04:17:23 PM
 #6

Hi, and sorry that I couldn't figure out where to post this.

Can someone please clear up this problem I'm seeing?
Lets say someone uses firstbits, to come up with something like 1Fwi3gx. From what I see in the VanityGen thread, it would not take long to generate another address with that prefix. What's stopping someone from doing so, in order to receive coins meant for someone else?

The oldest address in the blockchain that starts with those firstbits is the one that'll be used.
Yeah, if you use a good firstbits looker-upper. Firstbits.com is major fail when it comes to this, and is often inaccurate. Use blockchain.info.

EDIT: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=75665.msg936807#msg936807

Yes, I'm very sorry. Firstbits.com had some upper/lower case mistakes recently.

It works correctly now. If something still seems wrong please let me know.

Our lookups are often slow also, I suggest you use blockchain.info.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 04:37:58 PM
 #7

Yeah, if you use a good firstbits looker-upper. Firstbits.com is major fail when it comes to this, and is often inaccurate. Use blockchain.info.

EDIT: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=75665.msg936807#msg936807

Yes, I'm very sorry. Firstbits.com had some upper/lower case mistakes recently.

It works correctly now. If something still seems wrong please let me know.

Our lookups are often slow also, I suggest you use blockchain.info.
For my specific instance, I still am seeing the same problem. Does firstbits.com consider the order of a sendmany transaction?

Also, as one who has implemented the firstbits functionality, how hard to you think it would be to build into the satoshi client, and do you think that would be a good idea?

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2012, 05:14:17 PM
 #8

Yeah, if you use a good firstbits looker-upper. Firstbits.com is major fail when it comes to this, and is often inaccurate. Use blockchain.info.

EDIT: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=75665.msg936807#msg936807

Yes, I'm very sorry. Firstbits.com had some upper/lower case mistakes recently.

It works correctly now. If something still seems wrong please let me know.

Our lookups are often slow also, I suggest you use blockchain.info.
For my specific instance, I still am seeing the same problem. Does firstbits.com consider the order of a sendmany transaction?

Also, as one who has implemented the firstbits functionality, how hard to you think it would be to build into the satoshi client, and do you think that would be a good idea?

I actually have no technical skill at all. I just had the idea and got SgtSpike to implement it. The blockchain.info implementation was done separately.

I'll find out about sendmany and let people know.

I do not think integration into the main client is a good idea. Firstbits is risky, a typo costs real money. Satoshi integration is too much of an endorsement for new users to start using it without really thinking about it.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!