Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:32:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [WTS] MONSTER 4x PCIe 16x Quad Istanbul Mobo in 4U Supermicro case 3x 1000W PS  (Read 2272 times)
E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
May 19, 2012, 03:54:59 AM
 #1

[edited to add pics and mention heatsinks]
BTC PREFERRED!!

I have a few really beautiful almost-new barebones (no CPU/RAM) systems that I have for offer. If you would like to buy two or more, PM me for price break

Gallery is at http://imgur.com/a/1KWF9

Asking 85BTC for the cases, 40BTC for the mobos, and 25BTC per extra power supply installed (one included); I'll include four all-copper Socket F coolers with each case.
(These are ~$675, ~$450, and ~$250 new, respectively)
I'll include four all-copper Socket F coolers with each case.
All offers considered.


"Almost new" because they are unused (no dust inside, plastic wrap still on the handles) but the top panels of the cases were scratched up in storage. Detailed photos of the condition available upon request.

These cases are really beautiful and are true dual use tower/rack cases. The fans are all large diameter and quiet(ish) and Supermicro sells a tower conversion kit with feet. Mine come with the rails installed (but not the rail receivers). All five drive sleds are included along with four dummy drives (for airflow management).

These cases typically come with two of the three PS hotswap bays occupied, but I have enough power supplies to sell them with 1, 2, or 3 as you choose; 3025BTC for each additional power supply (not bad for 1000W ABLECOM Smiley  

Note the Tyan page specs only quad-core opterons but if you flash the S4985 with BIOS version 3.02, you can turn it into a S4985-SI, making it compatible with Shanghai and Istanbul processors, because the HT can now clock higher than 1000MHz.
1480876354
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876354

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876354
Reply with quote  #2

1480876354
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480876354
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876354

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876354
Reply with quote  #2

1480876354
Report to moderator
1480876354
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876354

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876354
Reply with quote  #2

1480876354
Report to moderator
1480876354
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876354

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876354
Reply with quote  #2

1480876354
Report to moderator
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 19, 2012, 06:08:13 AM
 #2

OK...wait a sec.

So you are saying that this BIOS Flash is guarunteed to work ? as in, You have done it previously ?
...and I can then stuff 4x Opteron 2419 EE (40W Istanbul 6-Core) CPUs into this thing and it will be good to go ?
...for 24 threads of Socket F/1207 Opteron-creamy-goodness running the HyperTransport Bus @ 2400Mhz ?

Where are you located ? Where are you shipping from ?

E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
May 19, 2012, 06:47:16 AM
 #3

OK...wait a sec.

So you are saying that this BIOS Flash is guarunteed to work ? as in, You have done it previously ?

Very astute question Cheesy I have done it to _one_ machine from this batch with the same part number on the mobo as all of the others, and booted _one_ 8435. I will note that I couldn't run at DDR2-800 with all of that processor's DIMM slots occupied, but lower speeds worked as did lower populations.

Others have reported success, and Tyan representatives have posted things like "The latest bios for your board is 3.02" in response to questions about the S4985 (non -E, non -SI): http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=137977.

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/439856-post108.html reports it working with his S4985 (can't check cpu right now; the site is temporarily down) and reports that it allows HT overclocking which results in cpu overclocking!

Also note that with a M4985 riser you can put another 4 cpus and 128GB of ram in there Smiley


Quote
...and I can then stuff 4x Opteron 2419 EE (40W Istanbul 6-Core) CPUs into this thing and it will be good to go ?
...for 24 threads of Socket F/1207 Opteron-creamy-goodness running the HyperTransport Bus @ 2400Mhz ?

Where are you located ? Where are you shipping from ?

I'm in the pacific northwest and would ship from there; if you'd like to try with a specific processor configuration at your site we can arrange for that by shipping just the mobo, or having you ship us the processors (we could do a BTC transfer to you as deposit in this case, or cross ship another of the motherboards). The case is 90lbs so I don't think we should ship it back and forth to test processors Smiley 

If you're interested in this, let me know what we can do to make you feel comfortable about the transaction. Trusted escrow party, etc.

Thanks for the questions!
E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
May 19, 2012, 06:50:21 AM
 #4

OH! One thing I noticed:



...and I can then stuff 4x Opteron 2419 EE (40W Istanbul 6-Core) CPUs into this thing and it will be good to go ?
Where are you located ? Where are you shipping from ?

The 2419 is a 2-socket chip :\
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 19, 2012, 07:03:34 AM
 #5

OH! One thing I noticed:



...and I can then stuff 4x Opteron 2419 EE (40W Istanbul 6-Core) CPUs into this thing and it will be good to go ?
Where are you located ? Where are you shipping from ?

The 2419 is a 2-socket chip :\

I know.
I was referring to the Istanbul Socket F/1207, not the Lisbon Socket C32/1207.

Or did you mean it's only 2-way and not 4-way capable ?


Perhaps I have been on the LGA1366 Xeon bandwagon for too long and have no idea what chips I should look for....LOL

This screwed me up...
http://www.cpu-world.com/step_codes/C/CCAED%20CA.html

I understand it only supports a 2-way setup.
Back to the drawing board....lol

E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
May 19, 2012, 07:11:24 AM
 #6

I know.
I was referring to the Istanbul Socket F/1207, not the Lisbon Socket C32/1207.

Or did you mean it's only 2-way and not 4-way capable ?

Yeah -- the 8xxx Opterons are 8-way capable, while the 2xxx are 2-way. There may be ways (ha) around this limitation, but that's beyond my ken.

There are some pretty good deals on 45nm 8xxx on ebay, though! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_Opteron_microprocessors is fairly up-to-date and this board supports (to the best of my knowledge) any of the Socket Fs.
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 19, 2012, 07:18:16 AM
 #7

OK. I am on the right track again and found cheap CPUs....lol

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/NEW-AMD-Opteron-Quad-Core-8378-2-4GHz-OS8378WAL4DGI-CPU-/130571363924?pt=CPUs&hash=item1e66a8e654#ht_680wt_1396

I will start THERE and see if I can find anything better.

As long as you can confirm that it will support Shanghai and Istanbul and not be limited to 1000Mhz HyperTransport Bus Speeds....and I can find kickass CPUs for under $100/each and 4 matching, I may very well be interested in a setup to play around with.

E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
May 19, 2012, 09:05:32 PM
 #8

OK. I am on the right track again and found cheap CPUs....lol
Cheesy That's not bad on the 8378s; I may pick up four of them to put in one of the systems I keep!
Quote
As long as you can confirm that it will support Shanghai and Istanbul and not be limited to 1000Mhz HyperTransport Bus Speeds....and I can find kickass CPUs for under $100/each and 4 matching, I may very well be interested in a setup to play around with.

Here's a thread with four Istanbuls running on a part number that matches my boards: http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=521&t=137455#p184764

I've put together a picture set so you can verify the part number and take a look at the cases. The part number is shown in picture 14:

http://imgur.com/a/1KWF9

I should mention that I'll include four all-copper Socket F coolers with each case.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!