Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 07:15:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Fixed NVIDIA GTX 970/980 bad XMR / X11 hashing performance  (Read 10636 times)
DES_MX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
October 15, 2014, 06:32:25 PM
 #1

I found why the NVIDIA GTX 970/980 shows such bad performance in mining (one of the reasons).
When running 3D games it enters P0 state (highest performance), when running Miners (CCMiner) it enters P2 state only. Specifically, the core goes to P0 but memory stays at P2, which means the memory never goes past 3000Mhz (6Ghz effective). So you're stuck with +-500hash.

Here's how to fix this:

1. download NVIDIA Inspector 1.9.7.3
2. click overcloicking
3. choose Performance Level[2] - (P2)
4. Click top right corner - Unlock Max
5. Move memory slider to 4000Mhz to start with (stable for me!)
6. Run your normal MSI Afterburner / Precision X and set your OC clocks for CORE
7. Run ccminer and enjoy your new kickass hash... well not really kickass, but I'm getting +-625 hash now. Power usage in MSI afterburner howers between 66-67%, so knowing TDP of 160W the card uses around 105-110W / 625 Hash! Bingo.

You welcome

P.S. This is for the GTX 980 obviously

P.P.S. For whomever is interested - this also makes the card get 7600 Khash in X11 mining without any CCminer tweaks, just 1500core /8000mem settings and +0.075volt
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513624515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513624515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513624515
Reply with quote  #2

1513624515
Report to moderator
1513624515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513624515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513624515
Reply with quote  #2

1513624515
Report to moderator
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 15, 2014, 08:28:02 PM
 #2

What kind of numbers is the 980 pulling with XMR?
djm34
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2014, 02:35:31 AM
 #3

aaaahhh I can't go past 3506MH/s on my evga card in p2

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
DES_MX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 07:21:43 AM
 #4

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only
BitcoinHeroes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368



View Profile
October 16, 2014, 01:17:12 PM
 #5

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?
MTJ151
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 09:35:20 PM
 #6

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.
Klubknuckle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 289


View Profile
October 17, 2014, 02:51:30 AM
 #7

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.

If I understand correctly gtx 980 is using the old nm chip. So the benefit shouldn't be so much...

djm34
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2014, 09:46:24 AM
 #8

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.

If I understand correctly gtx 980 is using the old nm chip. So the benefit shouldn't be so much...
twice the hashrate of the 780ti on keccak.... yep not much

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
Handofmidas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
October 17, 2014, 11:46:45 AM
 #9

Have the Gigabyte GTX 970 OC and can't go above 3500 using the method you describe. If I go higher, it will automatically setback to 3000.
djm34
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2014, 12:03:16 PM
 #10

Have the Gigabyte GTX 970 OC and can't go above 3500 using the method you describe. If I go higher, it will automatically setback to 3000.
same here with evga... apparently this method only works for some brand...
I think that would require to mod the bios to allow that.

edit: actually the real solution is to get the miners to run at p0 state level (I need to look into this and see what triggers this... )

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 17, 2014, 04:04:49 PM
 #11

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


Is that with a 970 or 980?
Kimowa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
October 18, 2014, 03:41:49 AM
 #12

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.

If I understand correctly gtx 980 is using the old nm chip. So the benefit shouldn't be so much...
twice the hashrate of the 780ti on keccak.... yep not much

and the price is like triple...

DES_MX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
October 19, 2014, 12:53:25 AM
 #13

I'm running gtx 980 by EVGA, it's the SuperClocked stock cooler model. I set core through msi afterburner to +150; power to 125%; voltage to +.085volt; then launch nvinspector go to p2 and set mem to 4000mhz. No magic here guys, just simple OC. Then in gpu-z after launching cc miner you can see 1500core/8000mem(4000x2). And I'm sure it's not even closely optimized, cause power usage never goes even to 100% of TDP
DES_MX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
October 19, 2014, 12:56:07 AM
 #14

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.

If I understand correctly gtx 980 is using the old nm chip. So the benefit shouldn't be so much...
twice the hashrate of the 780ti on keccak.... yep not much

and the price is like triple...

Triple of 780ti?? I'd say roughly same unless you meant 750ti
Kimowa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
October 19, 2014, 12:59:23 AM
 #15

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.

If I understand correctly gtx 980 is using the old nm chip. So the benefit shouldn't be so much...
twice the hashrate of the 780ti on keccak.... yep not much

and the price is like triple...

Triple of 780ti?? I'd say roughly same unless you meant 750ti

Yes triple of 750ti. Do you think its worth buying 980?

Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722


Zabercoin – An Asset Backed Cryptocurrency


View Profile
October 19, 2014, 09:35:51 AM
 #16

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.

If I understand correctly gtx 980 is using the old nm chip. So the benefit shouldn't be so much...
twice the hashrate of the 780ti on keccak.... yep not much

and the price is like triple...

Triple of 780ti?? I'd say roughly same unless you meant 750ti

Yes triple of 750ti. Do you think its worth buying 980?

no unless you can find it at 400-450 euro, the same for 970, current price is op, 320 euro would be fine

THE FUTURE OF
REAL ESTATE
..

║║
║║
║║
▬▬ ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ● ● ▬▬

║║
║║
║║
antonio8
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
October 19, 2014, 02:04:55 PM
 #17

I'm running gtx 980 by EVGA, it's the SuperClocked stock cooler model. I set core through msi afterburner to +150; power to 125%; voltage to +.085volt; then launch nvinspector go to p2 and set mem to 4000mhz. No magic here guys, just simple OC. Then in gpu-z after launching cc miner you can see 1500core/8000mem(4000x2). And I'm sure it's not even closely optimized, cause power usage never goes even to 100% of TDP

Weird for me then because I can't get my EVGA 970 SC to take any overclock on Memory.

No matter what I do the card resets to stock value. Wonder if the bios is locked like mentioned above.

If you are going to leave your BTC on an exchange please send it to this address instead 1GH3ub3UUHbU5qDJW5u3E9jZ96ZEmzaXtG, I will at least use the money better than someone who steals it from the exchange. Thanks Wink
Gumbork
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585



View Profile
October 20, 2014, 07:11:36 AM
 #18

I'm running gtx 980 by EVGA, it's the SuperClocked stock cooler model. I set core through msi afterburner to +150; power to 125%; voltage to +.085volt; then launch nvinspector go to p2 and set mem to 4000mhz. No magic here guys, just simple OC. Then in gpu-z after launching cc miner you can see 1500core/8000mem(4000x2). And I'm sure it's not even closely optimized, cause power usage never goes even to 100% of TDP

Weird for me then because I can't get my EVGA 970 SC to take any overclock on Memory.

No matter what I do the card resets to stock value. Wonder if the bios is locked like mentioned above.

Are you having the latest driver?


              ▄
            ▄███▄
          ▄███████▄
   ▄▄▄    █
█████████
   ███
    ███████████▄
██    ████    ████████▄
      ████    ██████████
  ████    ████▀██████████
  ████    ██▀   ▀█████████▄
      █████       █████████▄
      ███▀         ▀████████
  ██████▀           ▀███████
  █████▀             ▀█████
   ████ █▄▄▄     ▄▄▄█ ████
    ███ ▀███████████▀ ███
     ▀▀█▄ █████████ ▄█▀▀
        ▀▀▄▄ ▀▀▀ ▄▄▀▀
●●
●●
●●
●●
●●
●●
|●  facebook
●  reddit
●  ann thread
|
█ ██
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██

██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
█ ██ █
██ █
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764


Miner Developer


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 10:31:32 AM
 #19

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.

Current AMD brings it just fine.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
ScryptAsic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


XUVcoin.com 🔴 1200% ROI Masternode


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 01:31:39 PM
 #20

625 hash on XMR. Using 67% tdp only


How much watt is 67%? Do you have a watt-o-meter?

I think he answered this in the OP. 105-110W's.

This is quite good I think. Better Hash per watt then my 280x's anyway :/

I wonder what the new AMD cards will bring.

Current AMD brings it just fine.

Hopefully the next upcoming amd is much better for mining..
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!