Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:27:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Whos Achronix and why do they have a 22nm 1.1m LUT chip?  (Read 4396 times)
dan99
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
April 10, 2013, 09:00:37 AM
 #21

how many hash could this chips run? 22nm should be fast and low cost power consumption, lets hope the price is reasonable lol ......... Smiley
1480847232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847232
Reply with quote  #2

1480847232
Report to moderator
1480847232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847232
Reply with quote  #2

1480847232
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480847232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847232
Reply with quote  #2

1480847232
Report to moderator
1480847232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847232
Reply with quote  #2

1480847232
Report to moderator
DarkPunk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


Infinite ∞


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 09:12:27 AM
 #22

how many hash could this chips run? 22nm should be fast and low cost power consumption, lets hope the price is reasonable lol ......... Smiley

Any guess on hash rates right now would be pure speculation based solely on the chips specs.  Can I say they will be better than Spartan6's? Most certainly.  Will they be worth the price? I guess we will find out, huh?

If you have an questions, or are confused about anything, PM me. I'll try my best to help you out.
nathanrees19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 10, 2013, 11:13:28 AM
 #23

how many hash could this chips run? 22nm should be fast and low cost power consumption, lets hope the price is reasonable lol ......... Smiley

Wild speculation: They can probably fit 5 hashing cores and run faster than a spartan 6...maybe 1 to 2 gh/s in total. Could be way off. Hard to guess about the power usage.

They might be worth it, if they're cheap and the btc price stays high.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2013, 11:43:56 AM
 #24

how many hash could this chips run? 22nm should be fast and low cost power consumption, lets hope the price is reasonable lol ......... Smiley

Wild speculation: They can probably fit 5 hashing cores and run faster than a spartan 6...maybe 1 to 2 gh/s in total. Could be way off. Hard to guess about the power usage.

They might be worth it, if they're cheap and the btc price stays high.

Well, you'd use rolled cores n this. So you potentially have hundreds of cores on this chip.

DarkPunk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


Infinite ∞


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 05:59:21 PM
 #25

Quote
The development board is $13k and includes the software as well to do a complete design. Regarding the cost of silicon, that of course depends on your volumes and schedule. Unit pricing in $3190. Please let me know your volumes and I can provide a budgetary quote.
 
For my records, if you can provide me with your company name and website, I would appreciate it.
 
Regards,
Ken

Achronix's response on price points.

If you have an questions, or are confused about anything, PM me. I'll try my best to help you out.
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 06:38:59 PM
 #26

This chip is not going to hash well. For each 10 LUTs there is only two 2bit hardware adders with carry chains. Ordinary LUTs don't have carry chains. In Spartan 6 at least half of LUTs had carry chains, and this is very important to build fast adders, and those adders comsumes most of the logic resourses when used in SHA256 algorithm... Cheaper and better (in term of price/performance ratio) should be Atrix7's.

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
papamoi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 01:42:17 AM
 #27

hi guys,

i ve discussed with one of their representative and he said that basically it would be possible to run 7 instances of the spartan equivalent instances in their chip.beside that the clock speed is around 600/700mhz so it would get better speed than the spartan6(wich is running at 50mhz if i m not wrong)

so basically he said the speed of this fgpa could be X87 times better than the spartan6

any of you who have technical background in fgpa can confirm this?

and another question, is there any chips similar to the achronix one with the other competitors,altera,xylinx or lattice?

thank you guys
fpgaminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile WWW
April 11, 2013, 06:01:15 AM
 #28

Quote
so it would get better speed than the spartan6(wich is running at 50mhz if i m not wrong)
200mhz is the current figure (without manual placement).

Quote
beside that the clock speed is around 600/700mhz
It's unlikely the rep meant 600/700mhz for the hashing designs; he probably meant that the fabric itself can run at 600/700mhz.  In other words, the registers and block ram will run at 700mhz, but any complex logic will run much slower.  For reference, the Kintex 7 fabric runs around 500mhz, but that doesn't mean a CLB based miner would run at 500mhz (more like 300).

Quote
basically it would be possible to run 7 instances of the spartan equivalent instances in their chip
Looking at just the LUT count, I would agree with the rep, and I imagine they did the same (look at the LUT count).  However, as Dexter770221 mentioned, performance could be much worse if their FPGAs are sparse in terms of carry chains.

At $3k per chip, I don't personally see a good performance/$ here.  It just sounds a lot like a Virtex/Stratix chip.

papamoi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 08:43:47 AM
 #29

Quote
so it would get better speed than the spartan6(wich is running at 50mhz if i m not wrong)
200mhz is the current figure (without manual placement).

Quote
beside that the clock speed is around 600/700mhz
It's unlikely the rep meant 600/700mhz for the hashing designs; he probably meant that the fabric itself can run at 600/700mhz.  In other words, the registers and block ram will run at 700mhz, but any complex logic will run much slower.  For reference, the Kintex 7 fabric runs around 500mhz, but that doesn't mean a CLB based miner would run at 500mhz (more like 300).

Quote
basically it would be possible to run 7 instances of the spartan equivalent instances in their chip
Looking at just the LUT count, I would agree with the rep, and I imagine they did the same (look at the LUT count).  However, as Dexter770221 mentioned, performance could be much worse if their FPGAs are sparse in terms of carry chains.

At $3k per chip, I don't personally see a good performance/$ here.  It just sounds a lot like a Virtex/Stratix chip.

so x87 Would not be realistic?

what would be the realistic speed we could probably get out of it?

i was having in mind to make run these chips in on pcb with multiple FGPA on it and get some interesting output

what do you think?

thanks
BenTuras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 12:27:43 PM
 #30

http://investorshangout.com/post/614814/SANTA-CLARA-CA-Marketwire--Feb-20-2013--Ac

"The HD1000 development kit is available for purchase immediately at a price of $13,000, including ACE development software."

 Shocked

I am selling in stock OneStringMiner boards, based on the Bitfury chips. Have a look here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=495536.0
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 10:21:12 AM
 #31

And propably lack of free software. I didn't see any free oferings from them. And tools like that costs 1000's of $.

Is their place and route software expensive (not counting 3rd party synthesis and timing analysis tools)
Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
April 14, 2013, 04:32:23 PM
 #32

And propably lack of free software. I didn't see any free oferings from them. And tools like that costs 1000's of $.

Is their place and route software expensive (not counting 3rd party synthesis and timing analysis tools)

It's included in their dev kit, which is $13000. Other vendors charge about 3 grand for their software, the Achronix FPGA costs about 3 grand - thus, I'd say, Achronix charges you more for the software, basically 9 grand or so. Do the math.
papamoi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 04:44:17 PM
 #33

one of their representative in europe said me that the software will be free for now

the only issue is that their chips have not finished all the due tests so you can have the chips but you will be the one who will test it with all the bugs etc.

so this is not ideal fgpa to use right not ,not only the dev board +chip is expensive but because there is lack of docs because it s a new product(first people have just start to dev on the chips last end feb/beginning march)


i think kintex7 could be more interesting as multiple instances equivalent to spartan 6 could be implemented.

does any one have the kintex7 and could do the implementation to confirm this?

i could be interested in several if they give 2/3 giga per chips and even hire soemone to work on pcb for this for big quantity

thanks
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 06:40:24 PM
 #34

i could be interested in several if they give 2/3 giga per chips and even hire soemone to work on pcb for this for big quantity

The XC7K480T would probably do that, but I would assume that it's not cheap...
papamoi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 07:24:40 PM
 #35

i could be interested in several if they give 2/3 giga per chips and even hire soemone to work on pcb for this for big quantity

The XC7K480T would probably do that, but I would assume that it's not cheap...

3800 usd for one chip

need to check in big quantitiy but i think it won t do

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!