Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:23:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Whos Achronix and why do they have a 22nm 1.1m LUT chip?  (Read 4399 times)
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2012, 03:49:59 AM
 #1

http://www.achronix.com/products/speedster22ihd.html
http://www.achronix.com/products/speedster22ihd/hd-summary.html

I wonder what the approximate mh/w here is.

1480868603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868603
Reply with quote  #2

1480868603
Report to moderator
1480868603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868603
Reply with quote  #2

1480868603
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480868603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868603
Reply with quote  #2

1480868603
Report to moderator
Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
May 21, 2012, 04:37:39 AM
 #2

They have access to Intel 22 nm foundries. The deal probably works somewhat like this: Achronix has a minimum guaranteed number of monthly wafers, and an option to run more wafers in case Intel does not need the full fab capacity. For both parties, this is a win-win situation.
stcupp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 21, 2012, 04:53:22 AM
 #3

 Achronix was founded in 2004 by researchers at Cornell University who wanted to push the performance limits of FPGAs and change this estimated $3bn market, challenging the market leaders Xilinx and Altera.

FPGAs are, as the name suggests, malleable and can be rejiggered to change their basic functions in ways that an ASIC cannot. It might take $30m or $40m to develop an ASIC to do a particular job — say, support the Ethernet or InfiniBand protocols — and if you make a mistake, you cannot erase and go back.

For very high volume products — with hundreds of thousands to millions of units where the cost per unit has to be low — you want an ASIC. But in places where you need a chip that might only require thousands to tens of thousands of units to satisfy an entire market, an FPGA, while more expensive to buy, is better because it is less expensive to make and is correctable in a way that an ASIC is not.

According to Greg Martin, a spokesman for the FPGA maker, Achronix can compete with Xilinx and Altera because it has, at 1.5GHz in its current Speedster1 line, the fastest such chips on the market. And by moving to Intel's 22nm technology, the company could have ramped up the clock speed to 3GHz.

By the way, the goal is to bring the cost of that 1 million LUT FPGA down to around $400 a pop when they start shipping in the fourth quarter of 2011. FPGAs sell for $1,000 and higher today, depending on features.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2012, 04:58:50 AM
 #4

Achronix was founded in 2004 by researchers at Cornell University who wanted to push the performance limits of FPGAs and change this estimated $3bn market, challenging the market leaders Xilinx and Altera.

FPGAs are, as the name suggests, malleable and can be rejiggered to change their basic functions in ways that an ASIC cannot. It might take $30m or $40m to develop an ASIC to do a particular job — say, support the Ethernet or InfiniBand protocols — and if you make a mistake, you cannot erase and go back.

For very high volume products — with hundreds of thousands to millions of units where the cost per unit has to be low — you want an ASIC. But in places where you need a chip that might only require thousands to tens of thousands of units to satisfy an entire market, an FPGA, while more expensive to buy, is better because it is less expensive to make and is correctable in a way that an ASIC is not.

According to Greg Martin, a spokesman for the FPGA maker, Achronix can compete with Xilinx and Altera because it has, at 1.5GHz in its current Speedster1 line, the fastest such chips on the market. And by moving to Intel's 22nm technology, the company could have ramped up the clock speed to 3GHz.

By the way, the goal is to bring the cost of that 1 million LUT FPGA down to around $400 a pop when they start shipping in the fourth quarter of 2011. FPGAs sell for $1,000 and higher today, depending on features.

So, someone please answer me: Why is there not an Achronix FPGA sitting on my desk mining at like 1 ghash on a single chip on like 10 watt?

Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
May 21, 2012, 05:04:12 AM
 #5

Because they haven't been released yet. They do have in-house prototypes, but still a lot of validation ahead of them prior to release.
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
May 21, 2012, 07:14:45 AM
 #6

So, someone please answer me: Why is there not an Achronix FPGA sitting on my desk mining at like 1 ghash on a single chip on like 10 watt?
And propably lack of free software. I didn't see any free oferings from them. And tools like that costs 1000's of $.
Oh, I've read somewhere that they have bought 1% of Intel 22nm fab production.

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
ice_chill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
May 21, 2012, 08:04:55 PM
 #7

Is BFL obsolete already ?
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2012, 08:23:09 PM
 #8

Is BFL obsolete already ?

Arguably they were obsolete before they even came out. BFL has been purposely finding solutions that are very cheap per mhash, not highest efficiency, and generally thats been done with hardware no one wanted anymore.

BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
May 21, 2012, 09:33:46 PM
 #9

Quote
Arguably they were obsolete before they even came out. BFL has been purposely finding solutions that are very cheap per mhash, not highest efficiency, and generally thats been done with hardware no one wanted anymore.

So then GPUs are obsolete too?

The only thing that is obsolete on bfls is that u had to wait so long for them to arrive.

I consider buying one of those units before thinking of building a 7970 Miner.


Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2012, 10:24:42 PM
 #10

Is BFL obsolete already ?

They have fair products. Don't expect them to lean back and sleep. It's a fast moving game and nobody stays on top very long.

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2012, 10:36:19 PM
 #11

Obsolete?  Man, if so, show me another product that does more for less!  Otherwise, you'd be hard pressed to define them as obsolete.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
PeanutPower
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89



View Profile
April 10, 2013, 01:38:14 AM
 #12

update - their site says "now shipping" does that mean anything useful to the hobbyist? Anyone ordered a dev board Tongue ?
DarkPunk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


Infinite ∞


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 02:03:04 AM
 #13

Thanks for the heads up, just about to send an email for a HD1000 Dev Board.

I already have 6 Spartan6x150's on their way, but damn.

If you have an questions, or are confused about anything, PM me. I'll try my best to help you out.
rttnpig]
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 02:44:10 AM
 #14

Ive also contacted them.

Thanks for the heads up, just about to send an email for a HD1000 Dev Board.

I already have 6 Spartan6x150's on their way, but damn.

Whats the direct link??

DarkPunk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


Infinite ∞


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 03:25:02 AM
 #15

Ive also contacted them.

Thanks for the heads up, just about to send an email for a HD1000 Dev Board.

I already have 6 Spartan6x150's on their way, but damn.

Whats the direct link??



Their Contact Form: http://www.achronix.com/company/contact-us.html

I'm already in contact with a rep from them named Ken, setting up to by a dev board, then possibly some HD1500 22i's.

If you have an questions, or are confused about anything, PM me. I'll try my best to help you out.
Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
April 10, 2013, 03:49:17 AM
 #16

Ive also contacted them.

Thanks for the heads up, just about to send an email for a HD1000 Dev Board.

I already have 6 Spartan6x150's on their way, but damn.

Whats the direct link??



Their Contact Form: http://www.achronix.com/company/contact-us.html

I'm already in contact with a rep from them named Ken, setting up to by a dev board, then possibly some HD1500 22i's.

Does anyone have a price quote for the dev board yet?
And/or the FPGA itself?
DarkPunk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


Infinite ∞


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 03:54:17 AM
 #17

Ive also contacted them.

Thanks for the heads up, just about to send an email for a HD1000 Dev Board.

I already have 6 Spartan6x150's on their way, but damn.

Whats the direct link??



Their Contact Form: http://www.achronix.com/company/contact-us.html

I'm already in contact with a rep from them named Ken, setting up to by a dev board, then possibly some HD1500 22i's.

Does anyone have a price quote for the dev board yet?
And/or the FPGA itself?

Nothing back from their rep just yet, but looking at the specs on the chips, they would make killer hashers, but I expect a price point north of $1,500/chip based on the specs.

If you have an questions, or are confused about anything, PM me. I'll try my best to help you out.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2013, 07:31:13 AM
 #18

I guess it depends entirely on how well they hash to see if they're worth the money.

IMakeComps
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36



View Profile
April 10, 2013, 08:02:13 AM
 #19

Any devs willing to write mining software for these chips?
DarkPunk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


Infinite ∞


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 08:10:13 AM
 #20

Any devs willing to write mining software for these chips?

I feel like that's a bridge better left crossed after we at least get a price point.

If you have an questions, or are confused about anything, PM me. I'll try my best to help you out.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!