Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2017, 05:16:42 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 Ati cards  (Read 2089 times)
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 10:34:10 PM
 #1

If im mining with 2 ati cards, do I put on the crossfire bridge between the two cards, and do I enable crossfire? Or just run the two cards as separate workers?
1495689402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495689402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495689402
Reply with quote  #2

1495689402
Report to moderator
POLONIEX TRADING SIGNALS
+50% Profit and more via TELEGRAM
ALTCOINTRADER.CO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495689402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495689402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495689402
Reply with quote  #2

1495689402
Report to moderator
1495689402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495689402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495689402
Reply with quote  #2

1495689402
Report to moderator
1495689402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495689402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495689402
Reply with quote  #2

1495689402
Report to moderator
keybaud
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 11:04:38 PM
 #2

If im mining with 2 ati cards, do I put on the crossfire bridge between the two cards, and do I enable crossfire? Or just run the two cards as separate workers?

6 million posts already talking about this, but I'll answer it anyway and kindly request that you use the search function next time.

If you use Linux you don't need to Crossfire and the OS will see and use both cards.

If you use Windows you don't need to use Crossfire, but Windows won't see the second card unless it thinks there is a monitor on it. This can be spoofed using a VGA dummy plug. http://www.geeks3d.com/20091230/vga-hack-how-to-make-a-vga-dummy-plug/

I have 3 ATI cards all running on Windows without Crossfire.
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 01:03:39 AM
 #3

ok... but will crossfire increase or reduce mining speed compared to not using crossfire? or is there no difference? In which case is there any reason for me to use or not use crossfire...
NghtRppr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 01:07:55 AM
 #4

ok... but will crossfire increase or reduce mining speed compared to not using crossfire? or is there no difference? In which case is there any reason for me to use or not use crossfire...

There's no difference. The only difference is in the cost between the dummy plugs and the crossfire bridge.
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 02:09:16 AM
 #5

I thought all ATI cards come with a bridge... mine did anyway, so I should just use the bridge then?
keybaud
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 12:39:10 PM
 #6

Not tested personally, but others state that Crossfire reduces the MH/s when compared to individual cards.
melter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 04:23:29 PM
 #7

interesting, can anyone confirm/deny?
icaci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 04:43:35 PM
 #8

I can confirm that CrossFire affected mining speed on my 2x5870 rig. With CF bridges installed and CF enabled hashing speeds used to vary wildly between the two cards. Now I run with CF disabled and CF bridges removed but had to connect both cards to a KVM switch since I'm too lazy to go to the store and buy 6 resistors. Hashing speed is now constant and equal on both cards. I mine with Phoenix with phatk kernel and both 5870's run at 935/320.

One side note: CPU usage is at 100% under Windows, no matter if CF is on or off.

1KaohAcY7Zjq7eVa8WvVGrVnry3CqgkcmH
ataranlen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 846


The One and Only


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 05:22:15 PM
 #9

The crossfire bridge can make windows see both cards without the use of dummy plugs. so If you've already got the crossfire bridge, use that.

MineTexas.com Minecraft Server We accept Bitcoin and Dogecoin.
Deepbit on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Deepbit/151108048294815
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!