Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:49:17 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire 5850 dummy plugs?  (Read 9713 times)
keybaud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 10:24:33 AM
 #41

So why does everyone use three resistors when I hear that just one works fine?  Or is that the reason that elcasey's card blew - he was just using one, so it was an uneven resistance load on the card between the three channels?

It shouldn't make a difference whether you do it on DVI or VGA - they use the same wires, VGA just extends and reorganizes them.

3 resistors is needed when you use a DVI-VGA adapter.  1 resister is needed if you plug the resistor directly into the graphics card.


Here is the guide to the 3 resistor dummy plug.  

http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html

Not true. You only need 1 resistor in either case. HDMI plugs have analogue outputs as well as digital ones. The converter just converts the connection type from HDMI to standard VGA.

All you are doing is putting a resistor across the Red or the Green or the Blue channel (or all 3 if you use 3 resistors). These are the same channels at the HDMI output as the VGA output on the converter.
1480772957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772957
Reply with quote  #2

1480772957
Report to moderator
1480772957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772957
Reply with quote  #2

1480772957
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480772957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772957
Reply with quote  #2

1480772957
Report to moderator
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:43:11 AM
 #42

How do you know if the dummy plug is working or not?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:45:50 AM
 #43

How do you know if the dummy plug is working or not?

You'll be able to see the second card as a valid OpenCL device without having to plug a monitor into it.


IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:48:57 AM
 #44

So do you need one dummy plug for each card? Someone else said you can just do 1st card for 1/2 and the 3rd card for 3/4.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:13:13 AM
 #45

So do you need one dummy plug for each card? Someone else said you can just do 1st card for 1/2 and the 3rd card for 3/4.

You only need dummy plugs for secondary displays/cards. What I mean by that is that there will be one card that is always active as the system display card. That one does not get turned off by the drivers when no monitor is connected to it.

I dunno about 3rd card for 3/4..I never tried it with 3 cards. I do use two cards per system so I use the dummy plug on the second card.

RobertRibbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 09:50:53 PM
 #46

I'm selling dummy plugs for .8 BTC each or 6 for 4BTC. Free shipping in US.

Send Coins to 12h4UCpyxpEzKcQZMifXNyEAqRM17i4JY1

PM me with your mailing address and amount sent

lol. a price war for dummy plugs is about to start Wink





Do either of you give discounts for buying more than one at a time? I imagine shipping would be a fixed cost... Smiley

.8 BTC or 6 for 4BTC.. Shipping is free in US .5BTC Canada should do unless you order > 24... Grin

Dafishman

how about no shipping period

anyone ever get what they ordered from this guy ??
three wks now and a couple bit coins later

no delivery ... no pm ... took the money & ran

Please "Clear your browser cookies" then use http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/3360 to Join BitCoin Pyramid
  use my referral & I'll refund a % of your first deposit back to your account
  Deposit .5 BTC or more and I'll give back 50% of what I receive

First Deposit of 1 BTC will get 75% of what I get back
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 07:52:18 AM
 #47

Damn, that sucks. Hope you get this issue resolved somehow.

Having read this I am glad I decided not to buy from this guy. I instead ended up searching on ebay and ran across some guy who runs this site: cablesaurus.com

I ordered two dummy cables from him for a reasonable BTC price and I just received them today.

I'm wondering if the admin of that site is on this forum....

snoopytime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 08:04:42 AM
 #48

Just go to radio shack and get the 68 ohm 1/2 watt resistors, a 5-pak is $1.19 USD. It only takes 3 to bend and stick in  . . sooper easy works like a charm! I just did it today! Good luk!

If I make you smile you can hook me up a teeny bit:  13hKeyHMv5YMWxvwj9M1fTntGJiogdhbeo
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 05:16:20 PM
 #49

One interesting thing to note... dummy plugs are usually NOT required if you run a single card system with no monitor attached.
RobertRibbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 05:48:59 PM
 #50

One interesting thing to note... dummy plugs are usually NOT required if you run a single card system with no monitor attached.

I realize that but I'm adding a second card
and we all know what happens in WINBLOWS

With current btc to dollars it really hurts to get screwed so bad for 3 resistors on a $1 plug
didn't mind a little for time & postage but $50 hurts especially not getting anything

Please "Clear your browser cookies" then use http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/3360 to Join BitCoin Pyramid
  use my referral & I'll refund a % of your first deposit back to your account
  Deposit .5 BTC or more and I'll give back 50% of what I receive

First Deposit of 1 BTC will get 75% of what I get back
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:44:46 AM
 #51

One interesting thing to note... dummy plugs are usually NOT required if you run a single card system with no monitor attached.

I realize that but I'm adding a second card
and we all know what happens in WINBLOWS

With current btc to dollars it really hurts to get screwed so bad for 3 resistors on a $1 plug
didn't mind a little for time & postage but $50 hurts especially not getting anything
Either negotiate with the seller or buy them at radioshack.  Problem solved.  No reason to spend $50 on them...
darbsllim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Founder, Filmmaker, Fun Guy


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2011, 04:04:55 AM
 #52

If anyone wants to sell resistors, put up a job on forbitcoin.com!

You can rest easy there as it's an escrow service

Brad Mills
Former miner - Former Bitcoin Business Owner - Victim of the Great Bitcoin Crashes of 2011 and 2012
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!