Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:26:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Has anyone used Magma PCI expansions?  (Read 1993 times)
redicarus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 06:44:26 AM
 #1

http://www.magma.com

I don't know too much about hardware, but these products seem like a quick way to expand the capacity for more GPUs without buying a new rig. Can anyone vouch for the use/reliability of these products?
1480868761
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868761

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868761
Reply with quote  #2

1480868761
Report to moderator
1480868761
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868761

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868761
Reply with quote  #2

1480868761
Report to moderator
1480868761
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868761

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868761
Reply with quote  #2

1480868761
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 07:29:21 AM
 #2

http://www.magma.com

I don't know too much about hardware, but these products seem like a quick way to expand the capacity for more GPUs without buying a new rig. Can anyone vouch for the use/reliability of these products?

considering their products are targeted for servers they most likely will be ok, but price is overkill for sure
redicarus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 07:36:55 AM
 #3

no kidding. I didn't see a price tag on the site when I posted this, but from their retailers, it's obviously not cost-effective. $900~ for the cheapest set, I'd be better off with a new rig.
DareC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 09:18:49 PM
 #4

Does anyone know if something similar but (much) cheaper exists?
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:00:53 PM
 #5

Does anyone know if something similar but (much) cheaper exists?
I feel like I should help here.. I bought a PCI 32 bit to PCIe x16 adapter on ebay for 20$ and 10$ shipping and it arrived today, and it's awesome. I don't need it right now but I'll gladly let you know it works. So ye, mining on old PCI slots :3

However it reduced my hashrate by 2Mhash, not sure if it was because of having to install a new driver or maybe latency..

Old phone camera FTL =(


shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:09:36 PM
 #6

can you ajust your "pci latency timer" in bios???

remember that pci bandwitdh is shared on all slots... if you place anothet it will reduce the bandwidth to half.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:19:05 PM
 #7

can you ajust your "pci latency timer" in bios???

remember that pci bandwitdh is shared on all slots... if you place anothet it will reduce the bandwidth to half.

I think I had such an option on my other mother board, the one that I will use the card for (just tested it on my miner to check for DoA and such)..

As for bandwidth, it's faster then a PCIe x1 but never the less, GPGPU work does not need a lot of bandwidth..
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:27:45 PM
 #8

is not faster than x1...

pci-e x1 1.1 is 250mb/s on each direcction, 500mb effective.

PCI has a total of 133MB/s per bus. the 133mb/s is shared on all pci ports conected to that bus, so if you place another card on another PCI slot, and that slot is connected to the same bus, then is 66mb/s per card.


1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
kr105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2011, 05:51:36 PM
 #9

Does anyone know if something similar but (much) cheaper exists?
I feel like I should help here.. I bought a PCI 32 bit to PCIe x16 adapter on ebay for 20$ and 10$ shipping and it arrived today, and it's awesome. I don't need it right now but I'll gladly let you know it works. So ye, mining on old PCI slots :3

However it reduced my hashrate by 2Mhash, not sure if it was because of having to install a new driver or maybe latency..
Can you please give us a link for that adapter? I can't find one below $80 on eBay Sad
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:04:03 PM
 #10

Does anyone know if something similar but (much) cheaper exists?
I feel like I should help here.. I bought a PCI 32 bit to PCIe x16 adapter on ebay for 20$ and 10$ shipping and it arrived today, and it's awesome. I don't need it right now but I'll gladly let you know it works. So ye, mining on old PCI slots :3

However it reduced my hashrate by 2Mhash, not sure if it was because of having to install a new driver or maybe latency..
Can you please give us a link for that adapter? I can't find one below $80 on eBay Sad
Here's the Ebay one: http://global.ebay.com/PCI-32Bit-To-PCI-Express-16x-Riser-Extender-Card/170628273176/item

Just PM the seller and I'm sure he can fix a few more :3
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:07:08 PM
 #11

What OS did you use? In other words, would this work on linux?
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:07:43 PM
 #12

http://cgi.ebay.com/320693561785

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:11:34 PM
 #13

What OS did you use? In other words, would this work on linux?

I use windows 7 x86 but as a lad asked me in a PM I'll start it in Linux (Ubuntu).
kr105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2011, 06:13:16 PM
 #14

ty guys, this will save me some $$ on a new motherboard  Grin
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:29:16 PM
 #15

Ok booted up in Ubuntu via the liveCD option and everything worked flawlessly out of the box.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!