Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 10:57:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Has anyone used Magma PCI expansions?  (Read 2196 times)
redicarus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 06:44:26 AM
 #1

http://www.magma.com

I don't know too much about hardware, but these products seem like a quick way to expand the capacity for more GPUs without buying a new rig. Can anyone vouch for the use/reliability of these products?
1508799445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508799445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508799445
Reply with quote  #2

1508799445
Report to moderator
1508799445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508799445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508799445
Reply with quote  #2

1508799445
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin-Qt, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508799445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508799445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508799445
Reply with quote  #2

1508799445
Report to moderator
1508799445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508799445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508799445
Reply with quote  #2

1508799445
Report to moderator
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 07:29:21 AM
 #2

http://www.magma.com

I don't know too much about hardware, but these products seem like a quick way to expand the capacity for more GPUs without buying a new rig. Can anyone vouch for the use/reliability of these products?

considering their products are targeted for servers they most likely will be ok, but price is overkill for sure
redicarus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 07:36:55 AM
 #3

no kidding. I didn't see a price tag on the site when I posted this, but from their retailers, it's obviously not cost-effective. $900~ for the cheapest set, I'd be better off with a new rig.
DareC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 09:18:49 PM
 #4

Does anyone know if something similar but (much) cheaper exists?
Convery
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


Watching : Silicon Valley S3 & Game Of Thrones S7


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:00:53 PM
 #5

Does anyone know if something similar but (much) cheaper exists?
I feel like I should help here.. I bought a PCI 32 bit to PCIe x16 adapter on ebay for 20$ and 10$ shipping and it arrived today, and it's awesome. I don't need it right now but I'll gladly let you know it works. So ye, mining on old PCI slots :3

However it reduced my hashrate by 2Mhash, not sure if it was because of having to install a new driver or maybe latency..

Old phone camera FTL =(


shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396



View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:09:36 PM
 #6

can you ajust your "pci latency timer" in bios???

remember that pci bandwitdh is shared on all slots... if you place anothet it will reduce the bandwidth to half.

Hearthy██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
|██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
Convery
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


Watching : Silicon Valley S3 & Game Of Thrones S7


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:19:05 PM
 #7

can you ajust your "pci latency timer" in bios???

remember that pci bandwitdh is shared on all slots... if you place anothet it will reduce the bandwidth to half.

I think I had such an option on my other mother board, the one that I will use the card for (just tested it on my miner to check for DoA and such)..

As for bandwidth, it's faster then a PCIe x1 but never the less, GPGPU work does not need a lot of bandwidth..
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396



View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:27:45 PM
 #8

is not faster than x1...

pci-e x1 1.1 is 250mb/s on each direcction, 500mb effective.

PCI has a total of 133MB/s per bus. the 133mb/s is shared on all pci ports conected to that bus, so if you place another card on another PCI slot, and that slot is connected to the same bus, then is 66mb/s per card.


Hearthy██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
|██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
kr105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:51:36 PM
 #9

Does anyone know if something similar but (much) cheaper exists?
I feel like I should help here.. I bought a PCI 32 bit to PCIe x16 adapter on ebay for 20$ and 10$ shipping and it arrived today, and it's awesome. I don't need it right now but I'll gladly let you know it works. So ye, mining on old PCI slots :3

However it reduced my hashrate by 2Mhash, not sure if it was because of having to install a new driver or maybe latency..
Can you please give us a link for that adapter? I can't find one below $80 on eBay Sad

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
Convery
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


Watching : Silicon Valley S3 & Game Of Thrones S7


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:04:03 PM
 #10

Does anyone know if something similar but (much) cheaper exists?
I feel like I should help here.. I bought a PCI 32 bit to PCIe x16 adapter on ebay for 20$ and 10$ shipping and it arrived today, and it's awesome. I don't need it right now but I'll gladly let you know it works. So ye, mining on old PCI slots :3

However it reduced my hashrate by 2Mhash, not sure if it was because of having to install a new driver or maybe latency..
Can you please give us a link for that adapter? I can't find one below $80 on eBay Sad
Here's the Ebay one: http://global.ebay.com/PCI-32Bit-To-PCI-Express-16x-Riser-Extender-Card/170628273176/item

Just PM the seller and I'm sure he can fix a few more :3
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:07:08 PM
 #11

What OS did you use? In other words, would this work on linux?
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:07:43 PM
 #12

http://cgi.ebay.com/320693561785

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Convery
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


Watching : Silicon Valley S3 & Game Of Thrones S7


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:11:34 PM
 #13

What OS did you use? In other words, would this work on linux?

I use windows 7 x86 but as a lad asked me in a PM I'll start it in Linux (Ubuntu).
kr105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:13:16 PM
 #14

ty guys, this will save me some $$ on a new motherboard  Grin

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
Convery
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


Watching : Silicon Valley S3 & Game Of Thrones S7


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 06:29:16 PM
 #15

Ok booted up in Ubuntu via the liveCD option and everything worked flawlessly out of the box.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!