Bitcoin Forum
June 27, 2017, 05:45:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Random or user-specified ports  (Read 1611 times)
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
August 16, 2010, 10:35:10 AM
 #1

PLEASE implement variable ports instead of using 8332 and 8333!!!
\
I only have one system and cannot afford another, yet I would like to run an instance of the old client with data from old block chain (with generating disabled) to analyze the data in comparison with the data in the new block chain.  This is not possible, however, as I have only one computer, and my attempts to compile from source and modify the ports has failed as I do not know how to do this.  It would be VERY much appreciated if I weren't to have to go through this trouble and could simply specify to the client to use a different port and then I could provide the information to myself and others for analyzation.   But, alas I cannot.  Boooooo!!! =/
Join the Crowdfunding Revolution ►► FundYourselfNow.com ◄◄ Crowdsale with
attractive rewards
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498542336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498542336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498542336
Reply with quote  #2

1498542336
Report to moderator
1498542336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498542336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498542336
Reply with quote  #2

1498542336
Report to moderator
1498542336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498542336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498542336
Reply with quote  #2

1498542336
Report to moderator
Insti
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Firstbits: 1duzy


View Profile
August 16, 2010, 11:13:26 AM
 #2

Isn't the external port just for receiving inbound connections?
You should still be able to use outbound connections.
Or does it complain about not being able to bind to the port when you start?
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
August 16, 2010, 11:33:33 AM
 #3

Unable to bind to port 8333 on this computer.  Bitcoin is probably already running.
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 16, 2010, 07:45:01 PM
 #4

Use Gavin's -port and -rpcport patch.
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=589.0

It works great.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
August 16, 2010, 10:21:12 PM
 #5

Use Gavin's -port and -rpcport patch.
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=589.0

It works great.

I still have difficulties compiling from source.  I look forward to that being intregrated into the binary client soon.  Thanks.
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 17, 2010, 05:54:45 AM
 #6

Use Gavin's -port and -rpcport patch.
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=589.0

It works great.

I still have difficulties compiling from source.  I look forward to that being intregrated into the binary client soon.  Thanks.
What platform are you on? I have builds for Linux on my site (out of date atm, but I can get a new release up soon).

If you're on Windows, then I guess you're out of luck with me.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
August 17, 2010, 10:14:43 PM
 #7

64-bit gentoo linux
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!