Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:03:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can next bitcoin client limit hash/sec?  (Read 1442 times)
Groc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 02:30:14 PM
 #1

With the next version of bitcoin client I would like to limit the hash/sec to a trickle or what ever limit I want.

Please help me gain support for this feature.

Thanks.

Groc

AMHash
ASICMINERROCKMINER ● Buy from: AMHash (20 Th/s min) ● Hashie (20 Gh/s min + 10 Gh/s free) ● Havelock (1 Gh/s min)
Cloud-mining contracts: 0.0012 BTC per Gh ● Maintenance fee: $0.001551 per Gh per day ● Upto 6% Christmas Bonus
1481213016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213016
Reply with quote  #2

1481213016
Report to moderator
1481213016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213016
Reply with quote  #2

1481213016
Report to moderator
1481213016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213016
Reply with quote  #2

1481213016
Report to moderator
Some PGP public keys you should import: theymos, BadBear, Sirius, Stefan, Wladimir, Gavin, Gregory, Jeff, Pieter
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481213016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213016
Reply with quote  #2

1481213016
Report to moderator
1481213016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213016
Reply with quote  #2

1481213016
Report to moderator
1481213016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213016
Reply with quote  #2

1481213016
Report to moderator
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 751


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 02:51:18 PM
 #2

Thats up to the miner, the in-built miner is moving towards miner removal (its already gone in GUI), though I kind of doubt it will be fully removed for a long time (if at all), no one will be adding more features to the miner in the client.

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 751


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 03:41:17 PM
 #3

Quite the opposite, not having a Generate coins option keeps noobs from constantly complaining that they haven't gotten any coins and have been "mining" for a month.  Limiting khash is absolutely possible, but it should be done on the miner side.

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 03:52:03 PM
 #4

I have a pending pull request for m0mchil's miner to do exactly this, it adds a "-s <value>" option to reduce load on GPU/CPU when running the miner while doing other stuff:

https://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/pull/10

It sleeps a fixed amount per frame, so you have to play with the sleep value a bit if you want to approximate a fixed nr of mhash/sec.

The built-in miner will never support this because it is already too slow to be of any use anyway, so it was removed.

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
just_someguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 04:46:28 PM
 #5

Isn't the whole point of bitcoin to get a lot of computers to verify the transactions?

Having your CPU hash with the goal of generating a block doesn't confirm the transactions or help the network confirm them at this point. (Unless you get reaaaalllly lucky.)
Your machine will still do all the hashes necessary to confirm a transaction/block whether or not you have the generate option turned on.
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 04:58:35 PM
 #6

All nodes in the network - even those who are not lookin to generate new blocks - are verifying all transactions and blocks generated by others. This on itself is beneficial for the network (especially if you have a lot of connections).

Generating blocks is only as good as the (average) number of blocks generated. If a node would try one 1 khash per second, it will generate 1/2144027 of a block per year. Sorry, that's pointless.

The current network hashing speed is estimated around 1.8 Thash/s. It requires around 50000 normal desktop systems (4 Mhash/s each) to get a 10% share of this number. The same can be accomplished with 300 high-end graphic cards. Doing it with anything else, is just a waste of electricity.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!