Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:56:40 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Has anyone used the Rosewill RBR1000-m?  (Read 3062 times)
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 05:37:37 AM
 #1

I got one of these used and I can't get stability on even a modest mining rig. Right now I have a rig with a sempron, flash drive, a 5970 and two 5830. I was really hoping to get 5 gpu's stable with this power supply but now I'm beginning to think that may not be possible. Almost every time I plug anything into the same circuit as the power supply the system crashes. It was stable with the 750w rosewill so I know for sure its the power supply. So I guess what I'm asking is anyone using this power supply with good results should I try to get it RMA through rosewill or should i cut my losses and return it to the seller
1480802200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802200
Reply with quote  #2

1480802200
Report to moderator
1480802200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802200
Reply with quote  #2

1480802200
Report to moderator
1480802200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802200
Reply with quote  #2

1480802200
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480802200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802200
Reply with quote  #2

1480802200
Report to moderator
1480802200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802200
Reply with quote  #2

1480802200
Report to moderator
1480802200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802200
Reply with quote  #2

1480802200
Report to moderator
Jack1Rip1BurnIt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Trust me, these default swaps will limit the risks


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 02:56:08 PM
 #2

I believe you may have a dud on your hands. I'm using a brand new one that I picked up a couple of weeks ago on new egg for $106 shipped/ and a free 1 year extended warantee. I'm running two 5850's overclocked to the max I could get them. It's a pretty nice psu for the $, and I plan to add 2 more 5850's to the system within a month. I would see about the rma before you accidently damage any of those precious gpus.

Successful trades with bels, misterbigg, ChrisNelson, shackleford, geniusboy91, and Isokivi.
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 03:29:16 AM
 #3

There's a thread about it on JonnyGuru forums. It's a Sirfa unit.

Seems like it's more like a 900W power supply (as far as mining goes). The ripple numbers are horrid, so probably you're getting an out of spec spike when you plug in other stuff into your circuit.

dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 11:44:45 PM
 #4

This is why people say "Don't cheap out on your psu".
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
May 29, 2012, 07:55:09 PM
 #5


a SeaSonic 750 will probably out hump that ros1000.


The PSU is one of the the MOST important parts of the rigs....

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
ciuciu
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
May 29, 2012, 08:05:54 PM
 #6

I'm using two of them for over a year without any problems.


I got one of these used and I can't get stability on even a modest mining rig. Right now I have a rig with a sempron, flash drive, a 5970 and two 5830. I was really hoping to get 5 gpu's stable with this power supply but now I'm beginning to think that may not be possible. Almost every time I plug anything into the same circuit as the power supply the system crashes. It was stable with the 750w rosewill so I know for sure its the power supply. So I guess what I'm asking is anyone using this power supply with good results should I try to get it RMA through rosewill or should i cut my losses and return it to the seller

superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437


View Profile
May 31, 2012, 08:07:53 PM
 #7

I seemed to find the problem and it wasn't the power supply after all. The only hardware change I had was the power supply so that's what I assumed it was. But actually It seems that voltage drops are causing problems with my switch or router, which is causing kernel panics in bamt. I reset my router and didn't setup static ip. Setup static ip and stable again, strangest thing ever, lol.
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 31, 2012, 08:52:16 PM
 #8

First time I heard router causing kernel panics... I would have thought network card drivers would be robust against this sort of thing.

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 09:55:01 PM
 #9

First time I heard router causing kernel panics... I would have thought network card drivers would be robust against this sort of thing.

We had a printer at work with a faulty NIC that was crashing our router/wifi hotspot. Took us over 2 days of spotty internet to diagnose as a random printer. Unplugged the printer and it's been fine for the past 6 months.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
ARapalo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
May 31, 2012, 11:44:26 PM
 #10

Any type of Rosewill products really turns me off. I've had several before with really bad experiences. Just keep in mind that Rosewill is a generic brand for newegg, so you won't exactly know who the OEM is unless you open up the item.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 01:35:07 AM
 #11

Any type of Rosewill products really turns me off. I've had several before with really bad experiences. Just keep in mind that Rosewill is a generic brand for newegg, so you won't exactly know who the OEM is unless you open up the item.
Yes, some can be bad, but by the same token some can be gems. I usually trust jonnyguru to come up with the truth when it comes to PSUs, and the one good Rosewill is the 1300 watt lighting unit. Still, nothing can beat a seasonic (except rebranded seasoncs lol).

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 02:53:43 AM
 #12

First time I heard router causing kernel panics... I would have thought network card drivers would be robust against this sort of thing.

We had a printer at work with a faulty NIC that was crashing our router/wifi hotspot. Took us over 2 days of spotty internet to diagnose as a random printer. Unplugged the printer and it's been fine for the past 6 months.

Any type of Rosewill products really turns me off. I've had several before with really bad experiences. Just keep in mind that Rosewill is a generic brand for newegg, so you won't exactly know who the OEM is unless you open up the item.

Ya, it was a Rosewill router Tongue

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 02:54:10 AM
 #13

This reminds me.. I have to RMA something.... had one of my silverstone 1200 go pop the other day.  (bought before I found SS).  

details:
miner8 not on.
wont boot
unplug psu, plug
wont boot
15 seconds later ................POP

glad I keep SS around, I had just got that deal from new egg, 4 SS 750's for 115 each.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 02:56:12 AM
 #14

Question: Has anyone actually had a seasonic die? This assumes that you are running them within the rated specs of course, not overdoing it. And if so, how old was it and what kind of load did it have?

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 03:07:40 AM
 #15


the fans on mine are not even turning..  or they just come on for a few seconds once in a while...

they are rated to run 24/7 at 100%. 

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 12:15:42 AM
 #16

my neighbor killed my 450 corsair (seasonic) after 4yrs and 8 months. But he was running 3 5770's a 5570 and burning a dvd on it, lol. they sent me a brand new one in the box with all accesorries
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 12:24:53 AM
 #17

Which one do you guys think is better :

-Corsair AX1200 or

-Seasonic 1250W unit

I like them modular, single rail !
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 12:53:04 AM
 #18

Which one do you guys think is better :

-Corsair AX1200 or

-Seasonic 1250W unit

I like them modular, single rail !

In that case, don't get that Seasonic.  It's actually a multi-rail unit.  (source)

I would look at Kingwin Lazer series (Gold / Platinum), Lepa G series, Rosewill Lightning or Capstone series, Sparkle Gold, or Antec High Current Pro.  While the AX1200 is no slouch, it is starting to show its age and is overpriced compared to the PSUs I recommended
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 01:03:47 AM
 #19

Which one do you guys think is better :

-Corsair AX1200 or

-Seasonic 1250W unit

I like them modular, single rail !

In that case, don't get that Seasonic.  It's actually a multi-rail unit.  (source)

I would look at Kingwin Lazer series (Gold / Platinum), Lepa G series, Rosewill Lightning or Capstone series, Sparkle Gold, or Antec High Current Pro.  While the AX1200 is no slouch, it is starting to show its age and is overpriced compared to the PSUs I recommended

Holy smokes. It does turn out you are RIGHT. I think D&T been spreading the FUD around that it is single rail.

Antec HCP-1200 is not fully modular Sad

So it looks like I won't be selling them PSUs after all !
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 02:35:21 PM
 #20

I cry bull shit..   SS  is a single rail according to these specs:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151109&Tpk=SeaSonic%201250

Code:

Learn more about the SeaSonic USA X-1250
Model

Brand
    SeaSonic

Model
    X-1250

Spec

Type
    ATX12V / EPS12V

Maximum Power
    1250W

Fans
    1

PFC
    Active

Main Connector
    20+4Pin

+12V Rails
    Single



1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!