Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:41:28 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ASUS DCII 6970 Which bios to go lower than 850MHz mem?  (Read 1671 times)
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 03:46:49 PM
 #1

Currently I'm using BIOS version 013.010.000.009.000000 and it allows me to underclock memory only down to 850MHz.

Which version I should try to go lower than that?

I found these:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?page=1&architecture=&manufacturer=&model=HD+6970&interface=&memSize=0

But I wouldn't like to go through every of those to try out.

Thanks in advance,
-fankih-


-fankih-
1481416888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416888
Reply with quote  #2

1481416888
Report to moderator
1481416888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416888
Reply with quote  #2

1481416888
Report to moderator
1481416888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416888
Reply with quote  #2

1481416888
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481416888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416888
Reply with quote  #2

1481416888
Report to moderator
1481416888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416888
Reply with quote  #2

1481416888
Report to moderator
1481416888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416888
Reply with quote  #2

1481416888
Report to moderator
MXRider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 05:22:46 PM
 #2

Have you changed the MSI Afterburner (if you are using that, if not you should) EULA? If not, google msi afterburner eula and make the changes. Also change the unofficialoverclocking mode to 2 instead of 0 or 1.

Lower memory, close afterburner. Open afterburner and you should be able to lower the memory more. If not, before opening it again remove the files from c/program files/msi afterburner/profiles that have VEN text in the beginning.

I hope I made myself clear.
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 05:27:38 PM
 #3

I have tried MSI Afterburner with such .cfg adding:

[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

And it just doesn't go lower than 850MHz

-fankih-

-fankih-
MXRider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 06:11:45 PM
 #4

Try this:
Lower mem to 850Mhz
Close Afterburner
Open it again and you can lower further?
Repeat until you are done

OR

Lower to 850Mhz
Close Afterburner
Delete those profilefiles from C/program files/afterburner/profiles/VENxxxxx.cfg
Open Afterburner. It might say "you have to restart" just hit no.

This works with my 7970s. And also download the latest Afterburner. When installed you have to mos the cfg again wih those eula changes.
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 10:14:55 PM
 #5

For fuck sake!!!

Thanks a lot!

Give me your wallet and I'll give you a small tip for that =)

-fankih-

-fankih-
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:08:56 AM
 #6

Btw have you managed to lower 1.175V too or is it just locked?

-fankih-

-fankih-
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
June 05, 2012, 11:50:27 AM
 #7

I got it running down to 180MHz, but I was afraid to go lower. Should I try to reach 150MHz? It shouldn't cause any harm right?

And any suggestions for setting the voltage? CGminer doesn't allow me to do it and MSI Afterburner's Voltage control is grayed out.

-fankih-

-fankih-
pintycar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 05:43:59 PM
 #8

I got it running down to 180MHz, but I was afraid to go lower. Should I try to reach 150MHz? It shouldn't cause any harm right?

And any suggestions for setting the voltage? CGminer doesn't allow me to do it and MSI Afterburner's Voltage control is grayed out.

-fankih-
It won't do any harm, might just crash the display driver and/or restart the PC but nothing major. If you have already unlock the voltage control in Settings of MSI Afterburner, and it doesn't work, the only option left would be the awful ASUS SmartDoctor. But I don't recommend this. You should be able to manage with AB or even with your miner (CGminer does this).
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2012, 09:19:06 PM
 #9

ASUS makes great cards. Direct CUII rocks but not really for undervolting. Smart Doctor is a nightmare Undecided and my experiences with undervolting were bad.

fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
June 06, 2012, 08:39:17 AM
 #10

ASUS makes great cards. Direct CUII rocks but not really for undervolting. Smart Doctor is a nightmare Undecided and my experiences with undervolting were bad.

What were the results then?

-fankih-

-fankih-
MXRider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
June 06, 2012, 04:41:30 PM
 #11

Undervolting works great with reference cards. It a great way to lower temperatures and power consumption. This is not a reference cards so it might be difficult. Let's see what we can do.

Do not try SmartDoctor. I just can not explain how shitty program that is.

Lowering memory to 150MHz is safe. I always run my cards with memory at 150MHz. Stable for months.

About undervolting. I'm not sure if this works but you can try adding the following text to your hardware profile file
(.\Profiles\ VEN_1002&DEV_6899&SUBSYS_03 481043&REV_00&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0) I'm not 100% sure of that file name but let's hope it's there.

[Settings]
VDDC_uP6208_Detection = 46h

If there is this:

[Settings]
uP6208_Detection = 1

Delete it.

Let me know if it works.


Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2012, 05:30:03 PM
 #12


What were the results then?

-fankih-

BSODs and other unexpected shutdowns.

MXRider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
June 06, 2012, 05:54:30 PM
 #13


What were the results then?

-fankih-

BSODs and other unexpected shutdowns.

Was that with AsusSmartDoctor? If it was, don't worry - it is completely normal Smiley That's why it sucks.

Msi Afterburner is the best over-/underclocking software out there.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2012, 05:59:57 PM
 #14


What were the results then?

-fankih-

BSODs and other unexpected shutdowns.

Was that with AsusSmartDoctor? If it was, don't worry - it is completely normal Smiley That's why it sucks.

Msi Afterburner is the best over-/underclocking software out there.


Yep  Wink

fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
June 09, 2012, 03:43:42 PM
 #15

Undervolting works great with reference cards. It a great way to lower temperatures and power consumption. This is not a reference cards so it might be difficult. Let's see what we can do.

Do not try SmartDoctor. I just can not explain how shitty program that is.

Lowering memory to 150MHz is safe. I always run my cards with memory at 150MHz. Stable for months.

About undervolting. I'm not sure if this works but you can try adding the following text to your hardware profile file
(.\Profiles\ VEN_1002&DEV_6899&SUBSYS_03 481043&REV_00&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0) I'm not 100% sure of that file name but let's hope it's there.

[Settings]
VDDC_uP6208_Detection = 46h

If there is this:

[Settings]
uP6208_Detection = 1

Delete it.

Let me know if it works.




Didn't help Sad

-fankih-

-fankih-
MXRider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 04:02:25 PM
 #16

I found my old Afterburner profile file and this is what is says. With this I could adjust the voltage. If that really doesn't help I'm out of tips.

[Startup]
CoreClk=0
MemClk=0
FanSpeed=0
CoreVoltageBoost=-1

[Settings]
uP6208_Detection = 1
VDDC_uP6208_Detection = 46H
fankih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 03:04:13 PM
 #17

Didn't work :/

I guess I can't get it lower than 1.175V then Sad

-fankih-

-fankih-
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!