Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:37:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobo + ati + nvidia  (Read 906 times)
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 10:34:56 PM
 #1

Hello can i have nvidia and ati , using nvidia for main and the other ati to mining ? thanks
1481438229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438229
Reply with quote  #2

1481438229
Report to moderator
1481438229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438229
Reply with quote  #2

1481438229
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481438229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438229
Reply with quote  #2

1481438229
Report to moderator
1481438229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438229
Reply with quote  #2

1481438229
Report to moderator
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 10:52:58 PM
 #2

Yes. This is the third thread I've seen in the past week Smiley

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 11:09:19 PM
 #3

so sould install ati and nvidia drivers ?
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 11:10:24 PM
 #4

Yup. You install both, no they won't overwrite or break each other.

Busy ATM.
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 11:34:09 PM
 #5

Thanks for quick reply

One more thing , If Add a second Power supply how do i turn in on ?
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 11:43:03 PM
 #6

One more thing , If Add a second Power supply how do i turn in on ?

Wouldn't recommend using a second power supply.

You can use the ole paperclip trick to jumpstart a PSU:

http://aphnetworks.com/lounge/turn_on_psu_without_motherboard_the_paperclip_trick

Busy ATM.
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 11:46:20 PM
 #7

\But if my main power supply dont have the connectors to my two ati cards what to do ? ( only for nvidia )
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 12:20:39 AM
 #8

\But if my main power supply dont have the connectors to my two ati cards what to do ? ( only for nvidia )

Buy a new PSU.

Also, you might want to check your PSU's wattage (max amperage on 12v rail to be more correct) to make sure you aren't going to overload your current PSU.

Busy ATM.
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 01:01:40 AM
 #9

PSU Thermaltake TR2-600nl2nh http://www.btsys.net/infotec/foto.php?codigo=PSTTTR2W0388RU
Video cards : x2 Radeon 7770 xfx http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150599&Tpk=xfx%20r%207770
                   Nvidia 570 GTX http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130593
+i7 2.2
Mobo : http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-132-BL-E758-A1-Motherboard-Tri-Channel-Utility/dp/B001KX8VES

That PSU can handle that 3 cards ?
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 01:11:42 AM
 #10

That PSU can handle that 3 cards ?

Looks like a 600watt, so no you're going to need to upgrade. I'd recommend a 1000-1200w PSU for 3 GPU's, especially if you plan to have other stuff connected (hard drives, dvd drive, fans etc).

Busy ATM.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 02:40:12 AM
 #11

That PSU can handle that 3 cards ?

Looks like a 600watt, so no you're going to need to upgrade. I'd recommend a 1000-1200w PSU for 3 GPU's, especially if you plan to have other stuff connected (hard drives, dvd drive, fans etc).

I use a 750w hale90 for 4 gpus, using only maybe 350w or less (5870, 5830, 5830, 5770). This is going by a kill-a-watt thats measuring a known 650w 5 card rig with high end chipset/cpu and an inefficient 1 card rig, and the 4 card rig in question. draws 1150w total. yes thats 10 gpus with 1150w

andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 07:01:34 AM
 #12

Why isn't recommend a second psu ? it can damage my cards ?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!