Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2018, 09:19:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI-E 8 pin to dual 6 pin?  (Read 11878 times)
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 07:36:51 PM
 #1

If the power rating for a 8 pin power connecter is 150W, and a 6 pin is 75W, shouldn't it be possible to power a dual 6 pin graphics card off of one 8 pin power cable that was split into two 6 pin connectors?

If not, how come?

If so, why can't I find a adapter cable for this?

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
1529529592
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529529592

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529529592
Reply with quote  #2

1529529592
Report to moderator
1529529592
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529529592

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529529592
Reply with quote  #2

1529529592
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529529592
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529529592

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529529592
Reply with quote  #2

1529529592
Report to moderator
1529529592
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529529592

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529529592
Reply with quote  #2

1529529592
Report to moderator
1529529592
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529529592

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529529592
Reply with quote  #2

1529529592
Report to moderator
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 02, 2012, 01:10:36 AM
 #2

If the power rating for a 8 pin power connecter is 150W, and a 6 pin is 75W, shouldn't it be possible to power a dual 6 pin graphics card off of one 8 pin power cable that was split into two 6 pin connectors?

If not, how come?

If so, why can't I find a adapter cable for this?

I had wondered this myself until I found that that the 6-pin is capable of 150W.  The additional 2 are "dummy" pins.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 01:37:49 AM
 #3

You can find an adapter, but the one I ordered from Amazon was 20 gauge crap.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:36:38 AM
 #4

You can find an adapter, but the one I ordered from Amazon was 20 gauge crap.

I haven't been able to find one.  Even if I did, I wouldn't use any 20 gauge crap.  I'm thinking about maybe building my own using 16 gauge wire.

I have been able to find 8-pin Y splitters that look rugged enough.  Then from there go to 6 pin with a 8 to 6 adapter.  However, that would cost about $20 in cables for each 8 pin I wanted to split up, and I have 8 of them.  That's $160 total, not really sure I want to go that route, not only due to price but also because more connections equals more possible points of failure.

I may just go with some 6 pin Y splitters since I'm running a Seasonic PSU, and I know their wiring is up to par.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:38:57 AM
 #5

Dunno how much he would charge, but Cablez might make you some. He specializes in wiring harnesses for FPGAs.


Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 03:48:03 AM
 #6

Dunno how much he would charge, but Cablez might make you some. He specializes in wiring harnesses for FPGAs.



I couldn't justify paying his markup and a shipping charge.  That's the whole reason I convert my own PCI-E extenders to powered, and short the detect pin on them.  $3 in parts and 15 minutes of my time beats paying $20 for one of his cables and then having to short the detect pin myself anyway.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 06:28:59 PM
 #7

I have a bunch of these and they work great. I have no idea where I got them though.  Undecided

TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 02:13:03 PM
 #8

I have a bunch of these and they work great. I have no idea where I got them though.  Undecided



Give them to me now!

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 09:29:45 PM
 #9

I have a bunch of these and they work great. I have no idea where I got them though.  Undecided

Give them to me now!
You mean:
Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 04:50:58 AM
 #10

I found this on ebay, is it what you need?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Convert-8-Pin-PCI-E-to-2-6-Pin-PCI-E-Adapter-cable-3-MADE-IN-USA-/360448626085?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item53ec698da5#ht_2906wt_1180
mundivalur
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0

Icemodz.com


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2014, 04:04:10 PM
 #11

Hi i just got the 8pin pcie input to two 6pin pcie for miners , the cable gets full power from the 8pin psu wires Smiley http://www.icemodz.com/webshop/#!/~/product/category=9873175&id=39683119
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 20, 2014, 06:48:50 PM
 #12

Hi i just got the 8pin pcie input to two 6pin pcie for miners , the cable gets full power from the 8pin psu wires Smiley http://www.icemodz.com/webshop/#!/~/product/category=9873175&id=39683119


I would monitor the cable a little bit on heat.  Depending on power and quality that could melt.   I have seen it done during GPU day's when i used one.  Yes it was included with a low price psu and was cheap.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!