Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:30:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dual PSU, will it work?  (Read 1221 times)
Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
May 16, 2011, 06:41:47 PM
 #1

I'm not much of a hardware guy, so there are quite a few things I don't get about this setup.
I ordered a few new Cards and I think they will put me over the limit of my PSU (Corsair 650W) so I think I'll buy another PSU and attempt a dual PSU setup (shown here http://www.burningissues.net/how_to/power/psu.htm).

So here are my questions:
  • Is there an online shop where I can buy prebuild splitters like that? I remember I once saw one on eBay
  • There were a few people bringing up the problem of a power/ground differential should a card be powered from two PSUs. So am I on the safe side if I use modified PCIe risers with Molex and consistently power each Card from one PSU?
  • Is there anything else to consider?

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
1480883443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883443
Reply with quote  #2

1480883443
Report to moderator
1480883443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883443
Reply with quote  #2

1480883443
Report to moderator
1480883443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883443
Reply with quote  #2

1480883443
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480883443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883443
Reply with quote  #2

1480883443
Report to moderator
1480883443
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883443

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883443
Reply with quote  #2

1480883443
Report to moderator
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702


Your Minion


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 07:12:57 PM
 #2

Same situation here with my Corsair TX650. Its sweeting at 550w at the moment.
The adapter I have is found here http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g2/c413/s1220/list/p1/Cables-PSU_Cables-2024-Pin_Adapters-Page1.html
Not heard of grounding issues, I'll be using the TX650 to power the board +2x5850's +5750 and an oem 300w psu to push a single 5850 until a 1000+ watt psu is ordered.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
keybaud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 07:48:18 PM
 #3

I believe that connecting the green wire on the PSU's motherboard connector to any of the black wires will fool the PSU into thinking that you've turned the motherboard (that isn't there) on. You can then use the PSU to power other devices as normal.
Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
May 16, 2011, 08:40:40 PM
 #4

Same situation here with my Corsair TX650. Its sweeting at 550w at the moment.
The adapter I have is found here http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g2/c413/s1220/list/p1/Cables-PSU_Cables-2024-Pin_Adapters-Page1.html
Not heard of grounding issues, I'll be using the TX650 to power the board +2x5850's +5750 and an oem 300w psu to push a single 5850 until a 1000+ watt psu is ordered.
Thanks for the link, I ordered 3 right away :-)

Still the ground differential bothers me quite a lot. Anyone ever tested this? Or how are 3-4x 5970 Rigs possible?

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
Nicksasa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288



View Profile WWW
May 16, 2011, 08:42:40 PM
 #5

I believe that connecting the green wire on the PSU's motherboard connector to any of the black wires will fool the PSU into thinking that you've turned the motherboard (that isn't there) on. You can then use the PSU to power other devices as normal.
This, I've done it in the past for my folding setup.

djex
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 11:01:48 PM
 #6

Same situation here with my Corsair TX650. Its sweeting at 550w at the moment.
The adapter I have is found here http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g2/c413/s1220/list/p1/Cables-PSU_Cables-2024-Pin_Adapters-Page1.html
Not heard of grounding issues, I'll be using the TX650 to power the board +2x5850's +5750 and an oem 300w psu to push a single 5850 until a 1000+ watt psu is ordered.
Thanks for the link, I ordered 3 right away :-)

Still the ground differential bothers me quite a lot. Anyone ever tested this? Or how are 3-4x 5970 Rigs possible?

I know when modding my xbox 360 to solve for the ground differential all I had to do was connect the outer metal casing of the xbox to my PC's metal case. I'm not sure if this would be the same for 2 PSU's but it might be similar.

Smiley  : 1LbvSEJwtQZKLSQQVYxQJes8YneQk2yhE3
EpicBacon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 11:38:12 PM
 #7

I believe that connecting the green wire on the PSU's motherboard connector to any of the black wires will fool the PSU into thinking that you've turned the motherboard (that isn't there) on. You can then use the PSU to power other devices as normal.

This works. I am doing it right now to power a few of my cards.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!