Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 01:55:38 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Convert TL-WR703N back to standard openwrt?  (Read 3671 times)
dac_2020
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 09, 2014, 11:28:43 PM
 #1

I have a number of units which were used for mining and now I want to convert them back to openwrt.

Units are identical to new, nothing unusual hardware wize.

TP-Link TL-WR703N
hardware version 1.6 (even confirmed on the Ethernet port sticker, 1.6)

However, everything I have tried from making my own build using the latest image builder to try both factory and sysupgrade failed, to using openwrt factory and even using original tp-link software.

Each time, the upgrade bricks the device.

More info in /etc

in a file called avalon_version
20131229
cgminer: 698d677
cgminer-openwrt-packages: aadd747+
luci: 346e3e7+

Wondering if anyone might have some insight.

Thanks.

1539741338
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539741338

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539741338
Reply with quote  #2

1539741338
Report to moderator
1539741338
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539741338

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539741338
Reply with quote  #2

1539741338
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539741338
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539741338

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539741338
Reply with quote  #2

1539741338
Report to moderator
servicelabs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


itkylin.com


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2014, 02:04:50 AM
 #2

(1)Download firmware image:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwO2wkjQpBFER1l1Si1WSDFraFU/view?usp=sharing

(2)System->Backup/Flash Firmware

(3)Flash new firmware image -->Browse->Select image ->Flash image...

(4)Default IP:http://192.168.1.1

Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1011



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 02:24:41 AM
 #3

Are you sure the device is bricked, or can you still communicate via TFTP? If you have the right firmware for the device, I could only guess the issue would be from not waiting long enough for the firmware to flash before hard-booting it (I screw this part up A LOT: I'm impatient). Hard to say without being in front of it, though.
dac_2020
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 05:39:03 AM
 #4

Here is my post on openwrt with LOTS of extra info Smiley

dac_2020
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 02:22:02 PM
 #5

It no longer boots. One LED blink and nothing else. It doesn't look for a dhcp address nor does it set one once it goes into this mode.
I figure at this point, it's bricked. I'm saving all the bricked units and will try to serial recover them in the future.
dac_2020
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 06:45:36 PM
 #6

Does anyone know what the cgminer-openwrt-packages does to the device that it cannot be returned back to a standard factory openwrt build?
dac_2020
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 12:11:12 AM
 #7

How about this... does anyone know the steps needed to convert the device to a u-boot version so that I can then restore a standard openwrt image back on these devices.
dac_2020
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 04:23:13 PM
 #8

Gone
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!