Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 11:14:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Recommended Power Supply for 4 x HD5870's  (Read 1511 times)
KillerGasy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
June 06, 2012, 12:37:18 AM
 #1

Hey, I was wondering what would be the recommended power supply size for 4 x HD5870's!

Thanks in advance Smiley

KillerGasy
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481368466
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368466

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368466
Reply with quote  #2

1481368466
Report to moderator
1481368466
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368466

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368466
Reply with quote  #2

1481368466
Report to moderator
1481368466
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368466

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368466
Reply with quote  #2

1481368466
Report to moderator
Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 06, 2012, 12:43:31 AM
 #2

850-900W quality unit, 1000-1100W if an "OK" unit. Probably would want a single rail unit as you'll need quite a few molex/sata to PCIE power adapters.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
June 06, 2012, 12:49:47 AM
 #3

Hey, I was wondering what would be the recommended power supply size for 4 x HD5870's!

Thanks in advance Smiley

KillerGasy

I use a 750 and a 630 for my 4x5870 rig.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
KillerGasy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
June 06, 2012, 12:56:40 AM
 #4

Oh ok,

Would something like this do?

http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/160788737151?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&cbt=y

I would rather get a single power supply in all honesty, saves me a lot of hassle!

Thanks,

KillerGasy
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
June 06, 2012, 01:05:20 AM
 #5

Oh ok,

Would something like this do?

http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/160788737151?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&cbt=y

I would rather get a single power supply in all honesty, saves me a lot of hassle!

Thanks,

KillerGasy

Look for terms like 80 plus, bronze, silver, gold, and/or platinum rated.

The higher the rating (platinum > gold > silver > bronze), the more efficient power wise it is.  But the more it'll cost you up front.

You'll need a lot of dongles to run 4 cards on one power supply, or have pricey power supply.

Having two power supplies is actually pretty simple.  You short out two pins on the main power connector to turn it "on", and the rest is the same.  It will cost you more in the long run with electricity that way, but if you have cheap or free electricity, it might work better for you.  If your electricity is expensive, you probably want one power supply.

I have a 4x7970 and a 4x5870 setup, each with two power supplies.  Not the most efficient in the world, but this way I have half the 7970s and half the 5870s on one 15A circuit, and the other half on another 15A circuit.  That wouldn't be possible with just two power supplies.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 06, 2012, 01:06:27 AM
 #6

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Silent-Corsair-850W-Silent-Modular-PC-Gaming-Power-Supply-Unit-850-Watt-PSU-/261033944213?_trksid=p3284.m263&_trkparms=algo%3DSIC%26its%3DI%26itu%3DUCI%252BIA%252BUA%252BFICS%252BUFI%26otn%3D21%26pmod%3D160788737151%26ps%3D54

Assuming you aren't going to be OCing your CPU nor loading up on a bunch of hard drives.
fuxianhui888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205



View Profile
June 06, 2012, 07:47:35 AM
 #7

850w is enough,choose any 850w gold
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 03:09:41 AM
 #8

ABS Majesty 1100, single rail, 80+ gold, $160 shipped. Provides room for expansion later on as well.

scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 03:46:27 AM
 #9

ABS Majesty 1100, single rail, 80+ gold, $160 shipped. Provides room for expansion later on as well.

Yeah, about that..

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/01/22/abs_majesty_mj1100m_1100w_power_supply_review/8
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 06:43:15 PM
 #10

ABS Majesty 1100, single rail, 80+ gold, $160 shipped. Provides room for expansion later on as well.

Yeah, about that..

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/01/22/abs_majesty_mj1100m_1100w_power_supply_review/8

I have two rigs that both run 4x5870s (950/170), but with a different PSU (Cougar GX1050). With no voltage adjustments they pull 760 watts on a 120V line. For the OPs rig how would this be an issue? My third rig has one of these ABS units with two 5970s (815/167) and one 5830 (1000/170). I haven't wanted to unplug my monitor, fan, peripherals, and laptop with a dead battery from my 120 kill-a-watt to measure what that specific machine pulls, but there is zero issues with the PSU. I also plan to power 10 BFL singles off of the second ABS 1100 I have sitting here. All of my rigs run from a 240v 20 amp line which in theory should help with with the noise and ripple. I have no physical issues with the PSUs so would you rather take a reviews word for it or someone's actual experience running the unit?

AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 11:03:56 PM
 #11

would you rather take a reviews word for it or someone's actual experience running the unit?

Anecdotes vs Evidence. I know which one I would pick.

Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 11:15:10 PM
 #12

The review was about terrible ripple at 100% load, at your load you would have mediocre in spec ripple. Not likely to kill components outright but it might shave some MTBF hours off.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 09, 2012, 12:00:40 AM
 #13

i was using a corsair HX1000w for my 4 5870 Smiley 

Even overclocked to the max it was powerful enough (pulling around 1100 W out of the wall. Measured with a cheap wall plug thingie)

oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 12:34:21 AM
 #14

Give attention for Lepa G 900W;
http://geizhals.at/eu/616901

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!