Bitcoin Forum
March 30, 2017, 02:39:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Downclocking memory on 6870 - does not follow peak  (Read 1601 times)
Rush
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 17, 2011, 12:04:33 PM
 #1

Code:
bitcoin@linux-xw6u:~> aticonfig --odgc

Default Adapter - AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    990           [b]1050[b]  --\  [i]okay ... the peak is 150 but the memory sets to 1050 anyway - why?[/b]
             Current Peak :    990           [b]150[/b]   --/
  Configurable Peak Range : [400-1100]     [150-1260]
                 GPU load :    99%
Any ideas how to fix the above? Having memory clocks in 500 Mhz range and other values does not help. Memory stays at 150Mhz only if idle.
I was using AMDOverdriveCtrl to set the clocks, but setting them with aticonfig does not help as well.

Please help, the cards are kind of hot. Tongue I was hoping to lower the temperature by lowering memory clock.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490884780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490884780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490884780
Reply with quote  #2

1490884780
Report to moderator
1490884780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490884780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490884780
Reply with quote  #2

1490884780
Report to moderator
1490884780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490884780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490884780
Reply with quote  #2

1490884780
Report to moderator
chaud
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
May 17, 2011, 04:01:40 PM
 #2

Is it an XFX version? I have the same issue.
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
May 17, 2011, 04:05:54 PM
 #3

Try 100 below the core clock.
Rush
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 17, 2011, 10:54:56 PM
 #4

Oh much thanks!! 100 below clock works. Any idea why it works this way? Can it be overcome somehow? The card was manufactured by Gigabyte.
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 01:11:15 AM
 #5

I don't know why it's like that, but I was able to get to 300 using MSI Afterburner on Windows.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 01:20:43 PM
 #6

try 1020 core 344 mem, works great for me! my 2 6870 together give me 625 Mh/s

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!