Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 07:12:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Prisma/Tube Cp2102 MOD Working  (Read 3465 times)
person6278
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 12:34:43 AM
 #1

BIG Thanks to novak@gekkoscience for pointing me in this direction.

I have my old Asic Tube working using a modified CP2102.. Here is what I did to help yall out. I Did this using Odruid U3 from hardkernal lets call it a beefier RPI. I have it running Ubuntu.
First off a special version of cgminer is needed..

sudo apt-get install build-essential autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl3-dev libudev-dev

git clone https://github.com/blockerupter/cgminer.git

./autogen.sh CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" –enable-blockerupter

make

./cgminer --bet-clk 27

You should be up and hashing after this. Of course the usual put in your pool and user info....

I will post pics of my sloppy setup.

This is the USB UART I used http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009T2ZR6W/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
KEDSUM® CP2102 Module STC Download Cable USB 2.0 to TTL 6PIN Serial Converter For STC

http://i.imgur.com/WEyJgrDl.jpg
And
http://i.imgur.com/SeECzfSl.jpg

Look at the hashrate averages.. The instant hashrate jumps around ALOT
http://i.imgur.com/sP9N27al.jpg

And hey if this helps anyone A tip would be awsome  Bitcoin address to send to 16nP1WnxRdvbE64fqzyebx1eZnWdxdiPxp
1511377957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511377957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511377957
Reply with quote  #2

1511377957
Report to moderator
1511377957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511377957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511377957
Reply with quote  #2

1511377957
Report to moderator
1511377957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511377957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511377957
Reply with quote  #2

1511377957
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511377957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511377957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511377957
Reply with quote  #2

1511377957
Report to moderator
novak@gekkoscience
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 12:46:15 AM
 #2

Did you have to add a resistor?  Either way, post some pics of the adapter.

--
novak
person6278
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 01:01:30 AM
 #3

Yes resistor has to be there or its a no go..
And I'm trying to figure out how to post pics now.. LOL
novak@gekkoscience
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 01:07:36 AM
 #4

Yes resistor has to be there or its a no go..
And I'm trying to figure out how to post pics now.. LOL

You have to post links to images with the img tag.  So put them on photobucket or whatever and post links.

--
novak
person6278
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 01:36:35 AM
 #5

This is my current power usage It includes the odriod u3 cooling fans and Asicminer Tube.
http://i.imgur.com/EVRmL70l.jpg

And My Tube looks like this..
http://i.imgur.com/duiC7Wzl.jpg
and
http://i.imgur.com/LspZUkXl.jpg
And these bad boys are how I power it all
http://i.imgur.com/9lj6EjSl.jpg
Mods to make them work. Yes those wires go out to 4 pci express each. So 2 boards per psu.
http://i.imgur.com/aG9GkEAl.jpg
They can be purchased for about $25 US off ebay
Part Number    438202-002
Product Type    Power Supply
Generation    DL580 G5/ BLc3000/ DL785 G5
Wattage    900W-1200W
Input Voltage     120-240 V AC
Hot Pluggable    Yes
Redundant    Yes
Auto Switching     Yes
Cooling    Active Fan
FAN    Internal
Other Part Number    437572-B21/ 438202-001/ 438202-002/ 440785-001/ 441830-001/ 438203-001/ HSTNSDL11
And a good pic of the tag..
http://i.imgur.com/I4w4WFYl.jpg

And these for the PCI Express connectors
6-Pin Power Adapter Cable for PCI-Express - 10 inches
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10245&cs_id=1024503&p_id=2883&seq=1&format=2

You may find cheaper but I thought I found some good deals.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 20, 2014, 02:00:04 AM
 #6

Yes resistor has to be there or its a no go..
And I'm trying to figure out how to post pics now.. LOL

You have to post links to images with the img tag.  So put them on photobucket or whatever and post links.

--
novak

Code:
[img]image's url here[/img]

person6278
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 05:45:26 AM
 #7

Ha found a mistake with my power supplies.. after correcting them
And using 
./cgminer --bet-clk 30
to start cgminer
http://i.imgur.com/bcTlCzrl.jpg

Check your power supply feed Right at the pci express connector at the hashing boards see what voltage you get. Mine were around 11.8* and was having one world of a time getting past 820 Ghs or so.. now 1.* Ths.
I opened my PSUs and adjusted them till I had 12.05 at the connecter UNDER LOAD and now im hashing perfectly at a good over clock.
New power draw running at 300 and getting around 1 Ths
http://i.imgur.com/q7iIDIHl.jpg
And for those wondering this is what the cable ends look like on each PSU
http://i.imgur.com/Y4ZtAfHl.jpg
Remember Set your voltage UNDER LOAD.

I am not responsible for damage done to ANYTHING. Always find out what pot needs to be turned which way it needs to be turned and GO SLOW.
tutorialevideo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1095

BitClouder Host SRL


View Profile WWW
November 20, 2014, 10:46:07 AM
 #8

BIG Thanks to novak@gekkoscience for pointing me in this direction.

I have my old Asic Tube working using a modified CP2102.. Here is what I did to help yall out. I Did this using Odruid U3 from hardkernal lets call it a beefier RPI. I have it running Ubuntu.
First off a special version of cgminer is needed..

sudo apt-get install build-essential autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl3-dev libudev-dev

git clone https://github.com/blockerupter/cgminer.git

./autogen.sh CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" –enable-blockerupter

make

./cgminer --bet-clk 27

You should be up and hashing after this. Of course the usual put in your pool and user info....

I will post pics of my sloppy setup.

This is the USB UART I used http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009T2ZR6W/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
KEDSUM® CP2102 Module STC Download Cable USB 2.0 to TTL 6PIN Serial Converter For STC


And


Look at the hashrate averages.. The instant hashrate jumps around ALOT


And hey if this helps anyone A tip would be awsome  Bitcoin address to send to 16nP1WnxRdvbE64fqzyebx1eZnWdxdiPxp

this works on prisma too?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1319646.0 Bitcoin mining hosting services Solution in Europe as low as 75 $/ KW/Month all fees included Pm if interested.
S.C BitClouder Host S.R.L
person6278
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 01:23:50 PM
 #9

I based this off the fact the maker of Asicminer Tubes/Prisma references the fact that the controller whether it is there premade usb-uart or a be-200 controller will control Tubes/Prismas daisy chained together, and that they can be chained together. If I have made a mistake and my educated assumption is wrong I will be more then happy to delete/modify this thread. Any one that owns a prisma feel free to chime in and let people know 100% one way or the other. I only own a tube I cannot afford a prisma.
person6278
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 01:52:55 PM
 #10

And better pictures of the usb-uart
http://i.imgur.com/qTXWKW2l.jpg
The other end of the resistor is tied into the RXD line
http://i.imgur.com/oEs9SRal.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/9UFjBHwl.jpg
And my sloppy way of connecting the uart to the tube...Yes I know looks bad. Will be picking up the parts I need to make an adapter after work.
http://i.imgur.com/cdJNOiHl.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/9Fge5dJl.jpg
tutorialevideo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1095

BitClouder Host SRL


View Profile WWW
November 20, 2014, 02:17:41 PM
 #11

great! make a video if you can to see al the steps

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1319646.0 Bitcoin mining hosting services Solution in Europe as low as 75 $/ KW/Month all fees included Pm if interested.
S.C BitClouder Host S.R.L
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 03:44:15 PM
 #12

I'm pretty sure novak tested his USB-BE hack on a Prisma as well. Tubes and Prismas are pretty interchangeable as far as controllers go.

Selling seconds 2Pacs for a friend's med bills - PM for details
Currently in development - 20-120GH USB stick; 700GH 75W pod; 4TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
novak@gekkoscience
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 05:49:48 PM
 #13

I'm pretty sure novak tested his USB-BE hack on a Prisma as well. Tubes and Prismas are pretty interchangeable as far as controllers go.

Yep.  Also ManeBjorn tested one on the Rockminer T1, which is for all practical purposes a tube, and it works with that too.

--
novak
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
November 22, 2014, 07:56:48 AM
 #14

Yes it runs on the Rockminer T1 as well.
I am using Crazy Guys RPi Minera image for it and he has a RM cgminer for it as well.
Works great I love the better control with the RPi and pool failover and MultiMiner support with Minera.

I'm pretty sure novak tested his USB-BE hack on a Prisma as well. Tubes and Prismas are pretty interchangeable as far as controllers go.

Yep.  Also ManeBjorn tested one on the Rockminer T1, which is for all practical purposes a tube, and it works with that too.

--
novak

person6278
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 23, 2014, 02:55:27 AM
 #15

I figured I would give an update on the build.....
This shows you what color goes to what wire.. and they are connected strait across on the PCB.
http://i.imgur.com/tpVnh8Jl.jpg
Just a quick side view
http://i.imgur.com/S2XQvCal.jpg
And a decent shot of the usb-uart and which color of wire goes to which spot. DO NOT FORGET  the 1 k ohm resistor from the 3.3v feed to the brown wire AKA RXD
http://i.imgur.com/XoSP0Mgl.jpg
I took my clock back down to --bet-clk 27
Full size link http://i.imgur.com/z570R82.png
http://i.imgur.com/z570R82l.png
And No I am sorry I have ZERO interest in doing a video on how this is made.. Mostly because I do not have another usb-uart to solder together, and I have no need to order another one unless some one wants me to modify one for them I can think of a couple ways to make it look so much prettier. You could clip the leads on the resistor and solder it directly from 3.3v to the RXD spot on the PCB. Use a PCB board that plugs directly into the usb-uart to the Tube/Prisma uart cable.
tutorialevideo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1095

BitClouder Host SRL


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2014, 06:22:11 PM
 #16

great i whill try to make one two!

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1319646.0 Bitcoin mining hosting services Solution in Europe as low as 75 $/ KW/Month all fees included Pm if interested.
S.C BitClouder Host S.R.L
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!