Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 05:59:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ~4 BTC Stuck In Wallet  (Read 1300 times)
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 10:36:05 PM
 #1

So, my client isn't able to get the block chain because of how I set my clock on my computer (I think it's crappy, but I don't care).
Anyways, if someone would volunteer to get the coins out of the wallet.dat and send me at least 3 BTC.
I have a feeling I'll get jacked of all the BTC, but I'm tired of knowing it's there.

Please send me a PM if you'd like to help. I'm looking for members that I think would be trustworthy.

1511330353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330353
Reply with quote  #2

1511330353
Report to moderator
1511330353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330353
Reply with quote  #2

1511330353
Report to moderator
1511330353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330353
Reply with quote  #2

1511330353
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Server-assisted clients like blockchain.info rely on centralized servers to do their network verification for them. Although the server can't steal the client's bitcoins directly, it can easily execute double-spending-style attacks against the client.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511330353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330353
Reply with quote  #2

1511330353
Report to moderator
1511330353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330353
Reply with quote  #2

1511330353
Report to moderator
1511330353
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330353

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330353
Reply with quote  #2

1511330353
Report to moderator
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 10:39:32 PM
 #2

why don't you just get the private keys from the wallet and put it in blockchain.info and then send the bitcoins from there to yourself

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 10:43:31 PM
 #3

why don't you just get the private keys from the wallet and put it in blockchain.info and then send the bitcoins from there to yourself
I can't get python to work right on this computer.

NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 10:59:19 PM
 #4

Okay, I've sent the wallet to an undisclosed user and hope to hear back soon.

Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 11:46:33 PM
 #5

why don't you just get the private keys from the wallet and put it in blockchain.info and then send the bitcoins from there to yourself
I can't get python to work right on this computer.

You don't need python or pywallet for it.
You just need to use bitcoind and the new dumpprivkey command Wink
I don't think you need a full blockchain for it. Ofcourse I can be mistaken.

FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 11:54:58 PM
 #6

Okay, I've sent the wallet to an undisclosed user and hope to hear back soon.

You could have had that user publicly accept responsibility.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 11:59:45 PM
 #7

Okay, I've sent the wallet to an undisclosed user and hope to hear back soon.

You could have had that user publicly accept responsibility.
I would if it was more than 10 BTC.
But, it's all good and the Bitcoins got transferred without any problems.
That user may post a reply and I will give them credit for helping.

FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 12:06:17 AM
 #8

Okay, I've sent the wallet to an undisclosed user and hope to hear back soon.

You could have had that user publicly accept responsibility.
I would if it was more than 10 BTC.
But, it's all good and the Bitcoins got transferred without any problems.
That user may post a reply and I will give them credit for helping.

Ah, that's nice.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
drrussellshane
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 01:12:18 AM
 #9

Glad I could help!

Buy a TREZOR! Premier BTC hardware wallet. If you're reading this, you should probably buy one if you don't already have one. You'll thank me later.
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 04:21:19 AM
 #10

So, my client isn't able to get the block chain because of how I set my clock on my computer (I think it's crappy, but I don't care).

I hadn't known about this.  So would it retrieve blocks but then get to a certain block and stop?

How were you able to troubleshoot / determine this was the cause?

Would downloading a completed blockchain from the nightly "skip" past checking and have let you continue on your merry way (until the next problem block?)

NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 04:49:10 AM
 #11

So, my client isn't able to get the block chain because of how I set my clock on my computer (I think it's crappy, but I don't care).

I hadn't known about this.  So would it retrieve blocks but then get to a certain block and stop?

How were you able to troubleshoot / determine this was the cause?

Would downloading a completed blockchain from the nightly "skip" past checking and have let you continue on your merry way (until the next problem block?)
It would let me download the whole blockchain up until what my clock use to be set to which is 6 hours time difference, but wouldn't remove the error message saying "blah blah, wont work unless your computers clock is fixed." I didn't want to setup a bitcoin client on another computer, which resulted in my asking for help here.

unclemantis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


(:firstbits => "1mantis")


View Profile
July 09, 2012, 12:52:19 AM
 #12

why don't you just get the private keys from the wallet and put it in blockchain.info and then send the bitcoins from there to yourself
I can't get python to work right on this computer.

You don't need python or pywallet for it.
You just need to use bitcoind and the new dumpprivkey command Wink
I don't think you need a full blockchain for it. Ofcourse I can be mistaken.

Stalking you! :-D

PHP, Ruby, Rails, ASP, JavaScript, SQL
20+ years experience w/ Internet Technologies
Bitcoin OTC | GPG Public Key                                                                               thoughts?
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
July 09, 2012, 02:18:53 AM
 #13

So, my client isn't able to get the block chain because of how I set my clock on my computer (I think it's crappy, but I don't care).

Just set your dang clock correctly. Get the time you want to display by picking the appropriate timezone.  So long as the time+timezone results in the correct time bitcoin will work fine. You can also set it back when you're done if you really insist on having a clock set >2 hours in the past.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
July 09, 2012, 02:21:04 AM
 #14

So, my client isn't able to get the block chain because of how I set my clock on my computer (I think it's crappy, but I don't care).

Just set your dang clock correctly. Get the time you want to display by picking the appropriate timezone.  So long as the time+timezone results in the correct time bitcoin will work fine. You can also set it back when you're done if you really insist on having a clock set >2 hours in the past.
This has long since been resolved by re-configuring my firewall's OpenNTP server.

It was a spur of the moment thing that I couldn't figure out. Anyways, I did attempt to temporarily set my clock to the correct time but half way through the update on the blocks it error'ed and gave the same error as before.
Again, this has been fixed on my end and is now working correctly.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!