Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:10:33 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Special 7950 boards unlocked to 7970 rating  (Read 2932 times)
jjames888
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2012, 08:02:40 AM
 #1

I found this. I don't know how true it is. Just thought I would post it.

http://videocardz.com/32782/amd-radeon-hd-7950-modified-to-7970
http://vga.it168.com/a2012/0507/1345/000001345261.shtml

The card is chinese.
Quote
"A rough translation suggest that this model is named A795 Fire Hurricane, but this card is not the same as reference card sold worldwide, it has better components and is also equipped with 6+8pin power connectors (just like 7970). According to the source, this card is also featuring 5+1 phase PWM."



It would be cool if one of us in china, as I know there are, could get one of these and try it out?
It would also be cool if one of us could aquire the bios for this card and try it out on our cards.
1481235033
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235033

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235033
Reply with quote  #2

1481235033
Report to moderator
1481235033
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235033

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235033
Reply with quote  #2

1481235033
Report to moderator
1481235033
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235033

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235033
Reply with quote  #2

1481235033
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 05:52:25 PM
 #2

Quote
this card is not the same as reference card sold worldwide, it has better components and is also equipped with 6+8pin power connectors (just like 7970).

It looks to be a special board. Thus normal 7950s are not unlockable and this isn't all that interesting and the title a bit misleading.

aqrulesms
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265


Cryptocurrency trading and mining


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 06:31:52 PM
 #3

Why would they want to sell a supposed 7950 with the same hardware of 7970? That's quite a waste economically if I understand it right.
aqrulesms
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265


Cryptocurrency trading and mining


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 07:40:03 PM
 #4

Quote
this card is not the same as reference card sold worldwide, it has better components and is also equipped with 6+8pin power connectors (just like 7970).

It looks to be a special board. Thus normal 7950s are not unlockable and this isn't all that interesting and the title a bit misleading.

What should I change the title too

"Special 7950 boards unlocked to 7970 rating"
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 07:55:01 PM
 #5

probably more likely that some idiot/kid/assembler used a tray of 7970 cores on 7950 boards
aqrulesms
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265


Cryptocurrency trading and mining


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 08:01:59 PM
 #6

probably more likely that some idiot/kid/assembler used a tray of 7970 cores on 7950 boards

Yeah that's what I thought.  Why would there be extra processing power just locked away for no reason except to make it cheaper? (thereby reducing overall profit margins)
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 12, 2012, 08:13:53 PM
 #7

Same reason why AMD Phenom II X4 s were sold as X3. Maybe the die tested good before assembly, but some shaders failed QA testing after assembly?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
MrCruncher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 09:06:04 PM
 #8

This isn't all that uncommon. Only recently (5years or so) have firmware/program options have
given us the ability to try to unlock the card further. It's all about binning. Some pieces of silicon
are better than others which is why you have different tiers of performance.

In the 1980's you could open up certain computers and literally flip a toggle switch to double the
RAM size (256k to 512k). However, the stores sold the ones with 512k RAM for a premium even
though they were identical.
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 09:10:07 PM
 #9

In the 1980's you could open up certain computers and literally flip a toggle switch to double the
RAM size (256k to 512k). However, the stores sold the ones with 512k RAM for a premium even
though they were identical.

Aren't there certain Core i3 processors you can buy an "upgrade code" for?

MrCruncher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 09:15:15 PM
 #10

In the 1980's you could open up certain computers and literally flip a toggle switch to double the
RAM size (256k to 512k). However, the stores sold the ones with 512k RAM for a premium even
though they were identical.

Aren't there certain Core i3 processors you can buy an "upgrade code" for?

Yep, looks like they did.

http://www.geek.com/articles/chips/intel-introduces-software-upgrade-for-some-core-i3-pentium-chips-20110815/
Tannke
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 11:36:34 PM
 #11

I already posted about this on May, no more news in EU or US since then.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!