Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:44:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about a power supply  (Read 576 times)
deanorn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
June 15, 2012, 12:07:51 AM
 #1

I'm currently using the Antect TPQ-1200w http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371032 for one of my mining rigs.  I was wondering what people thought would be a good amount a cards for it without over doing it?  Currently I have 2 5970's on it.  I have a few other cards I could add.  I have 1 6990, 2, 7970's and a few 5870's.

Bought from:
gmannn, mrb, Globes (Scammer)
1480884248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884248
Reply with quote  #2

1480884248
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480884248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884248
Reply with quote  #2

1480884248
Report to moderator
1480884248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884248
Reply with quote  #2

1480884248
Report to moderator
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 12:37:41 AM
 #2

The power supply can deliver 100A total (1200w), and also states that 100A can be all +12v power (max 38A per "rail").

A 5870 has a thermal design power (TDP) of 188W, which can be reached when overclocking, overvolting. Allow 200W per card for overclock headroom.

200w x 5 cards = 1000W, and 200W to run the rest of the system.

sublimeagave
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6



View Profile
June 15, 2012, 01:49:25 PM
 #3

Undervolt to increase your energy efficiency and you could whack on another 4 cards if you have the slots for them

My 5870's use about 100w each at 0.95v

we asked for freedom you gave us coins
Hexadecibel
Human Intranet Liason
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 536


I still <3 u Satoshi


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 03:14:34 PM
 #4

make sure you get a high quality power cleaner/UPS.

many cheap power strips are only good for 1 surge. Even mid range power strips lose effectiveness after a year or so depending on how clean your power is.
Even if you don't see the lights flicker, there are tons of small surges throughout the day that will eventually wear down the fuses in your strip.

battery backup etc is the best investment you can make for your expensive mining rig.
deanorn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30



View Profile
June 15, 2012, 04:25:38 PM
 #5

Thanks for the tips all.

Bought from:
gmannn, mrb, Globes (Scammer)
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 04:38:43 PM
 #6

battery backup etc is the best investment you can make for your expensive mining rig.
worst investment. no data will be lost if the power goes out.

tevirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15



View Profile
June 16, 2012, 08:07:04 AM
 #7

Well, the backup is not required, but good surge protection might save you losing a lot of hardware.  As someone pointed out above, cheap "surge protection" strips are not to be relied on (though are better than nothing).

On the other hand, if your grid power is generally reliable, it may not be a big deal.

The blog "Dan's Data" has a lot of good information on power supplies / surge protection etc.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!