Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 07:00:42 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to mine in the background with just one graphics card out of 2?  (Read 1180 times)
Viro
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 12:50:21 PM
 #1

Going away for 11 months, thinking of leaving my PC (with an ATI 5850 in it) to my sister. I'm trying to figure out how to keep mining while I'm gone.

Basically, my sister just wants to play the sims 3 and watch youtube videos. I'm thinking, I'll put another card in my PC (I have a gtx 460 lying around) for gaming.
I want the pc to use the gtx 460 for everything that isn't mining, but every time the PC boots, I want it to automatically and invisibly start mining with the 5850.
Is this doable? Would it cause any problems for my sister?
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481353242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481353242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481353242
Reply with quote  #2

1481353242
Report to moderator
1481353242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481353242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481353242
Reply with quote  #2

1481353242
Report to moderator
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 12:53:40 PM
 #2

I think GUIminer has an option to run on startup. You just need to figure out what --device and --platform options you need for poclbm.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 12:55:58 PM
 #3

It shouldn't, im using poclbm and have it setup so each time my computers starts it calls mine.bat, which in turn calls poclbm.exe with all the args (--device etc.) that it needs. You can do that by going into "Task Scheduler" Smiley

SW-
1HfM5sjHcTToTQce7p1JH4zrAz7f5d6sjw
Viro
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 01:09:23 PM
 #4

That looks like it's exactly what I'll need, but will it run invisibly if I do that?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 01:13:15 PM
 #5

It should as im pretty sure theres an option in the Scheduler to hide it.

If i've helped you you could donate to 1HfM5sjHcTToTQce7p1JH4zrAz7f5d6sjw please Smiley

SW-
dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 01:14:15 PM
 #6

And what about temps?
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 01:15:34 PM
 #7

Use guiminer, test stable settings (recommended: 2 instances on 1 GPU in 2 different pools)
Once everything works out, on the "Summary" tab select "Autostart" (meaning it will start mining when the program is launched - NOT when Windows is booted!)

Then start guiminer.exe automatically minimized (Task planner or whatever) - one way to do this: Create a link to guiminer.exe, move it into the "Start Menu - Autostart" folder, right click to edit settings and select "Minimized" from the dropdown selector.



No donation address, as this is basic knowledge and giving help is something that you shouldn't be paid or beg for!

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 01:22:18 PM
 #8

you'll need a dummy plug for that 5850

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!