Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2016, 07:10:19 AM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: disconnections  (Read 1607 times)
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
August 20, 2010, 07:58:50 AM
 #1

I have a question.
often my network breaks for short time and i see that the number of blocks for a long time remains unchanged. But as soon as I restart the program the number of blocks increases immediately.
Although the calculation of the blocks did not stop and i have "8 connections" all the way. So the question is - whether the blocks are generated during frequent disconnections? is the programm reconnecting automatically? or it's not necessary to download all blocks immediately as they created?
...hope you'll understand what i mean Smiley

used to be a miner
1474787419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474787419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474787419
Reply with quote  #2

1474787419
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1474787419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474787419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474787419
Reply with quote  #2

1474787419
Report to moderator
1474787419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474787419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474787419
Reply with quote  #2

1474787419
Report to moderator
Insti
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Firstbits: 1duzy


View Profile
August 20, 2010, 09:14:20 AM
 #2

I have a question.
often my network breaks for short time and i see that the number of blocks for a long time remains unchanged. But as soon as I restart the program the number of blocks increases immediately.
Although the calculation of the blocks did not stop and i have "8 connections" all the way.
So the question is - whether the blocks are generated during frequent disconnections? is the programm reconnecting automatically? or blocks should not be downloaded by everyone immediately as they created?
...hope you'll understand what i mean Smiley

Is your computers clock accurate?
What does the debug.log file say when it happens?

Generating blocks without being connected to the network is a waste of time because they will be never accepted by the network, they'll be too far behind when you reconnect.

There are lots of places you can check the current block number, but I like this one: ttp://nullvoid.org/bitcoin/statistix.php because it also has some nice graphs.
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
August 20, 2010, 09:35:33 AM
 #3

time is right +-2sec... or how accurate it should be?
there are many records in debug.log so i actually don't know what exactly matters
may be this...
Code:
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (599 bytes)
trying connection  lastseen=-0,9hrs lasttry=-356193,4hrs
IRC got join
IRC got join
trying connection  lastseen=-0,9hrs lasttry=-356193,4hrs
trying connection  lastseen=-0,9hrs lasttry=-356193,4hrs
trying connection  lastseen=-0,9hrs lasttry=-356193,4hrs
connected
sending: version (87 bytes)
sending: addr (27 bytes)
sending: getaddr (0 bytes)
MainFrameRepaint
received: version (87 bytes)
Added time data, samples 6, offset +0 (+0 minutes)
sending: verack (0 bytes)
version message: version 310, blocks=75261
trying connection  lastseen=-0,9hrs lasttry=-356193,4hrs
connected
sending: version (87 bytes)
sending: addr (27 bytes)
sending: getaddr (0 bytes)
MainFrameRepaint
received: version (87 bytes)
Added time data, samples 7, offset +6 (+0 minutes)
-5  -3  -2  +0  +0  +3  +6  |  nTimeOffset = +0  (+0 minutes)
sending: verack (0 bytes)
version message: version 310, blocks=75261
received: verack (0 bytes)
trying connection  lastseen=-0,9hrs lasttry=-356193,4hrs
received: verack (0 bytes)
connected
sending: version (87 bytes)
sending: addr (27 bytes)
sending: getaddr (0 bytes)
MainFrameRepaint
received: version (87 bytes)
Added time data, samples 8, offset -5 (+0 minutes)
sending: verack (0 bytes)
version message: version 310, blocks=75261
trying connection  lastseen=-0,9hrs lasttry=-356193,4hrs
received: verack (0 bytes)
connected
sending: version (87 bytes)
sending: addr (27 bytes)
sending: getaddr (0 bytes)
MainFrameRepaint
received: version (87 bytes)
Added time data, samples 9, offset +0 (+0 minutes)
-5  -5  -3  -2  +0  +0  +0  +3  +6  |  nTimeOffset = +0  (+0 minutes)
sending: verack (0 bytes)
version message: version 310, blocks=75261
received: verack (0 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)

or...

Code:
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
trying connection  lastseen=-0,9hrs lasttry=-356193,4hrs
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
connected
sending: version (87 bytes)
sending: addr (27 bytes)
sending: getaddr (0 bytes)
IRC got who
MainFrameRepaint
IRC got who

or this)

Code:
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
received: addr (26003 bytes)
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
received: addr (26003 bytes)
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
received: addr (26003 bytes)
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
sending: inv (253 bytes)
IRC got who
IRC got who
received: version (85 bytes)
Added time data, samples 5, offset -63 (-1 minutes)
-63  -7  -5  +0  +4  |  nTimeOffset = -5  (+0 minutes)
sending: verack (0 bytes)
version message: version 303, blocks=75248
IRC got who
received: verack (0 bytes)
received: addr (26003 bytes)
IRC got who
IRC got who
received: addr (26003 bytes)
IRC got who
IRC got who
IRC got who
received: addr (26003 bytes)
IRC got who
And maybe program should stop calculating blocks when it losts connection to the network? Otherwise what that calculation for? Why it's possible to calculate whitout connection?
awesome image Smiley

rrrrrr! the problem is - i'm not recieving new blocks as soon as they created. why this stupid thing happens?

used to be a miner
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422


View Profile
August 20, 2010, 11:53:12 AM
 #4

Do you get a new IP address after your Internet connection fails? That would cause your TCP connections to silently die. If that's the case, you might try enabling TCP keepalive in your operating system and setting a low keepalive time: maybe 10 minutes.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
August 20, 2010, 11:57:50 AM
 #5

IP is always the same. There is a network with about 25 comps and with 1 static IP

used to be a miner
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
August 23, 2010, 06:19:08 AM
 #6

looks like nobody knows how to help me Smiley
now i think it's not the disconnections causes problem... right now network is working quite well, but programm still don't want to download latest blocks... it waits for about 20-30 minutes and only then number of blocks increases immediately at 5 - 8 items... however, the generation does not stop for a second and i have 6- 8 connections all the time as i sad earlier. No errors in debug.log. Time was synchronized few days ago.

used to be a miner
Insti
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Firstbits: 1duzy


View Profile
August 23, 2010, 06:50:01 AM
 #7

Are you running Microsoft Security Essentials? This sometimes blocks Bitcoin traffic.
Any other antivirus programs that may be filtering your traffic?
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
August 23, 2010, 07:31:05 AM
 #8

i have only Symantec Endpoint Protection and standart Windows XP SP3 firewall. After restarting bitcoin i'm getting all blocks... nothing blocks it... but few minutes later recieving stops.
why the program does not compare the total number of blocks created in the network and on each computer connected to this network?

used to be a miner
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
August 23, 2010, 11:04:12 AM
 #9

well... i decided to reinstall bitcoin and found another problem)) When i started to download all the chain ones more it stops sometimes at 47501 or 52001 or 57501 or something like that and waits for... yeap... for restarting bitcoin... and then everything is ok for another 5-10 minutes... what the hell is wrong with my PC or with what??

used to be a miner
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422


View Profile
August 24, 2010, 05:22:10 AM
 #10

Quote
well... i decided to reinstall bitcoin and found another problem)) When i started to download all the chain ones more it stops sometimes at 47501 or 52001 or 57501 or something like that and waits for... yeap... for restarting bitcoin... and then everything is ok for another 5-10 minutes... what the hell is wrong with my PC or with what??

It does some processing at that point that sometimes takes a while. You shouldn't restart it.

Try disabling your antivirus.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
August 24, 2010, 05:29:27 AM
 #11

i have been waiting for a while, but... it does not help
i already tried to disable antivirus and firewall - same problem!
Only restart helps.  Sad
socket recv error 10054 - was found in debug.log... what is it? Can this error cause my problem?

used to be a miner
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!