Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:44:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: I will donate to you, for your help.  (Read 2269 times)
tachi641
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 04:30:27 PM
 #1

Hi Folks,

I am new to bitcoin. I will donate either BTC or USD to you, for your help. I just need help with some very basic setup to begin with. Later on, I will need help with starting up a mining pool for others to join in. If you are savvy with all this, feel free to contact me. I would like to work with someone who can allocate some time in explaining to me over skype or chat.

Thanks, and I look forward to working with you soon.

1AdjFyXRfmZJ6cWiyYKtzbHaH6b8gWrHro
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480758254
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758254

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758254
Reply with quote  #2

1480758254
Report to moderator
Gladiator
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 04:40:35 PM
 #2

Better ask your questions here. It will be good to have noob-thread here.

1KHbs7SAfGrVnjAwabbaFtTDvrTZZMCeRK
tachi641
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 04:56:41 PM
 #3

I am running Windows 7.

I am planning to run 10 Machines each with 2 x 6990 cards in them. So that's a total of 13ghash/s. I want to know how to set everything up to mine to 1 single wallet. I read another thread that if I don't set it up that way they will be mining and competing against each other. Any help is appreciated. Thanks guys. Again, I will donate to you for your help.

1AdjFyXRfmZJ6cWiyYKtzbHaH6b8gWrHro
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 05:12:46 PM
 #4

I am running Windows 7.

I am planning to run 10 Machines each with 2 x 6990 cards in them. So that's a total of 13ghash/s. I want to know how to set everything up to mine to 1 single wallet. I read another thread that if I don't set it up that way they will be mining and competing against each other. Any help is appreciated. Thanks guys. Again, I will donate to you for your help.

You could install the bitcoin software on your Windows box and configure it to talk to the Bitcoin network be a server for all the other boxes. Then for every 6990 you have to run 2 clients and you set then up to talk to the bitcoin server on the Windows machine.

The cards don't compete with each other. They each get their own work to work on to try to solve a hash that generates a block of coins.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Nythain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 05:22:09 PM
 #5

To be more specific on this topic than i've seen so far. Basically you...

1. set up your bictoin client on a machine on the network.
2. configure an rpc user name and password in the bitcoin.conf (location varies by operating system). this username and password can be anything you want.
3. set a connect ip for the bitcoin client/daemon to listen on. by default it only listens on local host, i've heard you can add/change connect=* in the bitcoin.conf to have it listen on all available ip's/network interfaces. not sure if you can set a specific ip/interface to bind to without listening on all or only localhost though.
4. run bitcoin as a server/daemon. bitcoind is the application name
5. set the miners on each machine up like you would for a pool, except point them to the network ip of the machine running the bitcoin daemon, using the user name and passwords defined in the bitcoin.conf

that should be about it. anyone else feel free to correct me on my inaccuracies, throw in any missed steps, or offer any alternatives. this information was all gathered with a little forum reading and google fu as i only have one machine to mine with, and it pool mines.

Gladiator
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 05:38:32 PM
 #6

Edit your bitcoin.conf
Edit these lines
Code:
server=1
rpcport=8332
rpcuser={username here. Any username}
rpcpassword={password here}
rpcallowip= ip of the mining rig. Add this line for every minig rig in your net.
And then connect every mining client to the server with the same username and password. Just tried this on my machine with CPU and GPU miner and it worked.
so basically if your bitcoin client is on machine with ip-adress 172.1.2.0 and your mining machines have IPs 172.1.2.1 - 172.1.2.10 your bitcoin.conf should look something like this
Code:
server=1
rpcport=8332
rpcuser=slave
rpcpassword=ibowtomymaster
rpcallowip=172.1.2.1
rpcallowip=172.1.2.2
rpcallowip=172.1.2.3
rpcallowip=172.1.2.4
rpcallowip=172.1.2.5
rpcallowip=172.1.2.6
rpcallowip=172.1.2.7
rpcallowip=172.1.2.8
rpcallowip=172.1.2.9
rpcallowip=172.1.2.10

1KHbs7SAfGrVnjAwabbaFtTDvrTZZMCeRK
tachi641
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 06:21:30 PM
 #7

You guys are so AMAZING, and FAST with the help. I will try this asap. Please PM me your emails, I'll get something together to donate to you asap. Thanks, I'm sure I'll need more help soon. I am planning to set up a public mining pool

1AdjFyXRfmZJ6cWiyYKtzbHaH6b8gWrHro
Gladiator
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 06:31:49 PM
 #8

People here add their bitcoin wallet addresses for this reason.
Feel free if you want to. This board was set up to help and share knowledge.

1KHbs7SAfGrVnjAwabbaFtTDvrTZZMCeRK
dayfall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 06:46:21 PM
 #9

In case IP addresses change, I use
Code:
rpcallowip=192.168.10.*
Dayofswords
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 06:47:26 PM
 #10

Are you sure you want to invest $14000?

142u3uafy7bvxJXArDF9mo9e6LEFSef5Hr
tachi641
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 06:56:52 PM
 #11

Are you sure you want to invest $14000?

Yes I'm pretty certain, If not more.

1AdjFyXRfmZJ6cWiyYKtzbHaH6b8gWrHro
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:05:30 PM
 #12

What if it goes bust, not that I hope it will etc. ?
tachi641
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:12:35 PM
 #13

Why would it go bust? It's doing so well, and only growing.

1AdjFyXRfmZJ6cWiyYKtzbHaH6b8gWrHro
Nythain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:27:15 PM
 #14

impossible to predict, but it very well could... could be tomorrow could be 2 years from now... could never

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:28:47 PM
 #15

Well I am just trying to help you mate.

Anything is possible. Do not forget that etc.

The point I was trying to make was : "do you have a disaster plan or similar etc. to avoid losing your 14 000 etc. ?"

Just trying to be helpful etc.

I suggest taking it relatively easy and not going and splashing all your cash for ati cards etc.
gigitrix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Bitcoins finest!!!


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:31:26 PM
 #16

At least with mining you can't lose your entire investment: can always hawk the hardware on ebay, right?
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:35:34 PM
 #17

Well it depends because there will be loads of used 5850s on eBay after all the miners have quit in a hypothetical scenario and the market would be saturated ( where as now these cards are rarities ) and you could end up with nobody wanting to buy your cards or if at all, for a very small sum etc.

Of course the rest of the components are quite mainstream so i guess you could sell those but the min you take them out of the box the price depreciates etc.
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
May 18, 2011, 07:38:52 PM
 #18

After you finish your setup, I would recommend to switch the bitcoind into testnet. Then, you will very soon mine your first *FAKE* 50 BTC just to verify that everything works fine. Do not forget to switch back to real chain!

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
Nythain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:47:52 PM
 #19

Well it depends because there will be loads of used 5850s on eBay after all the miners have quit in a hypothetical scenario and the market would be saturated ( where as now these cards are rarities ) and you could end up with nobody wanting to buy your cards or if at all, for a very small sum etc.

Of course the rest of the components are quite mainstream so i guess you could sell those but the min you take them out of the box the price depreciates etc.

In fact, most investors bought up 5xxx series cards, which really excel at mining but aren't really top end gaming cards. So now you have a market flooded with mid ranged gaming cards that most gamers probably already have or have better than, reducing value even more.

Dayofswords
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:49:13 PM
 #20

Why would it go bust? It's doing so well, and only growing.

It's more volatile than Neo-nazis at a bat mitzvah.

142u3uafy7bvxJXArDF9mo9e6LEFSef5Hr
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!