Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:36:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help building CGminer  (Read 2487 times)
dgray9000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 16, 2012, 11:41:28 PM
 #1

I need some help building and running CGminer on windows 7.  I've followed the windows build instructions and gotten to the point that I need to run the "CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure" command after that I make and then it's done.  But I get an error message when I run that command in mingw.  It is as follows:

$ CFLAGS="-02 -msse2" ./configure
checking build system type... i686-pc-mingw32
checking host system type... i686-pc-mingw32
checking target system type... i686-pc-mingw32
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... no
configure: error: in `/home/XXXXX/cgminer-2.4.2-win32':
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details

when I open config.log it shows this:

$ config.log
./config.log: line 1: This: command not found
./config.log: line 2: running: command not found
./config.log: line 4: It: command not found
./config.log: line 5: generated: command not found
./config.log: line 7: $: command not found
hostname: extra operand `XXXXX-PC'
Try `hostname --help' for more information.
uname: extra operand `='
Try `uname --help' for more information.
./config.log: line 15: syntax error near unexpected token `('
./config.log: line 15: `uname -r = 1.0.17(0.48/3/2)'

If anyone can help me it would be very much appreciated and rewarded with a bitcoin or 3.  I know this belongs in the another thread for CGminer but I'm brand new and thus restricted from posting in it.
1481304972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304972
Reply with quote  #2

1481304972
Report to moderator
1481304972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304972
Reply with quote  #2

1481304972
Report to moderator
1481304972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304972
Reply with quote  #2

1481304972
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481304972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304972
Reply with quote  #2

1481304972
Report to moderator
1481304972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304972
Reply with quote  #2

1481304972
Report to moderator
1481304972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304972
Reply with quote  #2

1481304972
Report to moderator
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
June 17, 2012, 01:10:04 AM
 #2

you are doing it the hard way
I wrote a guide to cgminer in win7
https://ozcoin.net/content/win7-cgminer-setup-guide
have a look, by changing the login details it will work with any pool Smiley

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 02:51:35 AM
 #3

I need some help building and running CGminer on windows 7.  I've followed the windows build instructions and gotten to the point that I need to run the "CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure" command after that I make and then it's done.  But I get an error message when I run that command in mingw.  It is as follows:

$ CFLAGS="-02 -msse2" ./configure
checking build system type... i686-pc-mingw32
checking host system type... i686-pc-mingw32
checking target system type... i686-pc-mingw32
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... no
configure: error: in `/home/XXXXX/cgminer-2.4.2-win32':
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details

when I open config.log it shows this:

$ config.log
./config.log: line 1: This: command not found
./config.log: line 2: running: command not found
./config.log: line 4: It: command not found
./config.log: line 5: generated: command not found
./config.log: line 7: $: command not found
hostname: extra operand `XXXXX-PC'
Try `hostname --help' for more information.
uname: extra operand `='
Try `uname --help' for more information.
./config.log: line 15: syntax error near unexpected token `('
./config.log: line 15: `uname -r = 1.0.17(0.48/3/2)'

If anyone can help me it would be very much appreciated and rewarded with a bitcoin or 3.  I know this belongs in the another thread for CGminer but I'm brand new and thus restricted from posting in it.
Whitelisted ya, go ask at the correct thread for more exposure. Wink

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

dgray9000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 09:51:06 AM
 #4

Thank you very much John. 

And thank you Graet, I'm not that much into the coding stuff yet but I'm working on it.  I will be taking a look at what you linked.
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
June 17, 2012, 03:54:52 PM
 #5

Thank you very much John. 

And thank you Graet, I'm not that much into the coding stuff yet but I'm working on it.  I will be taking a look at what you linked.
welcome, hope it works out for you Smiley

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
dgray9000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 11:08:11 AM
 #6

I tried doing what you wrote but it didn't work in that the window opened but immediately closed, I wasn't able to even read what was wrong with.  After much opening and immediate closing I was able to make out that it basically couldn't recognize what cgminer was (when opening from the .bat file) and when I opened cgminer from the .exe it didn't register any of my devices.  Someone in the official cgminer thread suggested I visit stackoverflow.com for more super noob help but if you think of anything please let me know.  
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 11:12:46 AM
 #7

I tried doing what you wrote but it didn't work in that the window opened but immediately closed, I wasn't able to even read what was wrong with.  After much opening and immediate closing I was able to make out that it basically couldn't recognize what cgminer was (when opening from the .bat file) and when I opened cgminer from the .exe it didn't register any of my devices.  Someone in the official cgminer thread suggested i visit overstack.com for more super noob help but if you think of anything please let me know. 
If you only want to run CGMiner, not to build it from scratch, just download the binary at http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.4.3-win32.zip

 Just continue with Graet's guide next, and make sure the .bat file is at the same dir with the cgminer binaries.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2012, 11:27:35 AM
 #8

Also try without any extra flags
cgminer.exe -o http://pool:port -u username.workername -p password
sometimes incorrect flags (or out of range flags) will cause the inmstant close thing

I just realised I omitted .exe from the guide, that might cause an issue
* Graet goes and fixes guide

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
dgray9000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 01:16:16 PM
 #9

I have but no matter how I start it it just immediately shuts down.
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 02:18:31 PM
 #10

I have but no matter how I start it it just immediately shuts down.
Try just running cgminer, without the .bat files and so. Just run cgminer.exe. I run CGMiner without a batch file or anything as it loads the settings using the configuration file.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

dgray9000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 04:48:38 PM
 #11

I got it working in Ubuntu, so I'll just use that since i don't use the computer that's the head of the mining for anything else. 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!