Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:30:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HELP ME- minin rig hardware  (Read 959 times)
avialias
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 05:37:21 PM
 #1

Hi...

Please help me choose hardware for multi GPU  mining rig.
Rig will be used only for mining, not for other stuff. I have another PC for that.

So, I got 4 HD5870s, but I need other hardware , MBOs , CPUs , DDRs, POWER Supply

What do you recomend???

For
CPUs : AMD athlon II x2 250      yes, no
MBOs: need something with 2 x PCIe x16   yes,no
Do,the MBO, have to have onboard GPU, or not??? Where do you connect monitor if you dont have on board GPU?
POWER: how big do I have to have? more than 800W or more than 1000W

What do you use?
DO I have to worry about current that goes through a MBO to 2x GPUs?


What mining software to use on multi GPU rig?
Is it better to be in mining pool or to mine by me self...Huh

PLEASE HELP fast...

I saw https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig, but I cant buy that stuff at my country...
1481333450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333450
Reply with quote  #2

1481333450
Report to moderator
1481333450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333450
Reply with quote  #2

1481333450
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481333450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481333450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481333450
Reply with quote  #2

1481333450
Report to moderator
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2011, 05:48:37 PM
 #2

For
CPUs : AMD athlon II x2 250      yes, no
MBOs: need something with 2 x PCIe x16   yes,no
Do,the MBO, have to have onboard GPU, or not??? Where do you connect monitor if you dont have on board GPU?
POWER: how big do I have to have? more than 800W or more than 1000W
CPUs: AMD Sempron 140 (probably the cheapest available CPU) will do fine
MBO: no PCIe x16 needed for mining, x8 works too. OnBoard GPU is useless, connect monitor to one of your 5870s
PSU: for dual-5870 650W will be more than enough, 12V-rail has to handle enough load though (calculate ~200W per GPU and you're good).

avialias
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 06:09:19 PM
 #3

12V-rail has to handle enough load though (calculate ~200W per GPU and you're good).

What about that 12V rails???

are rail on power supply or on MBOs?  sorry i dont understand..please explain...
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2011, 06:32:08 PM
 #4

12V-rail has to handle enough load though (calculate ~200W per GPU and you're good).

What about that 12V rails???

are rail on power supply or on MBOs?  sorry i dont understand..please explain...

PSU of course, check its specs to see how much power can be drawn on its 12V rail(s).

as mentioned, for a 2x5870 (<400W) rig a 650W PSU should do fine,
i'm running 1x5850 (~150W) + 1x5970 (~300W) on 650W 24/7 for a few months now without any problems.

avialias
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 06:50:43 PM
 #5

How much Mh/s do you get???

And how to setup minier and which miner software to use???

Are you mining in pool or alone???
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2011, 07:01:20 PM
 #6

How much Mh/s do you get???
some (that 5850+5970 setup just one of my rigs, i got a few more),
you can expect 350++Mhash/s on each of your 5870s, so it's 1.4++Ghash/s on 4 of them

Quote
And how to setup minier and which miner software to use???
depends on OS, driver/SDK version, and not at least you preferences

Quote
Are you mining in pool or alone???
both  Cheesy
actually on my own pool, but i'm the only one using it so far.

fasti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 09:26:01 PM
 #7

12V rail at 20A = max 240W
V*A=W


1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!