Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:33:02 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Please test: Bitcoin v0.3.22 release candidate  (Read 14928 times)
shackra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


1 Pedro 3:15-16 (DHH)


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2011, 01:46:32 AM
 #21

great, finally in spanish!
thanks, I going to compile it and test.

Bitcoin-OTC | GPG: 43C5AF3C1C559BA2
1481311982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311982
Reply with quote  #2

1481311982
Report to moderator
1481311982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311982
Reply with quote  #2

1481311982
Report to moderator
1481311982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311982
Reply with quote  #2

1481311982
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481311982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311982
Reply with quote  #2

1481311982
Report to moderator
1481311982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311982
Reply with quote  #2

1481311982
Report to moderator
1481311982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311982
Reply with quote  #2

1481311982
Report to moderator
luv2drnkbr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771



View Profile
May 21, 2011, 03:27:06 AM
 #22

Noooooo!  Please leave "Generate Coins" in!  I know it's effectively useless, but I'm not a miner, and I like to "generate" with my CPU from the main client just for kicks knowing there's a very (very very) small chance I'll get lucky!  I know it's silly, but I like it!  Pretty please leave it in!!!

xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 04:00:06 AM
 #23

Noooooo!  Please leave "Generate Coins" in!  I know it's effectively useless, but I'm not a miner, and I like to "generate" with my CPU from the main client just for kicks knowing there's a very (very very) small chance I'll get lucky!  I know it's silly, but I like it!  Pretty please leave it in!!!

You can still run -gen at the command line.  But the built-in CPU miner was always slower than ufasoft or my cpu miner.

FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2011, 04:13:26 AM
 #24

Noooooo!  Please leave "Generate Coins" in!  I know it's effectively useless, but I'm not a miner, and I like to "generate" with my CPU from the main client just for kicks knowing there's a very (very very) small chance I'll get lucky!  I know it's silly, but I like it!  Pretty please leave it in!!!

I never generate, but I say leave it in a while longer. Maybe include a message saying that it is very unlikely to produce anything using a CPU.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
luv2drnkbr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771



View Profile
May 21, 2011, 09:33:46 AM
 #25

God forbid I wait a day to see if this is stable enough to use... I'm only getting like 1 connection maybe on my 0.3.21 client right now!

rb2k
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 05:04:34 PM
 #26

If anybody has a link to an OSX build... I looked at compiling it myself, but wxwidgets is just a annoyingly huge
Scarecrow
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35



View Profile
May 21, 2011, 07:45:16 PM
 #27

I have only just started using this RC but so far it appears to run fine including the GUI, in my bog standard Unity desktop on Ubuntu Natty 11.04 64bit version.

I'm happy.  Grin

Faith is believing what you know isn’t true. For example, Global Warming.
BitcoinsWallet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 07:47:58 PM
 #28

I vote for leave "Generate Coins" too.

.22 working fine.
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 08:59:28 PM
 #29

I'm just curious: Are people here only checking if the new version works or also what it does?

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 751


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 01:33:07 AM
 #30

I'm just curious: Are people here only checking if the new version works or also what it does?
Frankly, there were no huge changes in this release.  The only checks that really need to happen are just does it work for you in everyday usage?  This way we can make sure nothing broke as a side effect by accident.

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 05:25:11 PM
 #31

Builds for 0.3.22-rc3 have been uploaded to https://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.3.22/test/

Please test the win32 installer (-win32-setup.exe), as that was not present in the -rc2 build.

Dezeer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 06:33:15 PM
 #32

For some reason when trying to Solo-mine Guiminer gives an RPC error, on .21 it's fine. Also sometimes bitcoin starts to create lots of empty connections when viewed on process explorer(might be PE bug) and starts to use full CPU core. A note: for the debug log wouldn't it be good to add some kind of time stamp?
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 751


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 07:08:57 PM
 #33

Also sometimes bitcoin starts to create lots of empty connections when viewed on process explorer(might be PE bug) and starts to use full CPU core. A note: for the debug log wouldn't it be good to add some kind of time stamp?
I can't reproduce, maybe you just opened your firewall to allow incoming connections and are getting a ton of those?

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
sjcire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 10:59:25 PM
 #34

Seems to open properly on natty.  Thanks!  I should note that it appear that I cannot make any connections. The -testnet options does make connections however.  I dont know if this is normal or not.
matsh
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:10:30 AM
 #35

I also vote for keeping the "Generate Bitcoin" checkbox, for security reasons. What if there's a massive fork attack on our current machinery? If so, we could broadcast to everyone to check that box and help defending the network. Without that checkbox, it is more complicated and perhaps beyond the skill level of a lot of users.
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 07:58:23 AM
 #36

If there is a "huge fork attack" it would have to be done with a lot more than 50% of the network's power, just to be sure it doesn't suddenly spike.
Also such an attack would just last an hour or so at max. so ppl would REALLY need to react fast.
Additionally the CPU miner in bitcoind is far slower than specialized CPU miner...

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 10:45:46 AM
 #37

Code:
$ ./bitcoin
./bitcoin: symbol lookup error: ./bitcoin: undefined symbol: gtk_widget_get_realized

Fedora 12

xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:01:55 PM
 #38

Code:
$ ./bitcoin
./bitcoin: symbol lookup error: ./bitcoin: undefined symbol: gtk_widget_get_realized

Fedora 12

You'll have to build your own Fedora binaries.  bitcoin is built on a recent Ubuntu.

(this is one reason why I'm pushing to remove Linux binaries from our distribution entirely, leaving it up to packagers for each OS)
M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 04:34:11 PM
 #39

- RPC: listtransactions supports range queries

Thank you, thank you, thank you! That was my biggest feature request for the RPC. And now it's in!

When do you plan to put the stable version live?
xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:47:12 PM
 #40

- RPC: listtransactions supports range queries

Thank you, thank you, thank you! That was my biggest feature request for the RPC. And now it's in!

When do you plan to put the stable version live?

When it's stable Wink  Help test, and make it happen sooner rather than later!

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!