Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2017, 09:05:13 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Please test: Bitcoin v0.3.22 release candidate  (Read 15382 times)
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 05:11:19 PM
 #81

I've been testing the -port option, and it doesn't seem to work.  I set a different port, yet bitcoind seems to still be establishing connections on 8333 (as shown by netstat).  I tried setting the port through both the command line option and in the bitcoin.conf file.  Has anyone else tested this?
Bitcoin still has to make a ton of outgoing connections to ...:8333 because that is where remote nodes are listening and thus connections must be made to that port, but, as always, it will connect from ...:[random high-number port].  According to my system, it is listening properly on *:[port i set]

Well, maybe I misunderstood the purpose of the -port option.  I'd like bitcoind not to use 8333 for anything.  I don't want any traffic on the network to/from port 8333.  I have my own peers spelled out in the bitcoin.conf file (connect=x.x.x.x), so I don't need to discover nodes.  Is there a way to establish an outgoing connection on an alternate port?

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495703113
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495703113

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495703113
Reply with quote  #2

1495703113
Report to moderator
1495703113
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495703113

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495703113
Reply with quote  #2

1495703113
Report to moderator
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 754


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 05:45:28 PM
 #82

Well, maybe I misunderstood the purpose of the -port option.  I'd like bitcoind not to use 8333 for anything.  I don't want any traffic on the network to/from port 8333.  I have my own peers spelled out in the bitcoin.conf file (connect=x.x.x.x), so I don't need to discover nodes.  Is there a way to establish an outgoing connection on an alternate port?
If you connect=x.x.x.x it connects to that node on port 8333, which is the default port.  You would have to patch the client to connect= on a different port, and those nodes would have to change their listen ports.

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 09:03:49 PM
 #83

 You would have to patch the client to connect= on a different port, and those nodes would have to change their listen ports.

OK, thanks.  I did this and it seems to work fine.  The only change needed was GetDefaultPort() in net.h.  I do believe this is something that should be configurable from the command line.  Various entities could start watching/blocking port 8333 in an attempt to shut Bitcoin down.

One other question...how do I generate 64-bit binaries?  Compile from a 64-bit machine?  I don't see any switches in the makefile.

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
technowizard12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 11:15:26 PM
 #84

Thanks for fixing the transaction fee thing. I had something annoying happen to me today.

I tried to send .10 BTC to another computer of mine, and it asked for a .02 transaction fee. I set the fee at .02 and try and send .08 BTC, and it tells me that I need a fee of at least .04 to send it.

Argh! It's moments like that which made Mac OS 9 apologize profusely and disown all responsibility before giving an error report.

--Edit--

Nope. Still happens. I don't want to have to spend half of my transaction on fees!

BitBrochure: Get the project out in meatspace! http://goo.gl/pkZFP (http://goo.gl/pkZFP)

Society Press: Buttons and Zines! http://www.societypress.org/ (http://www.societypress.org/)

฿technowizard12 (http://myb.tc/technowizard12)
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 11:27:52 PM
 #85

 You would have to patch the client to connect= on a different port, and those nodes would have to change their listen ports.

OK, thanks.  I did this and it seems to work fine.  The only change needed was GetDefaultPort() in net.h.  I do believe this is something that should be configurable from the command line.  Various entities could start watching/blocking port 8333 in an attempt to shut Bitcoin down.

One other question...how do I generate 64-bit binaries?  Compile from a 64-bit machine?  I don't see any switches in the makefile.

Why do you want 64 bit binaries?

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
June 03, 2011, 02:38:08 AM
 #86

Why do you want 64 bit binaries?

Because they might use the processor somewhat more efficiently I suppose.  Why does the Linux Bitcoin distribution come with 64-bit binaries?

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 754


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 11:02:36 AM
 #87

Because they might use the processor somewhat more efficiently I suppose.
No, just...no.
Why does the Linux Bitcoin distribution come with 64-bit binaries?
Because there are occasionally some lib errors running the 32-bit ones on a 64-bit machine.

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
dust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 01:29:44 AM
 #88

The text in the options still says a fee of .01 is recommended.  Is this intentional?

Cryptocoin Mining Info | OTC | PGP | Twitter | freenode: dust-otc | BTC: 1F6fV4U2xnpAuKtmQD6BWpK3EuRosKzF8U
xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 02:52:58 AM
 #89

The text in the options still says a fee of .01 is recommended.  Is this intentional?

Yes.  Scroll up and read the -rc5 release notes, and see this post.

Ramokk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 11:24:50 PM
 #90

Is anyone else having trouble solo mining with RC6?

I keep getting this:
Code:
bitcoin-miner 0.10  Copyright (c) 2011 Ufasoft  http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin
Mining for http://localhost:8332
1 threads       Using SSE2
0 MHash/s     Error 80072EE2:  The operation timed out

Once I try to start a miner, the bitcoin.exe (or bitcoind.exe if I run that) process pegs the CPU until I end-task it.  (Exiting makes the GUI go away, but the process keeps running with the CPU pegged.)

It used to work, and I have the proper username and password in my bitcoin.conf.
gentakin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 07:24:38 PM
 #91

I'm not sure which exact release candidate of 0.3.22 I am using, it says it's 0.3.22-beta. It's still using .0005 BTC fees, so it's probably not RC5.

I wanted to send a 1.0 BTC transaction, my balance was 1.0085BTC. Of course, the window came up asking me to add a 0.0005 fee, which I accepted. Suprisingly, I now have only 0.0 BTC left in my account.
The reason is simple, my transaction would have contained an output of 0.0085BTC (the "change"), so the fee was raised. I'd have expected the prompt to ask me if I'm okay with a 0.0085 fee instead of 0.0005.

As soon as my transaction is included in a block, I'll post a blockexplorer link.

Update - Here it is: http://blockexplorer.com/tx/e90356e7b71ba6c440ceeb5e1ea789f4b6dc14c62c0e5f8f00ebd1d5bb7ef8c2

1HNjbHnpu7S3UUNMF6J9yWTD597LgtUCxb
LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


P2P Cryptocurrency


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 10:22:33 AM
 #92

Where is Gavin's announcement? I can not find it. Undecided

My OpenPGP fingerprint: 5099EB8C0F2E68C63B4ECBB9A9D0993E04143362
xf2_org
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:06:48 PM
 #93

Where is Gavin's announcement? I can not find it. Undecided

Gavin did not make the announce: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12269.0

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!