Bitcoin Forum
February 21, 2019, 01:05:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about P2Pool Version  (Read 878 times)
VaultMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 11, 2014, 04:21:00 PM
 #1

I've been searching for this answer and haven't been able to find one.  I also posted this question in the Pool thread, but nobody has responded with an answer.

When looking at someone's p2pool node.  Some of them say Version: 13.4-57-gdfad3cd.  And others will say something like: Version: 13.4-57-gdfad3cd-dirty.  What does the
-dirty represent?  Has code been changed that needs to be verified?

I just want to make sure that if i'm going to mine in a new node that there isn't any funny business.  All I can seem to narrow it down to is certain nodes have custom front ends and those all say dirty. 

Any response would be appreciated.

Thank you
1550711132
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550711132

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550711132
Reply with quote  #2

1550711132
Report to moderator
1550711132
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550711132

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550711132
Reply with quote  #2

1550711132
Report to moderator
1550711132
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550711132

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550711132
Reply with quote  #2

1550711132
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550711132
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550711132

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550711132
Reply with quote  #2

1550711132
Report to moderator
1550711132
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550711132

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550711132
Reply with quote  #2

1550711132
Report to moderator
1550711132
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550711132

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550711132
Reply with quote  #2

1550711132
Report to moderator
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
December 11, 2014, 05:41:08 PM
 #2

I must have missed your question in the p2pool thread.  It has to do with a git command.  The version info is pulled from you local git repo of p2pool.  Basically, in __init__.py, it makes a call like this:
Code:
git describe --always --dirty
As you rightfully suspect, if you've added files to your local repository (for example, a custom front end), then git will return back that your repository is "dirty".

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
VaultMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 11, 2014, 09:14:02 PM
 #3

Thanks for the response. If I wanted to design my own front end. Is there a way to make changes and not have a dirty version?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!