Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:15:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to force 5870's to operate at 100% activity?  (Read 1143 times)
ensign_lee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 01:04:13 PM
 #1

So I set up two 5870's (not crossfired - one powers each monitor) yesterday. Everything was hunky dory yesterday, both of them at 100% activity and at around 75 celcius.

Today, I wake up and they've both lowered themselves to about 80-85% activity according to the catalyst control center and are at around 68 to 70 celcius. Whaaaaat?

How do I fix this? My 5870's are both delivering about 250 Mhash/s instead of the 300+ that I was expecting. I want that extra 100 Mhash/s!

Any ideas?
1481361327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361327
Reply with quote  #2

1481361327
Report to moderator
1481361327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361327
Reply with quote  #2

1481361327
Report to moderator
1481361327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361327
Reply with quote  #2

1481361327
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: mining our own business since 2009" -- Pieter Wuille
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481361327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361327
Reply with quote  #2

1481361327
Report to moderator
1481361327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361327
Reply with quote  #2

1481361327
Report to moderator
1481361327
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361327

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361327
Reply with quote  #2

1481361327
Report to moderator
ensign_lee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 01:10:33 PM
 #2

Update: A restart seems to have done the trick???

What could have caused this in the first place? Ideas?  Huh
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 01:14:05 PM
 #3

Update: A restart seems to have done the trick???

What could have caused this in the first place? Ideas?  Huh

Windows 7 Aero interface? General Windows slowness? Crappy ATI drivers?

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Tukotih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 02:20:15 PM
 #4

Update: A restart seems to have done the trick???

What could have caused this in the first place? Ideas?  Huh

Windows 7 Aero interface? General Windows slowness? Crappy ATI drivers?
^ What he said. Except Aero.

Donations always appreciated: 1GkRu9rZxk5iMRzsrcZxZ3BUHV1SWNZ9RB
IMPORTANT! Switch from deepbit: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8653.0
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 19, 2011, 03:28:24 PM
 #5

Update: A restart seems to have done the trick???

What could have caused this in the first place? Ideas?  Huh

Sounds like they are overheating.  What is the temps of the cards?

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 04:56:18 PM
 #6

Sounds like they are overheating.  What is the temps of the cards?

...

both of them at 100% activity and at around 75 celcius.

Today, I wake up and are at around 68 to 70 celcius.
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 05:21:07 PM
 #7

Dummy plugged?
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 19, 2011, 10:57:04 PM
 #8

Sounds like they are overheating.  What is the temps of the cards?

...

both of them at 100% activity and at around 75 celcius.

Today, I wake up and are at around 68 to 70 celcius.

I'm not sure what you're trying to say.  My original statement still stands.  It sounds exactly like the card is throttling from overheating.  Though I do admit that if the temp is actually 70C and not closer to 90C, it's a bit less likely.  However, if the card is throttling (and perhaps not coming back from a throttle, though I've never heard of that), that would account for it.  

Get a program that records the history of the temp, like MSI Afterburner or, if you're using Linux, just write a quick script to to aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all every 30 seconds or so and append it to a file and see if your temps rise too much at one point.

But seriously, what you describe is exactly what I see on my bank of 5870's if they are overheating, except they come back from throttle, but I am using a custom BIOS on all of them, so I don't know what your BIOS is telling the card to do.

It could be that your BIOS is set to throttle at a much lower temperature than other BIOS.  Mine throttles the card at 90C.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
ensign_lee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 11:15:33 PM
 #9

Update:

I think I figured it out!

What I didn't realize after installing my two 5870s is that they would each also take up a core on my CPU when run not crossfired.

I'm also running SETI@home on my CPU at 100%, giving it all 4 cores on my i5-2500k.

So SETI and poclbm were fighting for the same resources on 2 of my cores, thus resulting in lower activity on the poclbm.



P.S. To answer previous questions, one monitor plugged into each video card. And I don't think cards overheat at 75 celcius. I thought they start overheating at 90-100
Muhahahahaz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 11:49:42 PM
 #10

Windows

This is most likely your problem... Roll Eyes

Seriously... in Windows, my hash rate varies wildly, but Linux is rock-solid. Cheesy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!